Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

At $25 p/night, comfortable stay in great location

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Location was great. In a lively and unique part of Beijing. For Melbournians (Australia), it's like Brunswick.
Cons: Toilet facilities - had to settle for using the public toilet a few doors down.
Location: The area, Gulou, is considered the 'hipster hangout' of Beijing. Lots of places to eat - plenty of Chinese cuisine and western options.
Overall, my experience here was comfortable enough, considering the incredible price I paid. I can't complain about the smell of smoke indoors, the low flow shower & toilet, the lumpy bed, or that the sheets weren't changed during my 10 day stay. It's what's to be expected when you pay $25. I don't change my sheets at home every day, so not a real issue. And after a day of touring the city, when it was time for bed I didn't notice the lumpy bed. If a holiday to Beijing means you're gong to spend a lot of time at the hotel and need these luxuries, don't stay here. Initially I thought I might be too precious for some of the things mentioned in other reviews, and considered paying $75 for a more comfortable looking hotel in line with western standards, but I'm glad I didn't waste my money. For $25 p/n in Australia you would expect a hostel with bunk beds and 10 other people in your room. When I walked into my room here, I was very pleasantly surprised. The key thing was you had your own room and bathroom, it was safe and in a fantastic part of the city. LOCATION - fantastic. Close to Gulou station - 2 different lines stop here making it even easier for you to get around the city. A big plus! Lots of great restaurants and hole-in-the-wall places to eat. Very easy to find once you know where it is. Give your cabbie the address in Chinese when you first arrive. SERVICE - English speaking ability varies from person to person, but I didn't have any trouble with them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel with this price

Posted Apr 19, 2014
this hotel is located in Hutong, not far away from the subway station so it is easy for me to travel around Beijing, the room was big enough for one person, price was good,
1 out of 5
by Penelope from Toronto, Canada

Brutal!!

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: I can't honestly say a single thing, it was awful!
Cons: It should be torn down and re-done completely!
Location: There is an amazing restaurant literally a few steps down the street called 'The Palm' which is an English hideout. So amazing and the food is great!
This was probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. It should be listed as a Hostel. It is dark and gloomy and smells really bad. The front desk clerk gave us a bottle of air freshener. This hotel is run down, mouldy, and everything is at the bare minimum. We had to ask for toilet paper and CLEAN towels. The maid actually only made HALF of the bed and didn't replace our used towels. The pillows under the cases were yellow and stained. PLEASE don't stay at this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

stuck

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: not really
Location: stuck
bad experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hutong Inn

Posted Jan 4, 2014
The room was clean enough and comfortable enough. There is smoking permitted everywhere, so it smells kind of smokey throughout. The bed was fine, room was fine, the desk staff there was less than friendly but helpful enough and good enough at English. Pros: great location, super close to the metro, bell tower, drum tower, and lots of good restaurants. Cons: shower was a steady drip (actually I can't even say steady because sometimes it stopped dripping at all out of the shower head as it was all leaking out the hose before it got there). When we woke up to check out on our last day, it was 5 am and our power wouldn't work. The person manning the desk had no idea what we were trying to say, after a lot of pantomiming, trying to find all of our things in the dark, they finally said "sorry", couldn't get it to work, and gave us an emergency flash light.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicholas from Philadelphia, PA

Cheap and very basic hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: I liked the price and how convenient it was to public transportation.
Cons: The water drained from the shower slowly.
I stayed here for 4 days starting November 1st 2013. The hotel is very basic (I expected that considering I paid just under $25 per night). Don't expect a Hilton. When you check in, the staff will make copies of your ID/passport and pay RMB 100 deposit (you get this back when you check out). The room was small, cozy and clean. It was kinda cold, but there's a heater/AC in the room. The controls are in Chinese though, but there's a laminated paper "remote" in English for both the TV and AC. The shower has very low water pressure. Also, there's nothing separating it from the rest of the bathroom. Slippers are provided, as well as daily toiletries (toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, soap etc). It is located in a Hutong (small side street). I had no issues finding it with Google Maps. I took the Airport Express and Subway line 2 there -Guloudajie stop and take Exit E (North-West Exit). If you take a taxi, ensure you have direction printed in Chinese and the hotel's phone number. I took a taxi while in Beijing and the driver had trouble finding it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
During my entire one week stay at the hotel, my bed sheets were never changed. The hotel's idea of cleaning consisted of emptying the waste baskets and of making up the bed. I will not return
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveler 26 from Norway

Good location, but noisy in the morning

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was great. I was going to the CNCC, and it was perfectly located between that and the center of Beijing. But, in the cheapest room, the window leads out to the hallway. so, no view out of the hotel. And in the morning there is a lot of noise from the cleaners and their walki talkies. I woke up to it almost every morning. a bit annoying. There is no complementary water bottle, even though it said so in the description of the room.. There are also no bathrobes. It's an ok place if you just need a place to sleep. beds are not soft, but I slept allright on them. The air conditioning worked allright. The shower has very low pressure, and there was mold in the cubbords in the batroom, and some on the tiles.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by bobZ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brock

It's ok for the price.

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Love that it's in a hutong neighborhood so you can wander around and find good stuff. It's close to Mr. Shi's dumplings! Amazing food!
Overall it is fine. It's in a great location though and the price was right. The first room we were given was covered in mold though since it was an inner room that didn't look like it had been used in awhile. They moved us immediately and the room was fine. Nothing special, nothing great. An ok place to sleep which is all we needed after exploring Beijing.