Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast but the refrigerator was frozen up

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: breakfast and staff
Cons: better refrigerator
Location: near where I was working
For the money, you sure can't be it. They staff was friendly and the breakfast was really good. The room was good, but the refrigerator was frozen up. The staff turned it down, but my water were not cold in the morning. Well I stay there again, the answer is...yes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria VA

Very nice for an economy hotel.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Good value
Cons: Internet speed & cell-phone connection
Location: easy access to interstate, and to downtown (not walking distance)
Small rooms with lots of efficient storage. Very quiet, very clean. We stayed 3 nights and functioned easily because we unpacked and stored all our stuff. Staff very nice. Great AC on a record hot week. Breakfast fine; hey this is economy, with bagels, danish, breads, waffles, sugar cereal, plenty of coffee, juice, a fruit. Only complaint is one s-l-o-w elevator, one for 3 floors and the cleaning staff tie it up. One more complaint, a bed light goes all across the end wall, so one person can't sleep while the other reads.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bowling Green, KY

Worst Customer Service Experience Ever

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The room is a decent size, clean, and was stocked.
Cons: I found old silverware behind the microwave that looked considerably old.
Location: Easy to find, can see the sign from the highway.
I stayed 8 days at this hotel. I had a discount on top of it's relatively low price (for the area), so it was ideal in that respect. However I noticed that the hotel staff charged me for 2 additional days on top of the 8 days I paid for, due to some employee error or misunderstanding. When asking for a refund, I was told in error that it was my online service's fault and they would not refund me. The manager refused to satisfy my refund request. When appealing to the owner directly, I was flatly told, "We will not help you." After all of this hair-pulling frustration dealing with this hotel's staff error, I finally had to appeal directly to their corporate office to get anyone to recognize the error they made and get my refund issued. I had stayed at this hotel when in town for years, but I will likely never again. The staff do not speak English fluently, do not make effort to provide a decent customer service experience, and when confronted with issues, divert blame and make no effort to resolve it for you. If you stay here... good luck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Clean, comfortable, close to highway

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The clean, comfortable room, and the proximity to the highway.
Cons: Staff attitude. Some more breakfast choices would be nice (hard boiled eggs, maybe?) Also, planting a few trees around the hotel would be great.
Location: Mammoth Cave is the most famous attraction nearby, and it is well worth a visit... or a few.
The hotel room was comfortable enough. Microtel rooms always have deep windowsills, which I love and which add a lot of comfort. Everything was very clean and neat. The fridge in the room worked, but had no freezing compartment. The hotel staff was polite, but not too cordial. They did what they were supposed to do, but the attitude was more of "when are you going to go away and leave me alone?" No smiles, short, terse replies to the questions. Not rude, though - just unwelcoming. The hotel breakfast was nothing special, though there were some choices - some bread (not bagels), cereal, packaged pastries, DIY waffles. There were also some oatmeal packets, yogurts and fruit. Coffee and juices, as usual.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owensboro, KY

Very nice hotel, great quality at a great price.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: The rooms were clean and the bed was soft. The staff was friendly and efficient.
Cons: We could smell people smoking in their rooms as we walked down the hall. Perhaps the smoking rooms could be located at the same end of the hall.
Location: Bowling Green, KY - Corvette Museum, Lost River Cave, Mammoth Cave, Dinosaur World, lots of shopping and other attractions. Great restaurant choices!
When we arrived, the person checking us in was efficient and friendly. She explained where the dining area and elevator were located, told us when breakfast would be served, and let us know when we needed to check out the next day. We went to our room to drop off our luggage before heading out and found it to be very clean and everything as described online. When we returned, it was after 11PM and we thought we'd have to get the desk person to let us in, but it was still unlocked. The sign posted said it would be locked at eleven. As we walked down the hallway to our room, we could smell the smokers in their rooms. Thankfully we couldn't once we were in our room. The bathtub faucet dripped constantly. The bed was much softer than we'd expected and we slept quite well. The next morning we went to breakfast and had our choice of cereal, honeybuns and muffins, and waffles. The dining area could have done with more chairs for the number of tables they had. Some people had to stand to eat. After eating and gathering our belongings, we checked out to continue our trip. Checking out was just as fast as checking in had been. We would definitely stay with Microtel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OHIO

Good for one night's stay

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Easily accessible!
Cons: Door keys
Location: Passing thru
Only problem was that they seem to have problems with the doors and keys working properly...no other complaints!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Despite the smaller rooms, I did not feel crowded.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Very close to highway exit. Gas station is a short walk. Parking is easy. Staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast wasn't the best (packaged pastries) but edible and free. All in all, worth it for a short overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Very shady to me and in a very low maintained area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Illinois

Needs some TLC

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Dependable wifi
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: It was easy to access from the highway. We visited Mammoth Cave and other caves nearby.
We chose this hotel last minute due to a great rate. When we arrived, I signed a paper stating I would not smoke in the room. The room had obviously been smoked in, had an ashtray, cigarette burns on the sink, bathroom floor, carpet, and cushions, and reeked of smoke. There was a dirty towel in the bathroom. Two dirty footprints in the shower. The linoleum in the bathroom was peeling up in about 1/4 of the bathroom. The microwave in the room did not work, it had an error message on the screen. The cushion by the window needs to be thrown out or replaced since it is stained, has cigarette burn holes, and a hole the size of an iron where someone set a hot iron on it. There was no smoke detector in the room, it looked like it had been pulled out of the ceiling with the wires exposed. The free wifi was dependable and had a good signal. The complimentary breakfast had waffles, oatmeal, cold cereal, muffins, bagels, and sweet rolls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MICH

NICE MOTEL FOR THE PRICE,NOT MUCH OF A BREAKFAST,

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: PRICE
Cons: U.S. WORKERS
Location: ON THE WAY TO SCOTTSVILLE, NOT LOOKING FOR THINGS TO DO. PASSING THROUGH
NEED BETTER ENGLISH SPEAKING WORKERS.PRICE HARD TO UNDERSTAND WORKERS