Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Old World Charmer in the Heart of Vail Village

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The location is great. Loved the giant pine trees right shading our deck.
We had a lovely stay this summer. The hotel has a lot of old European charm including a great continental breakfast. Our room was large with a huge deck and a view of both the mountain and the creek. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Old hotel, but in the heart of the village.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: It's history! Fairly quiet and location.
Cons: Badly needs updating!
Location: In the heart of Vail Village. Vail shopping is very expensive! (mainly for the rich!)
Old hotel and being renovated. Fire alarm went off in the morning, false alaram. No parking in the garage so we had to park far away in public garage and haul our luggage! Staff friendly and the hotel is a great location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga

Good Location. Difficult Parking and Unloading

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Great Location to all the shops and eating. Hotel has a very nice ambiance rich in history of its past.
Cons: Air-conditioning and better directions to the hotel because GPS lead us to a location where you couldn't drive on the road to the hotel entrance.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants. We went in the summer so mostly browsed the shops.
Stayed at this hotel for one night in late July on our way to the Rock Mountains. The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of an Alpine town, but parking was difficult. They have very minimal parking space at the hotel so most people will have to park in the parking garage. Had to carry our suitcases from garage to Hotel. Not far of a walk but may be for someone as there are stairs to walk up and down from the garage. The hotel has no air conditioner so our room was a bit warm. We had a fan in our room so that helped. All in all the hotel was nice and breakfast was good plus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Vail with very friendly staff

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: Information about the parking situation.
For a 3 star hotel, I thought everything was excellent except for the parking situation. The hotel's entrance is in a pedestrian mall and the parking situation was difficult. We drove around for a while and then finally asked someone where to park. The general parking lot close to the hotel was completely full so we ended up parking on the other end of Vail and schlepping our suitcases. There was a shuttle bus that we discovered after our stay. Information when we called to confirm our reservation would have been very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in Vail Village!

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Congenial staff, historical interest, charming place to stay. Good bed
4 out of 5
by tanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Katie from Denver

Iconic Vail!!

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Vail icon! Have always wanted to stay here because of the history! Did not disappoint!!!! Will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Sheika, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer. We want to also thank you for taking the time in rating us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back as we are doing some new renovations! We wish you a happy spring!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location with old-world charm

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: ski locker, accommodating staff
Location: skiing, restaurants
Great location within walking distance to gondola and village attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Quaint Austrian chalet vibe

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Decor, location, bar
Cons: Parking protocol
This hotel is in a great location right in the heart of Vail Village. I was pleasantly surprised by the decor and the size of the rooms. The bathroom was kind of tight but it was otherwise spacious. The bar located in the hotel was also really fun on a Saturday night. It was full but not too full and there was a really good guitarist playing. They need to improve their parking protocol, however. They have a tiny garage so if you park there, they take your keys in case they need to move your car to let someone else get out. When we checked out, they handed me the wrong keys. When I told them those weren't mine, they couldn't find mine! My car was unlocked but the keys were not inside. After searching for awhile, I finally asked the woman at the front desk to look in her pockets and they were in there thank god. We were worried that they had been left in someone's car who had already left! When you're taking possession of something as important as car keys, you need to have a strict protocol about how you handle them. Our pleasant stay came very close to being a disaster.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed here several times over the years. they really need to upgrade their internet service. it was sporadic and weak. also need more electrical outlets for near bed and desk for charging phones and computers. They have fallen behind in these amenities that help us stay connected in today's world. I don't believe they used to charge for parking. This seems unreasonable. breakfast should end go until 10:00. the not so friendly bus-person started cleaning up before about 9:20