Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawkes Bay, New Zealand

Lovely hotel - the water hole was magic!

Posted Jan 14, 2018
A thorougly enjoyable experience: reallly nothing could be faulted. Friendly and helpful staff, great location and good food. Being able to watch the animals at the waterhole was such a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted Jan 3, 2018
We enjoyed all aspects of our stay at Safari Lodge, especially the views from the room's balcony and the hotel's bar and restaurant. The vulture feeding was interesting and not to be missed. Transportation to and from the town and the falls is regular and efficient, and staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr Scotland

Good choice

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Situation and ease to visit the falls and town
Very good for viewing the waterhole, Overall pleasant feeling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The Victoria Falls Safari Lodge was a wonderful place to stay when visiting Vic Falls. It is about a 5-7 minute drive from town. The shuttle is very reliable and will take you to town and to the falls on a reliable schedule, making taking trips from the hotel straightforward and easy. The view of the watering hole and animals with a gorgeous view of the sunset and the distance from the business of downtown are certainly strengths of the hotel. We do a fair amount of travel and found the lodge to be very comfortable. The room is of average size, with a very nice bathroom with a large shower. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the watering hole which was nice.. we saw an elephant one afternoon! The air conditioner works well and the bed is comfortable. The downside of the hotel would have to be the food and the service. The service wasn't "bad" it just wasn't very quick. Multiple times at breakfast (which is included) we had to ask for the waiter to come over to either take our order or bring the check to sign off on. When having cocktails at sunset the service was similar. Again, it wasn't "bad" but it wasn't first class. We had breakfast included in our stay, so most days had breakfast at the hotel which was of average quality. We had dinner at the hotel our first night, and never wanted to go back. Eating downtown is cheaper, more fun, better service, and of greater variety. Overall, would recommend this hotel for your stay, just eat downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

great location

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: good rooms, good food, good views
Cons: not much
Lovely hotel overlooking a waterhole with plenty of animals and birds to see. Food was good and the supper at "the Boma" was fun, ( situated in the hotel grounds a very popular evening BBQ with entertainment very popular with the local population) Close to Victoria falls and with a shuttle bus provided makes that well worth making a trip even if it isn't your reason for being there. Both pool and bar also overlook the watering hole meaning the view can be enjoyed on an ongoing basis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Beautiful setting

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Setting
Cons: Longer hairdryer cord
Location: BOMA dinner shoe, Victoria Falls tour, game drive at Stanley-Livingstone reserve, private birdwatching tour, sunset dinner cruise on the Zambezi Rive
Loved the grounds and overlooking the water hole. Warthogs, bushbok, and mongoose on lodge grounds; many more animals by waterhole- elephants, water buffalo, kudu, impala, so many birds. Especially liked the weaver birds building nests right by the pool. Vulture culture also fascinating. Only complaint - the cord for the hairdryer ran through a drawer and was very short. I would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you, Mry for the lovely review, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the wildlife. We hope to have you back soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Far away from be excelent

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Room was full of mosquitos since there were holes in the roof and some parts were not well covered. One night I made a room service order and I still waiting the meal. I never get it, not even a call explaining. The hotel in general is nice but needs renovation and update. Bed linens, towels and bed cover against mosquitos look dirty and needs to be chaged. In the restaurant you need to ask for everything. For example if they brought you water they forgot the glasses, bring the eggs needs to ask for bread or the butter, etc. Food ok. For an average service and facilitiesit is overpriced and does not include anything. You have to pay for all tours or safari rides. Kruger Park facilities much much better if your are looking for a real safari experience and excellent service and facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you, Carlos for your review, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us. We have taken note of all the points you have raised and we will work hard to amend them and improve the quality of our lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Excellent base for Victoria Falls

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: location, service, hourly shuttle around the town of Victoria Falls, excellent dining options, great staff
Location: everything connected to Victoria Falls, including different styles of safari, action, touring
Stayed here for 4 nights after safari in South Luangwe. This lodge is an excellent base for all activities around Victoria Falls, including visiting the falls themselves, sunset cruises, and even day trip to Chobe
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you, Harvey, for taking the time to review our lodge, we always appreciate the feedback. We are glad you made use of the free shuttle service to the town and enjoyed the food. We hope to have you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Victoria Falls

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location and design
Delightful hotel overlooking water hole. Still had water even late summer attracting all sorts of animals and birds. Lovely views from restaurant constantly changing with light and creatures. Worth paying extra for room with view.. guide through hotel very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you, Susan, for taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed all the wildlife and the views around the lodge.
5 out of 5
by Ben

Great place if you have the cash...

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
VFSL is beautiful. Don't miss the Vulture Culture experience, every day, free at 1pm if you'r interested in seeing vultures tearing apart leftovers. Various excursions are available and a free shuttle bus is a must for getting to the town. Generally full of aging American tourists when I was there, the breakfast buffet was very good, other meals overpriced (but tasty). Indeed, most things available at VFSL came with an added premium, as if everyone who has the money to stay there has extra cash for everything else from excursions to taxis to bottles of water - all cheaper elsewhere.