Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Still a GRAND hotel!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Simply EVERYTHING!
Cons: There is no room for improvement. Our stay was perfect.
Location: Being downtown we found the traffic predictable. While there we visited the Manitoba Museum. What a gem.
this hotel is as grand as when it first opened plus all the modern conveniences we all so enjoy. We had a wonderful two night stay and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was super friendly. The rooms were clean and well appointed. I was pleased to see that the room doors appeared to be original, complete with the nicks and dents one would expect from a 100+ year old building. It just added to the charm. Gone were the transom vents in favor of air conditioning, but the room still had some features from a bygone age to remind me that this facility has seen generations of service, and not converted into a glitzy version of an unremarkable Best Western. The food was also as expected in a "premier" hotel both for the dinner and breakfast meals we enjoyed. Being partially handicapped the staff again showed their colors and treated me with respect and dignity in helping us with our luggage and finding a place for us to park that was accessible. We definitely will stay again at the Hotel Fort Garry again. Thank you all for a grand experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Old world elegance, some tech catch-up to do

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Elegant, high ceilings, fast elevators, friendly staff
Cons: Set-up for laptops in the room. I forgot toothpaste and there was no mini-sample to be just handed over. I had to buy one for $3.
Location: Lovely part of Winnipeg. Good restaurants nearby
All was well and the internet worked well but there was no place very convenient to set up. So my phone was charging on the floor near an outlet and my laptop on the coffee table near the window, plugged in to the lamp socket on the floor. Not a disaster but not convenient either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed very uncomfortable, check in was rushed

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Had had better at cheaper chain hotels. Bed was very uncomfortable and the room needs painting
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fancy Hotel on the outside very disappointing room

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Horrible sleep, room was very old inside and no view only of a brick wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Convenient location

Posted Aug 19, 2015
It was close to the courthouse which is where I needed to go the morning after my stay. My only complaint was that I did not enjoy the house sausage that was offered in the hotel eatery. But the staff were incredibly helpful and responsive to my needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern meets historic in perfect unity.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
I am normally a very critical traveller and rarely give perfect reviews, but this is the exception. My stay was perfect in every aspect thanks to knowledgeable, friendly and efficient staff as well as a solid building and exquisite room. The bathroom in particular was unmatched in quality and detail. The TV is hd with amazing sound. The room was spacious with amazing decor. You will not find a hotel room. Lime this for under $250.00 in most cities. This is one of the best valued stays this worldly traveller has ever had. Thanks for the wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great classic hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Rooms was very comfortable and felt like home away from home. Great free coffee service in am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Location: Loved the Canadian Human Rights Museum
Lovely character hotel great service. Room was a little cold but great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel, great location, great price!

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Historic landmark, soft beds, good food, good wifi
Cons: Staff could be more knowledgeable.
Location: Great downtown location close to the Forks and Human Rights Museum
I stayed for three nights on a girl's weekend with my daughter. She was so comfortable I had a hard time getting her to go out of the hotel! Comfy beds, strong wifi, very short walk to the Forks and Human Rights Museum. I only gave 4 stars for staff because one staffer was not very helpful with telling me where the river walk was and didn't mention construction issues, etc. Also, room service staff seemed unfamiliar with the menu and wasn't very helpful either. The rest of staff I encountered were great, though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boissevain, MB

Cool old hotel, great location, friendly staff.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The staff were super friendly and helpful and the parking was great.
Cons: Rooms could be updated a bit without loosing the historical charm.
Check in was quick and easy, parking was great even though we were driving a truck with a trailer. Location is an easy walking distance to the Forks Market.