Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Central location to explore hutong area and restaurants
Cons: Wooden floor in room was a little dirty, but other than that the room facilities were very clean.
Location: Located in the heart of the hutong area, there are many alleyways, shops and restaurants to explore nearby. Drum & Bell towers also only 10 mins walk
Recently refurbished rooms and great location in the heart of the historical hutong area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by naresh from sydney

Centrally located, close to amenities

Posted May 22, 2014
Good stay at the hotel. Conveniently located. Quite clean place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014
Dear guest! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beijing Traditional View Hotel and share your stay feel, we are characteristic theme hotel, with a good external environment, we will continue to provide the best for you and all the guests stay feeling, sincerely look forward to your visit again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from UK

Good location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Good location in bustling hutong. Shame about the constant noise from the refurbishment taking place in the hotel meant that a morning lie in past 8am was not possible. Also our room was right next to the reception so we could hear the phone buzzing all night long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really great service. Nice people.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Overall is really good. Nice room. Some facets still need to be improved. - TV - bed / mattress - travel agent recommended by hotel is terrible. - breakfast is too early and only for short period.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max from SG

Budget stay near a nice market street.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: It's near Nan Luo Gu Xiang.
Cons: It's getting a bit worn out. Some furniture could use replacing. The BED we had in the basic room could use a thicker pillow top.
Location: It is just a stone's throw away from a quaint but popular market street called Nan Luo Gu Xiang.
If you're expecting the taxi to drop you off at the doorstep... If you're expecting to see big signages near the road announcing "Here I am! I'm Hotel XYZ!" If you're expecting a comfortable bed after a long day out with good weather-proofing during the cold winter months... look elsewhere. This is a BUDGET hotel. It is reasonably clean, but signs of age shows. The windows didn't shut tight in our recent stay and the cold wind blew in through the gaps. The bed is literally bare-bones - we could feel the springs through the thin fabric. Understandably, we didn't sleep well. AND, the street in front of it is barely traversible by vehicles in the day. The map pins are on the wrong side of the building, and the only sign that you are at the hotel is the big red lantern hanging at the entrance of the alley leading to its lobby. But despite it's short-comings, it is just a stone's throw away from a quaint but popular market street called Nan Luo Gu Xiang - a 400 odd meter long stretch of pedestrian & bike street (and the odd car that dared to brave the single lane width) lined with tiny stalls selling modern street food and little trinkets. The subway isn't particularly near, but you get used to it. It's apparently quite popular with both local and foreign tourists - with a good mix sighted during the time we were there. By and large, it's reasonably clean. If you know what you're getting into, it's a decent deal - hence the "OK" rating.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Canada

Dirty! Bad Service!

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
I choose this hotel because of the location. A trendy, popular location. Metro is really closed. Even thou the hotel is located in a tourist area, but not all the front desk staff can speak English. I see a tourist wants to ask for direction from the front desk, but they don't know how to explain and show the " don't care" attitude on the face. One staff tries to check me in to a room that is under construction which is so ridiculous to me. I tell them that's so impossible for me to stay because of the safety and the noise that they make from the construction. Then, they give me one that is on the top floor which is a very stinky one. Tell them that's not possible for me to sleep because of the smell. Finally, they give me one that they think is a better one. Unfortunately, the room is not clean yet, all left over from the last tourist are there...trash all over the place. I wait for around 30mins, one guy comes in and said all room keepers are having lunch. No one can clean the room for me. I wait until 2ish pm to check in to the room. Find out that they did not change the bedding at all. Hair still on the bed. DISCUSSING!!! Smell comes out from the bathroom because of the water pipe. I need to call them each day to clean the room, ask for toilet paper, water, etc...one extra room key needs extra $50rmb deposit and they don't want to issue even you are willing to pay. It is a very bad experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim from US

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and nice. It has a great location with access to major transportation and also near to traditional hutongs. The only small issue is that the hallways were somewhat dirty and worn-down, but this was not reflective of the hospital on the whole as the rooms and other common areas were very clean. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott from Melbourne

Close to the tourist Hutongs

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for a spot close to the tourist Hutong area of Beijing you will like this hotel. It is a short walk from the action but if you want to use the Metro you will need to be ready for a longer walk and much of it battling the tourist crowds to try to find the place. The hotel room was smallish but it had a traditional style old fashioned chinese 4 poster bed which made up for the size of the room. The TV would not turn on but I was not worried
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Xiaolin from UK

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Best location for a tourist can wish for: bars, retaurants, shops as long as you step out of the hotel! Hotel is decorated very traditional way, but bit dark. Room was bit tired. Staffs were very friendly.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Australia

Hotel price trebles?

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The surroundings...
Cons: Construction noises and smells together with the ridiculous make it unaffordable and poor value.
Location: Bell tower
The price of this hotel has trebled in the last year making it poor value for money. I am disappointed in this ridiculous increase. While still under renovation the sounds and smells of construction are common and while this surroundings are beautiful I will not be staying there again at this price.