Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three is a charm

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Sheva is located within walking distance from the Fort and the churches as long as you can do a couple miles and handle the heat and humidity. A taxi isn't too costly. What I like best is Sheva is near but not on the main road so it's peaceful. During this quiet time however, their bar and restaurant are not open so you must travel for meals. Arriving into the airport early, I couldn't get into my room. However they allowed me to leave baggage so I could get to the churches before they closed for the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston FL

New Nice, clean and safe.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
This is a nice small hotel. Great and courtious staff. Rooms are spacious and nice. Only drawback was was intermittent quiality of the internet. But that is a common issue all over paramaribo.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Radium Hot Springs, Canada

Hidden gem in Paramaribo

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay! Impressive marble entrance, marble floors and a big room. A four course-included breakfast-served to you in the restaurant. Hot meat/salad plate(chicken or fish), fruit plate, pancakes/syrup, hard boiled egg and bread with juice and coffee. Located just off the main road, may be missed by most travellers. However, nice and quiet/safe neighbourhood. Central location in main hotel area, walking distance to old town/fort/presidential palace. Paramaribo zoo was a $3.00 US taxi ride away. Service was excellent, all of our requests were happily served. Super friendly staff. Price was competitive with larger hotels. Only 22 rooms so staff was able to serve us well! We have walked into many a posh hotels that charge double/triple the price of this hotel. Need I say more?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Very surprised!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The indoor pool and the executive and elegant modern decoration.
Cons: Breakfast! they don't have a buffe, instead they fill your the table with many dishes and don't even ask you what would you like, if you are vegetaria
Location: The location is near the center and you have access to all
The hotel in general is very nice! my only complain is that the street were it's located is solitary, though it's close to a main street, however as a woman I didn't feel confortable walking around on my own, so I always asked the front desk to get me a taxi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good for quick business trip

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
not many choices in SR, good enough for quick trips business
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham England

Paramaribo, Hotel Sheva

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Convenient location for Old Paramaribo, comfortable, clean.
Cons: Fix the Lift (Elevator) properly. Repair the missing tiles in the swimming pool Repair all of the faulty equipment in the Gym Accept Credit Cards
Location: Located 5 minutes walk from old Paramaribo, restaurants and casinos. Be warned, they do not like £ sterling at all, take Euros or Dollars
No way their claimed 5 stars, maybe just scrape 3 (maybe) Young in experienced staff try their very hardest to carry out unusual management requirements. For example, A large CASH deposit in Euros or US $ required, we only has £ Stirling. No credit cards. NEVER been asked for cash deposit anywhere in the world before!. They take you through a full inventory of the fridge in the room item by item then require a signature. The equipment in the gymnasium is either broken or has parts missing. The wall sockets are out of order so it is not possible to plug in the exercise bikes etc. Lift (elevator) a bit dodgy, must press the right button at the right time or it jams. Room is basic but comfortable. Very limited channels on TV. Breakfast excellent, very attentive staff eager to please. After 7:00 pm prostitutes gather on the street corner 50m away, quite intimidating if you are walking back from a restaurant. Don't believe the picture on their brochure, its heavily doctored, the old building to the right has been removed by photoshop. This gives a very false impression of the front of the hotel. Some areas beginning to get a bit tired now. A good spot of maintenance should bring it back up to standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Martin from Bogota, Colombia

great hotel staff and hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: the staff
Cons: Nothing that comes to mind
Location: Near restaurants, working distance from the river (waterside)
Nothing but positive comments about the hotel. I was delayed going out of Suriname (don't fly Suriname airlines) delayed coming in and out... going out by 12 hours, making me miss a connection and so ended up 24 hours delayed getting home. These things happen, but when I took the flight 12 hours late is was still registered as being on time.... as they never update the status, so you never know the truth about their statistics. They put me in a dirty hotel in Curacao and paid no compensation. Back the hotel, they were brilliant, allowed a late checkout as they had space. The reception staff worked tirelessly to find out about my flight and the new arrangements. Juan Carlos from Pasto, Colombia,, certainly knows how to look after client and manage his staff. Frankly a great few days, I Suriname and the hotel. I even had the pool to myself one day. It's walking distance from great restaurants and the waterside, offering a nice walk along the river. Even though the delay was miserable, the Surinamese were gracious, polite and an interesting multicultural people to talk to, making my stay very enjoyable. The Sheva hotel had a lot to do with this. One morning I had to leave the hotel before breakfast and the receptionist cooked my breakfast!
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Albert from Cayenne

Bien

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Le wifi est à revoir
1 out of 5
by stephy from Guyane

repos impossible, dû au hall piscine trop bruyant

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
hotel Magnifique, personnel sympa, petit dej top mais le seul probleme et qui pour moi etait le plus important car je voulais me reposer, c est qu il y a la piscine couverte , certe très pratique en cas de pluie mais du coup comme elle se trouve dans le hall au milieu des chambres c 'est tres tres bruyant quand les gens se baignent ou sont a coté de la piscine du coup impossible de faire une grasse matinee!!! très dommage car en dehors de ca hotel tres calme !!! quand personne au bord de la piscine donc plutôt rare. Il faudrait également une piscine exterieur et un petit jardinet pour faire bronzette et surtout pouvoir s'évader de la bruyance du hall