Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The hotel is nice, overlooking the gorgeous bay. Breakfast is exellent But watch your final bill - they put charges for the minibar - frigobar in Italian even if you did not use. Our overcharge was almost 100 euro. It's a shame to do such things for a 5 star hotel which is belong to the good chain hotel.
5 out of 5
by Alex

Wonderful hotel!

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel! Great view, great food, Great room. Could not complain about anything.
5 out of 5
by Josephine

Awesome Mazzaro place

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
The location for this hotel is supreme. We stayed for 10 days plenty of things to do, quaint little restaurants nearby. Excellent free breakfast with capuchinos included and mimosas till u drop. The staff was super gentle and super efficient. Valet service was extra but reliable and very friendly. We never had dinner there but I assume it was as good as breakfast...they will serve u anything u ask for...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice stay
3 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Very comfortable stay in wonderful beach setting.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Excellent room and facilities. Room with great view over Mazzaro bay. Private beach. Superb terrace. Dinner and bar excellent. Very good staff. Close to funivia for Taormina. A brilliant chill out holiday.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Worst hotel ever. Don't waste your money too

Posted Jun 12, 2016
This is NOT a 5 star hotel. Absolutely misleading to describe it as 5 star. Has not been decorated since the 70s and no effort made to at least de clutter or make minor repairs/improvements. Shower is in the bath tub! No walk in shower here. You have to pay for wifi that has terrible connection. The cleanliness of the room is 3 star. The room appears clean but doesn't feel clean and fresh. You can forget any pleasant fragrance in your room or even just in reception when you first enter the hotel. There's none of that welcoming, relaxing fragrance that makes you feel nice when you usually walk in to a 5 star hotel. In fact, the smell that greets you in this hotel is a stale musky smell. It's not unbearable but it isn't pleasant either. bedroom floor had been cleaned but probably two weeks prior as you can feel the grit on the floor when walking barefoot. I made the kids keep their socks on but had to keep changing them every few hours as their socks would get filthy very quickly. Our room came with its own pool which was filthy and it looked as though it hadn't been cleaned since last summer. My 7 year old was so excited to swim but as soon as he saw the filthy pool he refused to swim, unsurprisingly. AC didn't work so we couldn't sleep at all. Had to fan the 1 yr old and 7 yr old with magazines so they'd get some sleep. We were meant to be here for 5 nights but stayed one night and paid for new flights so we could return home asap and get out of here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but good

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
First impression was that hotel is a bit worn out and old, but it turned out to be super cozy and after few hours you feel like home. Wonderful view from a sea view rooms and a constant sound of a sea, that was truly wonderful. A little cold in October for swimming, at least for kids, but we did not regret staying at the hotel. Special thanks to the gentleman who was playing the piano in the evening, it was beyond wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Hotel badly needs a renovation but the room was clean, sizable balcony provided a great sea view. Breakfast was very nice. Staff is pretty friendly and accommodating. Overall, I would recommend this hotel mostly because if it's location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

More 4* than 5*

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The restaurant is good but there is only one of them. This hardly qualifies as a 5* ''Palace''
Cons: Management should do its duty and enforce more discipline among the staff
Location: There are plenty of things to see in Taormina and in other places on the island
The hotel is not bad but there is plenty of room for improvement. 1. Staff is undertrained: They do not pay attention to what you are saying. This means that you have to repeat yourself three times before they remember what you just said twice. They don't anticipate anything either. 2. Maintenance: Quite poor. Maids offer to make up the room at 11pm rather than cleaning up while you are out to diner. Moreover, the place is a little old and could do with some refurbishing. Don't look at the dust underneath the machines in the gym, it's ghastly 3. Management: Completely absent Clearly ok for a 4* but not up to standard for a 5*