Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Absolutely fabulous!!!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
This boutique hotel is a gem located in the heart of many hutongs/alleys. So many attractions are within walking distance. The breakfast buffet is only $5 which has the best coffee I tasted in China and the food is delicious. Don't worry, it is primarily a western style buffet! For sure, I will stay with them on my next trip to Beijing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Smart looking hotel centrally located hutong

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Beautiful atrium and common area. Free bikes!
Cons: Staff could work on their English but they are still super friendly and try really hard.
Location: Central location, less thank 10 minutes walk to the subway which makes for easy, cheap convenient access to everywhere in Beijing.
This hotel is beautifully designed and bright. It's located in a hutong which is cool and also quite central. Less than 10 minute walk through an interesting neighbourhood to the subway. Easy walk, cycle to the lakes and other trendy hutong areas. Convenient shops nearby too. Lowest priced rooms are quite small but otherwise clean comfortable and beautiful bathrooms with luxury shower enclosures. Free bottled water, bikes and friendly staff. Decent breakfast buffet. Very reasonably priced. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great atmosphere

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere of the hotel is warm and attractive. And browsing the wonderful collection of books on Beijing history and stories is so interesting.
Cons: It would be great if the hotel included some foreign language TV channels, including english
Location: Great location in one of Beijing's hutons, very close to a major dining street and other attractions
After 5 days in a bland 5 star hotel for a conference coming to the Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel was a wonderful change. The atmosphere was great and the staff were attentive and helpful. I will stay here again and recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Wonderful oasis in the midst of a hutong. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. They arranged transport to and from the airport and to the Great Wall. I have been to Beijing, but never stayed in a hutong. It made me feel like I was living in ild Beijing. The hutong is an area of contrasts - beautifully restored homes, elaborate front doors, tiny alleyways, and what appeared to be a recycling collector with trash bags full of plastic bottles and bike loads of cardboard. My only complaint is that my stay was too short!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LYNN from UK

Great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Area and the staff
Cons: N/a
Location: Lots places to eat and in inetresting area. Lake close by which interesting area
Lovely courtyard hotel in hutong area Helpful staff. Great setting - close to lake with subway a 10 minute walk away. Shadow puppet show good. Best place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from UK

great location

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my second time at this hotel. I came back because I had loved my stay the time before. the hotel was pretty full this time which I think put more pressure on the hotel facilities hence a few hiccups were there I had not experienced the first time around. The wifi connection was slow and sparse and the hot water was not always there. The hotel is still in a great location, and the staff is still amazingly helpful when they can accommodate. But I might look again for other hotels in the Hutongs next time I visit Beijing. This hotel might be victim of its own success now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by newtravellers from Belfast, N Ireland

I found the hotel to be better than I expected.

Posted May 22, 2014
I am usually quite skeptical about reviews and wonder about their truth. In this case they were correct in their praise. I am a fussy person but found the hotel lovely, modern and clean and the staff were as helpful as they could possibly be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by silvia from miami, USA

Hutong area...

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The staff speak English, they are very helpfully, the breakfast is included and is a mix Chinese and continental, 3 times a week they have a poppet sh
Location: Location is good, 15 to 2o minutes by foot to the lake, there are many restaurants and lived shows, coffe and tea places and shopping for souvenirs
In the very first moment we went scared about the locals but they are so nice and polite people, from the airport to hotel is like 30 minutes, you have to be very carefully with the taxis, don't go if they don't use the taximeters because you going to finish paying the doble, the right amount is 98 - 105 yens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by newylis

Amazing experience right among the Hutongs.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent. Staff fantastic. Room brilliant.
Cons: In room fridge.
Location: Located amongst Hutongs, Walking distance of drum and bell towers, lake, Prince Gong's mansion. Inexpensive cafes and easy subway ride to everything.
So pleased I booked this hotel. Location was fantastic and allowed us to really experience the local environment within Beijing. Very inexpensive cafes surrounding hotel, and an easy subway ride to all tourist sites. The hotel staff were fantastic and went out of their way to help us when needed. Even walking to main street and waiting with us until our tour bus picked us up early in morning. They also organised a take away breakfast when our flight left very early at the end of our stay. Really loved the room, very spacious and had an excellent bathroom. Only thing we missed was an in room fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Matthew Belanger from Shanghai

Unique Hotel with Warm, Helpful Staff

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and I enjoyed our stay here very much. The hotel generally and our room specifically were smoke-free. Our room was fairly small with a built-in bed that was firm for my taste, but not bad at all. The neighborhood is great, and the location is fairly convenient. We had some trouble getting taxis to take us directly to the hotel, I suppose because it's in the hutongs, and we usually had to settle for being dropped off at the nearest metro stop, which is a short walk or rickshaw ride away. The staff was so friendly, and helped us find the best route to some non-obvious destinations we wanted to visit. The puppet shows are a really nice touch. If there is one area where there could be improvement, it would be in the breakfasts, which are basic. All in all, a great experience though, and I would definitely stay again.