Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring Lake Park, MN

History and Location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Relatives
Cons: Not much
Location: Excellent.. went to the Forks and nearby sites
The Garry is located in the heart of the City. Walkable to many places of interest. Staff and building fantastic. Excellent condition.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Enjoy old fashioned luxury.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The turn of the century architectural details and very courtesous staff. I loved the way that the staff were quietly attentive but never pushy.
Cons: The tile in the bathroom is ready for an update or at least regrouting.
Location: Near the Forks and down town Winnipeg with access to Main Street and St Mary's.
I lived near the hotel years ago and always wondered about it. On a recent trip back to Winnipeg I deceided to check it out. It was a marvelous experience. The architectural details of the original building have been largely preserved and its like stepping back into the essence of turn of the century finery. But overlaid on the traditional decor are layers of luxury of the most modern kind: feather pillows and duvets, mattresses and linens, best quality bath products and superb room service. The rooms are quiet and private and so are the other hotel guests. There was something envigorating about walking to the car each day through the elaborate lobby and hearing the music from the lounge on the way back in each evening. The complimentary room service tea/coffee and ice delivery on silver tea service was a wonderful touch each morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet was excellent.
Great location and friendly staff. Beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Très agréable et charmant.....près de tout. Bon service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bath uk

Winnipeg Jul 16

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel is a little bit different from the norm , it has charm and character that many modern hotels do not possess. Rooms are very well appointed to connect with the many devices we all travel with. The restaurant is very good and breakfast is again a little bit more special than the normal buffets offered at other hotels. Bonus if picking up the rocky mountaineer in Winnipeg is that it is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Great location within walking distance to so many things
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, Ky

Charming Historic Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Historical ambiance, service, and cost.
Location: Convenient location near Forks and city highlights.
The Fort Garry Hotel welcomes visitors warmly and efficiently. We were greeted with complimentary tickets for coffee/room service at the checkin time. This offer was very generous over our 4 day stay. Following this warm benefit, we found our wonderfully, clean room with a terrific view of Main Street and the Canadian Museum of Human Rights. Breakfast here is a super bargain for all the attention of a personal chef. Food was scrumptious along with service. We enjoyed dining in Palm room for dinner and the accompaniment of piano music each evening. What a bargain to vacate at the Fort Garry Hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Historic hotel right in downtown

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location Lobby, mezzanine Access to pool Free WiFi
Cons: Room can use renovation Room furniture was very dated and unpractical, can use a drawer Keep hotel access doors free from parked cars
Location: It's right downtown near to The Forks, Union Station and Human Rights Museum. Red river and Asinniboine are near-by and Portage Shopping Mall
We stayed at the hotel for the civic holiday long weekend. The exterior of the hotel is nice, has a lot of character and is very conveniently located, near The Forks, Union Station and financial district. I didn't like the fact that there was always a car parked in front of the stairs and we had to go around it to be able to access them. Staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby and mezzanine are splendid, what you would expect from a very renowned hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor and unfortunately the view was to the back of the hotel (nothing to see except other rooms and what I assume is the roof of the Mezzanine). Perhaps booking directly with the hotel would have been less expensive. Room was a little dated but clean. We got 2 double-beds which were comfortable enough. Bathroom faucet is getting rusty and could be a hazard if you bump into it (like I did). Our room was little and there were no drawers to speak of, the desk was very narrow and there was a side table that could hold a magazine, that's it. We had to make do with the closet to accommodate our clothes (not convenient if you travel with kids). When we checked in we got complimentary passes to the athletic club in the condo that is connected directly to the hotel. We used the pool and were satisfied. Word of caution, condo owners can be very unfriendly towards hotel guests. WiFi was free and adequate. I don't think I've gotten the bang for my buck and wouldn't recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great - entire stay was really rewarding

Posted Jul 30, 2016
I cannot add anything more to what I've already said.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Beautiful, old, Canadian treasure

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Excellent and very helpful staff, allowed us to check into our room earlier than normal. Complimentary hot coffee delivered to my to my room every morning. Shower was perfect, room was clean and so comfortable. I slept amazingly well here - am a light sleeper, so this was a bit of a miracle. Easy access on foot to everything you want to see in downtown Winnipeg. 10 min walk to The Forks with a shortcut through Union Station. 10 min in opposite direction to the Legislature - a must see and must do tour on Wednesday evenings with Hermetic Code expert, Dr. Albo. Wonderful Grande Dame of a hotel - I will return.