Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burnaby

Good location poor sanitation

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Improved plumbing and a welcoming manner.
Location: In a good location in Ortigia with all the sights of old Siracusa within easy walking distance
Great location and view of the water in this old hotel with poor plumbing (used toilet paper cannot be flushed and is put in a small garbage can beside the toilet). Breakfast (1 croissant and 1 coffee) served in bistro around the corner from the hotel. Staff didn't know name of bistro (Anglo Snack). Reception staff (owner?) sitting in a darkened area behind a high counter in the front area of this first floor walk up was not a welcoming sight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Poor provincial hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Reception staff were unhelpful, verging on rude.
Location: Archaeological museum and park in Syracuse. Good centre for oher archaeolgical sites. Old town and cathedral.
Had booked and paid for 3 rooms but reception staff attempted to reduce this to 2 for no valid reason. Car parking for whole of island is restricted to residents for whole of 24 hours. They did have 2 places immediately outside the hotel which were used by members of staff. There were no catering faciliities of any kind. Breakfasts, a croissant and a cup of coffee were available at a cafe half a mile away from the hotel. Orange juice etc were available at extra cost. No drinking glasses were provided. As 3 star hotel facilities were poor to non existant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Could not leave fast enough.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
This is the first time I have ever walked out of a room. Not a vacation spot for sure. If you like dark shaddy places this is it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading Pa.

very old place....nothing like preview pictures...

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: nothing .kids were scared to sleeep...
Cons: not even working TV
not very good one...i was sold on those nice pics , didn`t look anything like it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better places to go to!

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: A good clean and an honest web description re parking and breakfast
Good location and full of promise but there was no parking, breakfast was not in the hotel but across town in a bar. The bathroom was dirty and poorly maintained. Mould was growing on the wall around the aircon unit and the floor had not been cleaned for some time. A real shame as the building could be so much more with a little effort.
1 out of 5
by highlander5775 from midlands

Dissapointed travellers

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The Hotel was within an old building with interesting local architectural features.
Cons: The decor and furnishing was tired-in need of upgrading Many fittings needed replacing the room could have been cleaner
Location: The location for exploring the Ortegia and Syracuse area was great. Plenty to visit and look at. The Hotel is next to the sea wall with sea views.
Ortegia is a wonderful place with plenty to see and do. The hotel was disappointing as it really needed some TLC and thought. It had tired charm because of the architecture, however the room had a wall light that fell down on minimum contact. Shower head bracket was broken. Mould on the walls and a deep layer of dust under the bed. There was no where comfortable to sit other than on the bed. The balcony had great views, but the wrought iron balustrade was rusting badly and the outer shutters were in such bad condition that they were starting to collapse. The fridge in the room was not working and guests were obliged to use a communal fridge in the corridor. Should a guest need to store medicines or specialised food it was not ideal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So disapointing !!!!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Except for view out the french doors of the sea....it was terrible! It was fithy....the halls were lite by sensors...it entire building was cold...beds were hard and lumpy...etc...etc...etc!!!!
1 out of 5
by John from Winchester UK

Why is it given a 3 star rating?

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: The location in Ortyga is great, sea view and two allocate parking bays. The staff tried to be helpful
Cons: Just about everything
Location: All the sights of the old town are within easy walking distance
Having just finished a stay at a 3 star hotel in Taormina, the Aurora was a bit of a shock. Run down and scruffy, on the first floor ,3 fights of stairs, of a very dilapidated building. The first room we were allocated smelt very odd and the wardrobe was full of old bedding. We changed it. I think we were the only guests and if we hadn't already paid we would have left. There are no eating or drinking facilities, you are issued vouchers for a local cafe, a good 5 minute walk away.
3 out of 5
by Kerry from Sydney

Great location and view, but run down & overpriced

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Our room had a great view across the ocean and the hotel is in a good location, but given the price we felt it was poor value for money. The hotel is quite run down and a bit shabby although the staff were friendly and helpful. If it was less expensive I'd be happy to recommend it as we enjoyed our stay, but I expected more for what we paid.
2 out of 5
by Bob from London, UK

I'm glad we only stayed for one night

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: lovely sized room
Cons: lack of maintenance
Location: great location near center of city but facing the sea
Lovely building but no maitenance for years means its falling to pieces. The shower didn't work, the toilet seat fell off in my hand, there were no shades on the lamps near the bed. The breakfast was poor and the coffee undrinkable. Very disappointing the building looked great from the outside.