Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Stratford and Your Feet

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Great onsite Pub and friendly helpful staff.
Location: Centrally located in Downtown Stratford with easy access to Shakespeare's home and associated attractions.
Great hotel with a long history in Stratford but much more modern that the front view would lead you to believe. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Room was large, clean and comfortable. The onsite pub was very friendly with great food and an excellent selection. Unfortunately we arrived on the New Years bank holiday and most things were either closed or closing early so we didn't see much on our one night but the hotel seemed to be very central located with easy access to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Next door to the theatres

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Perfectly placed about 2 minutes walk from the RSC, the hotEl was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice but not worth the Price....

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Fridge, x2 Water bottles on room, Iron, close to town
Cons: Parking Cost is the same as a member of the public parking there.
Overall a nice stay... + Wifi free and works fine + Close to town 10 min walk + Room has a fridge, Iron, Hair Dryer something that I usually find missing around hotels these days - Parking £5 a day... Cheeky I thought considering your paying over £100 to stay a night...So when comparing hotel prices make sure you calculate that.... - Spa facilities are across the road at a neighbouring hotel..nice pool decent gym but Sauna and Steam Room Tiny When comparing prices I may as well stayed at the neighbouring one it would have been easier...the décor also looked better than this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

An Easy Walk to the Town

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Located just over the footbridge from Stratford it is an easy walk to all the attractions in Stratford and particularly convenient for the theater
We were looking for an overnight stay while we went to the RST for a couple of plays. We arrived too early but were allowed to leave our car in the car park and check in later. the hotel was very conveniently situated for all attractions. the only downside was the room which was corner unit and was a rather strange shape on several levels. Because of the nature of our stay we didn't have a chance to try out and of the facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good views , but a dull hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The location is great .
Cons: The furnishings, the breakfast , the lighting .
Location: Near the centre of Stratford, lots to do.
The photograph posted although accurate gives no idea of what the hotel is like. A boring modern building ,dull. Not very well furnished. A poor breakfast too. All a bit dreary .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance into town and parking

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Took mum for a birthday treat. Really nice hotel and not too far from Stratford upon Avon facilities. Would recommend to friends and family as parking was nice and easy to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely hotel, overlooking the river.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Just about everything, great location, we dined in the bistro, very nice.
Location: Right on the Avon, over the bridge to the rest of Stratford, enough said!
Nab a table on the river bank and a cold bottle of wine from the bar, sit back and enjoy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glossop

Good location

Posted Jul 5, 2016
There wasn't any room sevice apart from sandwiches, had to go out and find desert and champagne late at night ! Carpets grubby , foyeh not very welcoming , plumbing very loud , it was just like being at faulty towers !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good hotel close to RSC

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Location, room size
Cons: Sound proofing, better noise free ventilation
Location: Close to the RSC theatres, town centre, parks, gardens etc
The hotel was excellently located for our trip to the RSC theatres, but was spoiled by a number of things. Sound proofing between us and the upstairs room was poor - we were treated to what sounded like a heard of elephants playing bowls at all times of the day and late into our first night. Our room was also warm and stuffy but when you opened the window ( restricted, as is usual in hotels these days), we were then treated to the churning/whining sounds of a pair of air con units close by (again extractor fan, air con and other such irritating noises are common to many hotels and is something they all need to address). The Room was spacious, clean and comfortable but had seen better days especially the soft furnishings and the bathroom. The staff were all pleasant and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Towcester UK

Ok hotel let down by no aircon

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Aircon and fans if broken
Arrived on one of the warmer UK days to find the room very hot. Opened window and then tried to activate the aircon to find it broken. Contacted reception to be informed broken throughout hotel. The temperature remained hot throughout evening and virtually no sleep only to hear numerous lorries turn up at 6.00 am for deliveries etc. Pity as hotel was fairly well decorated and facilities pleasant. Very disappointing no breakfast included and charged at £18 per head.