Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Pedro from Miami

FAR AWAY HOTEL

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: the room and the shower
Cons: the internet the ad about the hotel should indicate the distance to Cordoba and also that there is no elevator
Unfortunately the ad for the hotel does not mention that it is located 35 miles (48 km) from Cordoba. Other than that, the hotel is fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kate from London

Something a little different to the norm

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Quirky decoration and grounds, different to anywhere we have stayed before
Cons: Information on arrival, i.e. WIFI password, details of breakfast/restaurant
Location: There are some sights nearby and Cordoba is ~40 min drive and Seville ~1 hour drive
We really liked the hotel. You could park for free on all the side roads surrounding the hotel so it is perfect if you are on a driving tour round Andalusia. The decoration is quirky and the place grounds are beautiful. The hotel is a good place to stop off between Cordoba and Seville. We visited in late September and found the actual town it is in, Palma del Rio (approx. 40 min drive to Cordoba) is a quite little town, mainly with local people who don't speak English. There were plenty of good cafes and bars near by and we managed to muddle our way through with virtually no Spanish language skills. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were very quite, and far more expensive than the local places, so we avoided them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Monastery Retreat but Still silent order.

Posted Oct 29, 2012
The hotel was fine. They let themselves down in 2 ways. They told me about their secure parking but didn't tell me it cost 10 euros a day. The food was ok but very salty and not up to the promised levels. Nice place though. Lots of ringing bells on a Saturday night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Paul & Myriam

Wonderful historic building

Posted Oct 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
The magnificence of the building easily blinds one to its defects as a modern hotel. The maintenance was a concern, as the bath shower didn't function correctly, and the main shower was less than 6 feet high, and required you get wet and cold before adjusting the taps (non-mixer). Also the headboard was not fixed and banged against the wall every time you moved in the night.having said that, it was a great building and a good location. Parking was €10 extra, and they were on a skeleton staff with only 1 receptionist, and one waiter at dinner coping with about 20 people. He did a great job and the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by W Foults

Rural Parador

Posted Jun 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
An interesting experience, great for one night possibly. Not much to see in the city. An hour from Cordoba. Much construction going on through the grounds. Pool was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Under stated

Posted Oct 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
A step back in time! Comfortable, clean and "The real Spain" designed with restraint and simplicity. Very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

pleasant surprise

Posted Oct 18, 2011
Unexpected, relaxed accommodation, LOTS OF ROOM FOR LUGGAGE, quiet, food in the refectory good,helpful with car parking which is quite secure. We did not realise the hotel was 50km from Cordoba that was not a big problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Belmont, Massachusetts

Historic Interest but In Transition

Posted Mar 25, 2011
Located in the market town of Palma del Rio, the hotel is housed in a wonderful old Franciscan monastery, with large rooms, wide staircases, and spacious public spaces, and has a large garden and outdoor pool in the grounds behind it. It has 'good bones' and will make a wonderful lodging when the renovations currently ongoing are finished. They are upgrading the facility to qualify for the Spanish four-star hotel category. This unfortunately marred our stay: the bar was not functioning and an evening meal was by special request only, so it really was operating as a bed and breakfast (not included in the room charge). Breakfast was an ample buffet, however, served in what had been the monastery refectory--a grand space. It is useful also to know Palma del Rio lies an hour's drive from Cordoba, which was the focus of our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from ATLANTA, GA

Inexpensive romantic/historic satying near Cordoba

Posted Jun 20, 2010 on Hotels.com
Excellent and romantic hotel. A lot of great Character. After seeing Cordoba for the day we were headed south towards Sevilla and stayed at this great romantic hotel. Excellent choice if you have a rental car. It is better than all three star hotels and maybe even better than some 4 star hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Authentic, good location in the town

Posted May 13, 2010 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with real charm. Clean rooms. Not modern but authentic to the monastery. Great court yards. friendly reception.