Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

How could this be rated a 4.3? Awful.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location was central and close to the tram line.
Cons: Room cleanliness generally, with bathroom upgrade essential.
Chose this hotel based on a positive rating. Who rated this hotel? Other than a good location, everything was sub-standard. The rooms were in a desperate need of an upgrade, the bathroom (always a good indicator of a decent hotel) was small and dingy, and breakfast was large enough but of mostly poor quality produce. I understand that this is a 3 star hotel, but expected more especially given the reviews from prior guests. Personally, I would not stay again - there must be better value in Sultanahmet somewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was smelly staff ware rude.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Not a good experience at this hotel.i was trying to stay out as long as can and return to the hotel at late night just to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo, Ohio. USA

Cozy hotel close to Plaka and Acropolis

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: Location is excellent for a tourist. Roadside shops and eateries in Plaka area are very good and within walking distance.
Pros: Location-walking distance of Plaka shops, and historical monuments. View-Excellent view of Acropolis from some rooms Attitude of staff-very pleasing, prompt and co-operative. Room service very prompt WiFi connection very good. Cons: Restaurant has quite limited menu. Breakfast (the one that is included in room rate) as adequate but very plain. Choice of breads, cereals very limited. Same menu for the three days we stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location for a tourist

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness , the breakfast
Cons: The cafeteria service after 10.30 AM
Location: All touristic sites are to great degree in walkable distance. access to transport is good as well.
I booked a double room. first floor. was clean and comfortable. The best part is the start of the day by having the breakfast in the top floor hotel's cafeteria, the spectacular view and good food served. I have to say that I wish their service is as good after 10.30 when the breakfast time finishes. because for the rest of the day when you would like to sit in there, you are allowed, but no much service in terms of food and drinks options available. anyway.. the staff was good generally. I'm happy i chose this hotel over other 5 star ones, because stars for the hotels in Turkey do not correlate really withe best hotel service
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Rast istanbul

Posted Aug 31, 2014
I just got back 3 days ago . Based on reviews i chose Rast hotel . But it was very disappointing and i had to switch hotel the next day . Room was OLD , beds didnt have cover sheets only coverups , tv on the wall as big as my laptop , couldnt find the key to turn on the lights , were hidden behind the headboards. carpets old , overall not my cup of tea
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Sultanamet Istanbul Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Great location; but facilities are very tired. The entire hotel interior from the lobby, the stairway, the elevator area on each floor is poorly lighted; lights are motion activated and the bulbs are compact fluorescents which means they need time to warm up...and even then the hotel is plagued by burnt bulbs and darkness. Spectacular view from 6th floor terrace for breakfast...Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, are visual highlights. Breakfasts was decent. There are 5 floors of rooms; 6 rooms on each floor. We found our room cozy in terms of space, but not much of an issue since we were always out. But the bathroom was very, very tight. Shower stall was extremely tight and I found it confining; I am 5'8; 155 pounds. If you are taller or larger you might have more of an issue. The main asset of hotel is the excellent, excellent location. Literally steps to the tram line; out the door, 10 metres and you're at the tramline. In middle between tram stops; 1 min walking to either stop. Also minutes to all major historical sites; Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar etc. Many restaurants outside. Istanbul taxi have a bad reputation for not knowing directions or milking tourists(take your pick) Taxi from airport had trouble finding this place. Several other times taxis we took had problem finding hotel from other areas... Our solution was to tell the taxi drivers to take us to the Cemberlita Hamam and walk the apprx 100 metres to the hotel. Staff were very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Nice view. Good price. Extremely rude staff like the rest of people in Istanbul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Great location in the old town. The view from the terrace was amazing. We enjoyed eating breakfast there and looking out every morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas,USA

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Excellent location,terrible rooms condition!
Cons: They need majer renovation inside rooms.
We did stay at this hotel for 5days and i think location was excelent but the hotel need majer renovation in their rooms.do not let nice pictures fool you those pic are from top floor where is the restaurant located not inside the rooms! TV inside the room is about 11inch,shower and restroom was very very small even for my 11 years old son,carpet inside the room was very very dirty,bed cover sheet was very old and stinky,inside room was very dark i guess because walls and curtains were dark color. Istanbul is city of hotels and i think you could get much better hotel at same or lower price with better room condition!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

View

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Located in sultanahmet close to trams hagia sofia blue mosque topkapi palace etc.