Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Vail with very friendly staff

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: Information about the parking situation.
For a 3 star hotel, I thought everything was excellent except for the parking situation. The hotel's entrance is in a pedestrian mall and the parking situation was difficult. We drove around for a while and then finally asked someone where to park. The general parking lot close to the hotel was completely full so we ended up parking on the other end of Vail and schlepping our suitcases. There was a shuttle bus that we discovered after our stay. Information when we called to confirm our reservation would have been very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in Vail Village!

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Congenial staff, historical interest, charming place to stay. Good bed
5 out of 5
by Katie from Denver

Iconic Vail!!

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Vail icon! Have always wanted to stay here because of the history! Did not disappoint!!!! Will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Sheika, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer. We want to also thank you for taking the time in rating us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back as we are doing some new renovations! We wish you a happy spring!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location with old-world charm

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: ski locker, accommodating staff
Location: skiing, restaurants
Great location within walking distance to gondola and village attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Quaint Austrian chalet vibe

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Decor, location, bar
Cons: Parking protocol
This hotel is in a great location right in the heart of Vail Village. I was pleasantly surprised by the decor and the size of the rooms. The bathroom was kind of tight but it was otherwise spacious. The bar located in the hotel was also really fun on a Saturday night. It was full but not too full and there was a really good guitarist playing. They need to improve their parking protocol, however. They have a tiny garage so if you park there, they take your keys in case they need to move your car to let someone else get out. When we checked out, they handed me the wrong keys. When I told them those weren't mine, they couldn't find mine! My car was unlocked but the keys were not inside. After searching for awhile, I finally asked the woman at the front desk to look in her pockets and they were in there thank god. We were worried that they had been left in someone's car who had already left! When you're taking possession of something as important as car keys, you need to have a strict protocol about how you handle them. Our pleasant stay came very close to being a disaster.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed here several times over the years. they really need to upgrade their internet service. it was sporadic and weak. also need more electrical outlets for near bed and desk for charging phones and computers. They have fallen behind in these amenities that help us stay connected in today's world. I don't believe they used to charge for parking. This seems unreasonable. breakfast should end go until 10:00. the not so friendly bus-person started cleaning up before about 9:20
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

fine location, sale price on expedia

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: We enjoy the atmosphere, the balcony outside our room, the outdoor and the dining room
Cons: The path to the main dining room
Location: We just enjoyed the hotel
delightful from the moment we entered the lobby and met the staff who helped us get settled and park the car.
4 out of 5
by Scott from Denver

a cozy German hotel in Vail

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel was in a great location, close to the slopes and staff was friendly. The breakfast needs to have more traditional options though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay with Pepi!

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Super location in Vail Village, very nice room, easy access to lift, shops and restaurants. Discount rentals from Pepi to boot!
4 out of 5
by Francisco L from Mexico

Esquí en Vail

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
La ubicación es la mejor. En el corazón de la Villa.