Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland. TN

Anniversary Trip-2016

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The convenience of a restaurant within walking distance and it's old country charm.
Stopped here for one night last month on our way to Chattanooga and I'm sure glad we did!! Check in staff was very friendly and welcoming. When I told her we had been on a motorcycle all day and were looking for a good place to eat within walking distance she told us the only place was just next door, The Smokehouse Restaurant. On top of that, because it was Saturday they were having a live band with no cover charge. Our room, although rather dated, was very comfortable and clean!!! We walked down to the restaurant around 6:00 to find just a few people inside. It was like walking back in time!! The place was huge!! Part country store, part country museum. The restaurant part is separated into two different areas. One side is the regular restaurant part and the other side is where the live music is. We chose the music side and were seated immediately. The room was full of Country Music nostalgia such as old pics and posters. Small candles were being lighted aroung the room and it was very cozy. The entertainment was a local kid named Jessie Black who could sing anything!! We drank a few beers and ordered cheeseburgers. Just as they arrived a storm came through and knocked the power out!! Thank goodness for all those candles!! We ate our burgers by candlelight and the next band that came on just went accoustic. Had the breakfast buffet the next morning and it was great!! We will definitely stay here again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Nice room upgrade. Rooms were spacious. More amenities than I needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, TN

Hotel was amazing!!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very nice for the price! Enjoyed the people and the surrounding!! Very quiet place for a couples weekend getaway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n/nc


Posted Sep 11, 2016
Housekeeping was awful. No toilet paper, bugs on floor, pee residue on floor by toilet, didn't replace or take towels, took used soap but left no replacement. Desk staff was very good & room was ok but dirty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Murfreesboro, TN

Road Trip!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Clean comfortable room and the RESTAURANT!!
Cons: Parking lines need to be repainted.
Location: Too much to list!
Just a short trip for a two day getaway for me and my Lady. Nice place, lots to see-do-eat within a short drive away. Luved it and plan on going back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Nice hotel right off exit and very close to campus

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: I liked the location the best.
Overall we had a great experience. Our bathrooms were a little dirty and our drain was clogged during our stay, but other than that- our experience was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Needs some TLC

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: It's less expensive than the Sewanee Inn, but not by much.
Cons: See above.
The best thing I can say about the hotel is that it's located relatively close to Sewanee and is less expensive than then Sewanee Inn. The room desperately needed maintenance. The front door lock jammed open so that it would not lock reliably. The bathroom was a mess. The wallpaper was peeling, the tub leaked mercilessly, the trim on the floor was separating from the tub, and the door had holes where two hooks had been installed (on a hollow core door). The room had also not been cleaned with attention to detail. The shower still had hair from the previous occupant on the wall. There was paper on the floor and a sticker on a lamp.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Move-in Weekend Place to call home!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: location and cost
Cons: little fixes-- water pressure-- comforter on one of the beds was definitely 'older'
Location: Sewanee is right up the road!
We are thrilled to find a place to stay so close to Sewanee's campus, and it was a good place to collapse after a long day of hauling and arranging and traversing and sorting. Staff was incredibly helpful when our iron wouldn't work-- even going so far as to hunt down a working iron. Our shower pressure was a little weak, but, hey, nothing to complain about. We know we will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place with old school charm.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
For the price, I would give it a 5 out of 5. But compared to high end hotels it's a solid 3.5. Great place to stay on a road trip with old school Tennessee charm.