Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia, WA

Nasty dirty sheets

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Not much!
Cons: Clean sheets and new mattresses
Location: The Fairhaven District has great shopping
On first appearance, the room looked very nice, but when I went to turn back the covers the sheet was dirty; VERY dirty. My husband went down to tell the staff and was told, "we can't throw away sheets just because they get stained." When he told them, no, these stains are chunky, they finally gave us another room. True, they gave us a room with a king instead of a queen, but the layout was crazy. You had to lay sideways in the bed to see the TV. And, the mattress was rock hard and lumpy. Now I am someone who LOVES to stay in hotels, but believe me, we won't be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very people and pet friendly.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Easy to find conveniently located- friendly staff, clean small - ish ground floor room for close pet to grass access area, pretty quiet too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, 15 minutes walking distance to town.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Overall fine.
Cons: More towels in the spa room.
Location: Lots of antique shops, malls, and funky restaurants.
Friendly staff. Nice room. Breakfast room was good and so was the hot tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

accommodating

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: We had a comfortable king sized bed as requested. The breakfast was varied and served in a clean, pleasant room with plenty of space.
Cons: The carpeting in the hall may soon need replacing
Location: Our only purpose was to visit our granddaughter at the University, so we spent all of our time there or at the motel.
when checking in we were very tired from driving in inclement weather on the freeway. We were given a room on the first floor presumably because we are seniors. However, this faced and is near the freeway.Having had enough of that we asked for a different room. Without hesitation, the young man moved us to an extremely quiet room at the end of hall on the back side of the building. Before doing so, he assured us the motel had an elevator.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Del Mar, CA

Flea bites will make me go elsewhere.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: breakfast is good, hotel is in a good location to freeway, downtown and WWU
Cons: get rid of the fleas
Location: shopping, downtown, WWU
I've stayed here before and had no problem. The breakfast is great and it's conveniently located to WWU and downtown. This time, I was bitten 14 times, presumably by fleas. I let the clerk know when I checked out, and he admitted that it's possible it was fleas because those are the rooms used for guests that have pets. I won't be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Juneau, Alaska

Recommend Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Clean and quiet, friendly staff, close to restaurants and freeway. Near ferry terminal. Would surely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Pleasant stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, convenience, price, and the staff.
Cons: Slightly out dated decor, but I'm not complaining for that price and location.
Stayed here the night on the way down to Seattle to see a Phish show. The room was clean, and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The location was very convenient too. Right near Bellingham downtown, and just seconds off the highway. We were able to get into the core of Bellingham, which is much nicer than Mainland, and all the strip malls. Had some great meals, and thought the town was really cute. Would definitely suggest staying here. Great price, and friendly staff. No complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle,wa

Mother daughter trip

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The breakfast bar was complete and very well maintained.
Cons: The bathroom lighting was a bit dim.
Location: Not far from town and Fred Meyer right across the street.
The location and convenience of this hotel was perfect for our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Decent place to stay

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The location is very convenient. Rooms are comfortable, good cable TV and across the street froma Fred Meyer and other services
Cons: The attitude of that one man I encountered. Otherwise, front desk staff wre extremely kind and welcoming.
Location: Basically Bellingham is convenient if you want to stop overnight south of the US/Canada border. It is really the last nice place before the biorder.
I've stayed here 4 times in the past 2 years wth my dog--only one night stays on my way back and forth to Oregon. I choose this hotel because 1) it is almost always less expensive than other hotels in Bellingham/Mt Vernon area 2) they accept dogs with a modest nightly fee and 3) it is simple to find the hotel, almost right off the exit. This time I was annoyed because of something that happened and it must sound silly but I went into the "breakfast" room around 6 PM in the evening (using a room key) and this extremely rude man came into the room after me and demanded to know what I was doing! Since you could only access the "breakfast" room with a key card he had to know I was a guest. I went in to get a PAPER PLATE so that I could eat my take away pizza in my room (thus not leaving the dog in the room alone). He continued to be rude --even when I explained what I wanted --and explained that paper plates were to be used ONLY for breakfast. . One should not let one jerk like this put you off but I am rethinking ever staying here again. No staff member of a hotel should treat any paying customer like this. The room wasn;t cheap--it was well over $100 a night, plus the dog charge and taxes so NOT to let someone take ONE paper plate so they could eat in their room was ridiculous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fox Island, WA

Great hotel for the price

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The beds and the staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is located right near campus with shopping nearby. Very close to downtown Bellingham and right off the expressway.
The room was very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. Road noise was loud but not bad with fan on in the room. The bathroom was small but clean. The continental breakfast was good. Overall I feel we got our money's worth!