Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nigel & Angel from London

Lovely stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a lovely stay at the hotel on the site Jean Michelle looked after us very well and explained everything even about driving and where to eat , only complaint was that we booked a balcony room and didn't get one and couldn't be transferred as there is only 2 rooms with balconies and both were taken , otherwise a lovely stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Declan from West Midlands, UK

Great holiday for any family with children

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: The swimming pools and safe location for children to wander freely
Cons: Onsite shop can be expensive but you pay for convienience
Location: Nice location convenient for Mont St Michel and St Malo
After reading a number of less than complimentary reviews we were a little concerned about what we would find at Les Ormes but I have to say we were very pleased. It is true the apartment is a self catering unit rather than a hotel room as you may belief when booking but that said it was neat, tidy and had most of what you would expect (shower, toilet, kitchen area, bedroom and sofa bed) It did not a couple of items you may have expected such as a microwave and tea towels. You have full access to all of the activities (some cost extra) and swimming pools on site and the restaurant in the hotel is very good. Food for breakfast etc is readily available by buying from the shop onsite or doing a cheaper big shop in the nearby Super U in Dol de Bretagne. All in all decent accommodation in a site that has lots of activities and interesting places to visit around the area. One note that seems to have caused contention - You have to agree to clean your apartment properly at the end of your stay (brushes and mops provided) or pay 60 Euros for housekeeping to do it. Finally there is a 1 Euro per day per adult charge for local taxes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Travelers Haven

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
We booked in for only one night as we travelled up the West coast of France. We wish we had the time to stay longer. The hotel was lovely and the facilities available were excellent. Our only slight critisism was that the room was quite croded although we had asked for the provision to sleep 3 and there did not seem to be any control over the air conditioning which meant the room was quite warm for our likeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy

short stay

Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
stayed for 3nts the hotel is ideal for enjoying the facilities at des ormes, rooms are basic but clean, breakfast is continental but worth the 12 euro, did not eat in the restaraunt but prices were good for this standard of hotel,i would recomend this hotel for a short stay and the resort is good,
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff

What a disappointment!

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were looking forward to this stay and therefore agreed on the 1 bedroom apartment to be sure that we would have ample space for our 2 night stay. Boy were we disappointed. The apartments are apparently not part of the hotel so we were greeted to rooms that were not even made up, trash from a previous guest left out in front of the unit, and a list of rules a mile long for what we had to do to clean up our mess before we left. This was their "apartment / hotel" service! We do everything for them. Also, the picture that they show you of the charming chateaux is all very nice but it has nothing to do with the hotel. It is in fact, private and you cannot go anywhere near it. When we asked them they said that it "inspires the ambiance of their hotel". What a joke. The final disappointment was the trash that was outside our room stayed their the entire duration of our stay. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. Go into Dol-de-Bretagne. There are much better choices there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

misleading picture

Posted Jun 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
The picture shown is not the hotel, but a private residence closed to the public, I guest a hotel looking like an upscale best western may not attract as much client, I will not stay at this place again
2 out of 5
by Lorraine from Brampton, On

Bad experience

Posted May 20, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Very Beautiful countryside
Very disappointed, I try very hard to be open minded, but could never recommend this hotel. We arrived mid afternoon and when we went tom our room the hallway was in darkness, we had to find our room by the light of cell phones. The room was musty and the bathroom very smelly.... We reported the lights to the front desk, but they didn't seem concerned the the light were not fixed. Beds were like sleeping on a board. We went to the restaurant later in the evening to see if we could get dessert and were refused... They grudgingly gave us hot water for tea and a bucket of ice in a dirty container... Thankfully it was not for drinks.. Would never go back. Was very disappointed..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Domaine des Ormes

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were really pleased with the choice we made - it was outside our original search area but we were glad we made the effort hired a car and went - hotel, and all its surroundings , chalets and caravans looked lovely and we will definately be back next year but hopefully for a longer stay - my children raved about it - they kept looking at the lake with the fish and thought it was fab to stay in what they called " a tree house" - thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

do not expect a hotel!

Posted Sep 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
It is not a hotel but an apartment, so bring your own soap! You get to have fun at the resort, but you must do the cleaning up yourself. i was really surprised that upon arrival i was told to give up my credit card number as a deposit and sign that I would be charged for a dirty room or anything damaged. I was offered either to do the cleaning (including sheets, trash, etc, to make the room as upon arrival) or pay an additional fee for maid service. This might make sense for a long stay but on hotels.com you only get one night! If you are used to youth hostels and camping it would be fine but otherwise be prepared to tidy up, and quickly! Also note that hotels.com indicated a check out time of 12 PM, but upon arrival I was told it was actually 10 AM. The resort itself seemed very nice, which is why the high ratings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Great place to stay but not good internet service

Posted Jun 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
Wonderful Hotel with great recreational facilities. Very helpful staff and really comfortable accommodation BUT very bad internet service. Complicated to log on, continuously dropped out and only available in the public areas - I think so you brought either drinks or food when on the internet. If you need internet then drive to McDonalds it was faster then mucking around with their system and 100% reliable