Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

spring brake 2014

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The sound of the waves splashing on shore.
Cons: room service.
Location: Great location. Close to town ( Port Aransas ) About 35 Miles from airport.
We had a lot of fun sight seeing, USS Lexington, Bob Hall Pier, Golf carts in town, Watching the dolphins swim in the harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from New Braunfels, texas

Great stay

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Older condos - rooms depend on the owners for their look & how well maintained. Ours was ok. Very dated. The resort itself - fabulous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lori from Austin, TX

Great place to travel with kids

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The best of both worlds - a private condo with daily maid service! We really enjoyed our Spring Break at Port Royal. The pools were awesome, the staff very friendly and helpful and the location great, close to both Port A and Corpus. Yes, the property is a little dated and shows some wear but everything was in working order. It is on the pricey side but we still think it's a great value. Our unit could use new mattresses and nicer balcony furniture but it was well stocked with everything we needed for cooking, cleaning and RELAXING! Even though it was spring break we found that most of the units held families so the noise wasn't too bad. I'd recommend Port Royal to my friends with kids of all ages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Bastrop, Texas

Hotel with store and restaurant - awesome!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: I really like that the hotel had a store.
Cons: We kept running out of hot water.......
We had a great time and enjoyed the heated pool and complimentary sandcastle lessons!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BostonEngineer from Boston

Chilly in December but uncrowded and fun

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was a bit unseasonably cold on Dec 27 (in the 40s) but warmed up a little the next two days. The heated lap pool is great and the beach is good for jogging. The pools, fountains, and palms are beautiful. Great location for birding at Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center, and Port Aransas Nature Preserve at Charlie's Pasture. And be sure to take the awesome 2 hour guided birding tour at North Padre National Park - we saw 35 types.
2 out of 5
by katherine

Mediocre for a beach front resort

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Unfortunately we came on a weekend when the weather had hit an all time low for Texas. We booked this resort for the beach front access and the multiple pools, but were unable to do much at the resort or on the island in general because of how cold it was. The features of the resort were very outdated. The room was as clean as it could get, with stains on the carpet. The poolside when we did decide to take a walk around , had all the pool cleaning supplies hidden in the gardens. The staff was friendly, but it took one of the front desk staff, 5 minutes to just come out and show me where all the brochures were, which were not by the front desk but at the side entrance almost outside hidden behind the luggage racks, which I had to physically move to get to any of them. The other misc. staff was hiding smoking in different corners of the resort, which just made everything look sketchy. For the price and because it was a beach front resort I expected much more...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by justbeachit from TX

Best Port A Resort

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Recent pool remodel has given the property a great update! Rooms are comfortable and clean. But pool and beach are definitely the best. I've been staying at this hotel for almost 30 years and will continue to do so. Definitely the best Port A has to offer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by I from Texas

excellent Location and Price

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Price/location/cleaningness/on sight small store/kids waterslide everthing you need to make things well
Cons: All people should demostrate they like their jobs by being friendly not just the the staff I mentioned above.
Location: shops, fastfood, grocery store, rents vehicles to enjoy the area
Staff was accommodating, I had a problem with the an item in the room and within 10minutes they were there to take care of the problem. I was impressed they had security in the entrance way--good job! The room was clean and neat. The furniture in the balcony is less than desireable, quite dirty. Overall, excellent experiece. The maintenance workers and the young boy who works in the grill in the lobby seemed to enjoy their jobs--they were always smiling. The front desk can use a touch of your good working spirits.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

pool was nice

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was clean and had comforts of home.. Doors did not give privacy, every noise could be heard even from the bathroom. Do not eat at the 361 resturante. A lot of money for the quality of food. It's kind of far to eat out. Bring your own.