Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Orbitz
For the price we believe we received excellent value for our one night stay. We preferred this over the B&B we stayed at the previous night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Exeter, UK

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Location, views from room and public terraces, room, pool, well presented and maintained outdoor areas, staff.
Location: Overlooks the Bay of Naples. Ideally situated for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Sorrento/Amalfi Coasts and Naples.
We stayed for a week at the end of September. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting all the sites and attractions in the Bay of Naples and Amalfi/Sorrento Coasts area and, additionally, provides a relaxing base to recover from your sightseeing exertions. We found that a car for us was essential and the A3 motorway provided an easy way to travel to and from the main attractions (2 € toll). However, we spoke to two residents who had successfully used public transport with the help of the hotel to get them to and from the local train station. The hotel has wonderful views over the Bay of Naples from the front, including Pompeii, the Sorrento Coast, Capri and Iscia, and this was the view from our extremely large and comfortable deluxe room, with a balcony going round the front and side, on the second floor. The view from the rear of the hotel is of Vesuvius. It is in a fairly non-built up area on a country road which was quite busy but the noise was not intrusive. The staff were charming and helpful and made us very welcome. We had dinner on several occasions and the quality and variety of the dishes offered was very good. We found a couple of restaurants within walking distance but otherwise we needed the car to go a bit further afield to eat. The hotel does host a lot of events during the year but those that happened during our stay did not bother us nor interfere with our use of the facilities. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our Italian experience at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Good value for the cost, not much close, hotel was under renovations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laval, Quebec, Canada

Great hotel, Clean , great Parking

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff was spectacles, both Madelena and Rafaela were great and helpful.
Cons: The Hotel Manager kept trying to get us to tour with him for a price. We felt it was not on the up and up. We did not appreciate his type.
Location: The location is far from Pompeii but very close to Vesuvio. There is nothing really to do close by.
We stayed at the Rosenthal and were very well received. Both the young ladies at the front desk (Madelena and Rafaela) were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel Manager was very pushy and tried to get us to tour with him for a price. When we asked about the advertised tour price for Vesuvio, which was sitting on the front desk, he quickly removed the sheet and attempted to charge us more for the same thing with a lame excuse why this was the case. We quickly noticed the face of the front desk girl and understood he was trying to swindle us. Other than the Hotel Manager, the hotel was really nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke & Veneres

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel looks nice from a distance and has nice views of the coast and vesuvious.. but, the views are only from the pool and the rooms in the tower block. The initial room we were given was called 'venere'. one opaque window and all over grey paint. It felt like a prison. Weddings and birthday parties happen often here and it feels like the hotel caters more to that than those on holiday. We asked to move room and had a balcony opposite an ugly building with lots of windows. Better than the prison room but not by much. Many things in the rooms are loose/broken or about to fall apart. There is no tea or coffee in the room. You have to buy it. Cappucino €2.50. also House red wine €5.00. You have to drive to everything from this hotel so good for a night passing through. traffic is terrible and the driving in the area worse.. it took longer than it should to get to pompeii / vesuvious / herculaneum due to traffic but you can avoid it by setting off while the locals are having a siesta. Overall the hotel is ok. Better if you are having a wedding there and staying in one of the tower rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Diamond in the rough

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Beautifully decorated, kind and caring staff
Cons: Wifi was poor
Location: Sketchy neighbourhood. We have stayed nearby before. Vesuvius and Pompeii are very close.
Beautifu, luxurious hotel with all of the amenities. Felt safe and sheltered. Wifi was poor but everything else about this hotel was great. Breakfast was so so.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run... stay somewhere else.

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Talked us into getting fish and charges us over 70 dollars... spills olive oil on my new dress and does not even suggest to take some off the 120 dollar bill. Our food was cold, although the octopus was good... there were ants in the hotel room... cold shower and a humid room. The bed was very uncomfortable and the sheets were itchy. The pillow was also very hard. I thought the pictures were accurate with the pool and the shared guest areas but it is only show... the one woman who works there does not seem welcoming at all.
4 out of 5
by Sara

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was very beautiful, clean, modern and well maintained. The rooms were comfortable and new and rhe showers are amazing rainfall showers.the pool was really nice as well as the surrounding grounds. The balcony was nice and large in the room with a great view. Negatives...the food was awful! Breakfast was included but nothing looked edible except pre packaged things. Eggs and ham were gross. Our room was nice But we were on the pool level which had no elevator access so we had to carry our luggages down stairs to a level that felt like you are in a basement. Also we could not access the Wi-Fi from that area. The staffwas not particularity helpful about that. Overall the hotel is beautiful and would probably go again but would definitely want to stay on a higher floor.
4 out of 5
by Neil

Very good but with some reservations

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Overall good experience. Staff varied from polite to very helpful. Lunch on terrace was good and we had great views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Breakfast is ok but could be better (keep running out of items in the buffet and took a while to replenish, some of the fruit was not ready to eat). Rooms are good but my teenage kids did not get WiFi in their room which they were very frustrated about as the hotel did not fix it. My room had good WiFi but the safe did not work and again they did not fix that. The location of the hotel means the views are truly amazing but the local area is a bit run down and driving around narrow streets was quite stressful, especially when there were road works so we had to find alternative (even narrower!) roads to get back to the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

A hidden gem..

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is a bit out of the way with a great view of Vesuvius but once checked in worth the cost. Room is spacious, bed very comfortable, amenities wonderful..check your email for a train pick-up (hotel will pick up) if your not driving there or being drove there...taxi's are hard to find from train depot and we walked 2-3 mile luggage in tow up to the hotel...lesson learned...btw don't speak Italian no problem English is understood.