Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Tattered rooms, "out" of promised amenities

Posted Jun 10, 2015
One of the worst hotel experiences we've ever had. Our family stayed here for a few nights while relocating, and we really wish we'd gone to a Staybridge instead. They were "out" of stuff that was supposed to be included. E.g., no pots and pans for the kitchen. Breakfast—which I assumed would be the hot breakfast that you get at Holiday Inn, Staybridge, etc.—was actually pre-packaged muffins and apples and granola bars... and they often ran out, even during breakfast hours. Lastly, since this is the kind of place that caters to relocating families, we assumed they'd have cribs available... but in fact did not (and staff seemed to think it was odd that we expected this). Lastly, this particular location is near the Oakland airport, so there's quite a bit of jet noise. Our kids loved watching the planes takeoff from our window and I don't mind jet noise... but if this stuff bothers you, it's another negative. In contrast, our experiences at Staybridge have been *awesome*. It's a little more expensive, but everything promised is delivered, the rooms feel fresh and well-maintained, and the hot-breakfast is really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that our amenities were not up to standard. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have placed an order for more dishware to ensure your experience is not repeated. We will also work to make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities during check-in. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelled like cigarette smoke

Posted May 14, 2015
The hotel smelled like cigarettes especially the room wouldn't stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I am so disappointed that you experienced smoke odors. Please accept my apology. To uphold our company's high standards, my staff and I will make sure all rooms are smoke free moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui,Hawaii

My home away from home

Posted May 2, 2015
I stayed for 3 nights and 4 days for a med conference ..it's been a very good experience for me to see a 3 star hotel with such a very good service better than a 4 star hotels around california.Very accessible to every thing...shops ,airport, ferry,shopping malls and rec.parks....I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our hotel was very accessible to everything and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our hotel was very accessible to everything and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Located in quiet business park

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: It felt safe, was quiet, and clean.
Cons: Clerk should offer kitchen packages at sign in.
Location: It is a business park - close to the Bay, to the Oakland International airport and rental car return, and to east Oakland.
Room has small kitchen (be sure to ask for dishes package, free). No frills but comfortable and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that our front desk staff forgot to offer you our dishware package at the time of your check-in. Still, we are glad you enjoyed the quietness of our hotel and had a comfortable stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mario Alberto from Mexico DF

Sin shuttle

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Esta todo bien, pero, el hotel No esta tan cerca del aeropuerto como creí, y no tiene shuttle, asi que de cualquier modo, tuve que pagar taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice building but cheap construction

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Cheaper than most properties near airport.
Cons: Sound-proofing between floors
Location: Very little except bus stop - no amusement, restaurants or theaters; property is close to Oakland Airport
Facility is very well kept but cheaply constructed (e.g. if you are not on the top floor (which is designated as smoking floor) you'll hear every footstep taken in the room above you). This was the case during half of my stay and my schedule did not align with person above me staying up until 200 AM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our hotel price, our accounting department is really looking at how we make our pricing fair for everyone; however, we apologize for the sounds that you can hear when people are walking above your room or into the lobby. To uphold our company's high standards, we will forward your concerns to our corporate office about our building. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MICHELLE from Sacramento, CA

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
What a pleasant surprise! The kitchenette was so awesome...and we've never stayed in a hotel that provided dishes, dish rack, cups, silverware, etc. That was super helpful. Very comfortable. Front desk very friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Michelle - I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm so pleased to hear that your hotel experience was a pleasant surprise. I am happy to know that our staff was very friendly and helpful during your stay. I'm also extremely happy to hear that you received so much joy from our fully equipped kitchens. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed here because I was in town working and this was the only thing available. It is your basic, nothing special or great hotel room with a lumpy mattress and old furniture. At least there was a kitchenette to cook in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased your quiet, clean, and comfortable room. I am also glad to read that our staff was friendly and helpful in providing you with directions. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Cons: It is be better of the hotel continental breakfast could provide milk
I stayed two nights in the hotel. Hotel stall were nice and professional. They friendly provided me with the direction of Alameda. It is quite and clean.I felt comfortable during the stay. I would stay in the same hotel if I stop by the same area in future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review about our staff, we do really appreciate it. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the service that our hotel provided and thank you in advance for staying again in our hotel in the future. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Krizten from Oakland

Surprisingly big room for the cost!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
I think smart positioning was the key to maximizing every square inch which made for a very large and clean room! Kitchen had everything needed (and for everything it didn't you just call the front desk). Great experience with the front desk. Had a very relaxing time! Next time again!!