Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great reception, but we hoped for a better room

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Close to Le Marais area Short walk to restaurants. On a quiet side street.
Cons: Bathroom needs updating. Room and hallways could have a good paint job.
Location: A central location but not too touristy. Markets nearby in rue de bretagne are interesting.
I been coming to Paris for 10 times in the past 15 years, mostly staying close to the Paris 3eme. Hotel du Vieux Saule reception and cafe areas on levels 0 and -1, looked fantastic with artistic flair, but our room and interiors did not live up to the same standard. The hotel was a good walk to any Metro stations and you should ask for shuttle bus if travelling to airports. Our room was slightly smaller than average room in Paris. We both had same complaints with the bathroom, (1) No way of having a stand-up shower (ie attachment on the wall for the shower head) (2) No towel rails for drying towels or clothes. Our room also had a broken window and the air conditioning was noisy, struggling to keep the room cool. The staff of the hotel are very nice and helpful. The buffet breakfast was worth the extra euros.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shoebox hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very tiny rooms compared to other hotels In Paris in the Marais area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from Maine

A good location and very helpful staff.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location and staff. We are old and handicapped, but it met our needs.
Location: There's a nice cafe around the corner and a good mixed market almost across the street. A few blocks away is a pleasant park.
The room is small - just marginally fitting the two-twin-sized bed we had requested. The shower stall is also very small and the elevator really best for a single passenger. BUT - the room was kept clean and neat, a fairly good breakfast is available for a reasonable price and the staff at the desk is extremely helpful. Even with our limitated mobility, there were many interesting things to see and do within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: The hotel is on a very narrow street just wide enough for one vehicle. It's very difficult to have a taxi wait to pick up or drop off.
The staff are very helpful and the hotel is conveniently located to restaurants, the Metro and many, many shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Phil G from London, UK

Nice but not perfect

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a great location, surrounded by lots of places to eat, drink and shop, and it's smart and in good condition. Some of that smartness feels only surface-deep however: the bath with shower attachment had no shower curtain/screen so every shower covered the bathroom with water; the plug didn't fit the sink; the (very shallow) sink's overflow hole leaked water onto the bathroom floor. I was also a bit annoyed to discover that the breakfasts cost extra, which I hadn't realised, and wasn't made obvious to me. That was an expensive croissant! However, otherwise: great location, smart room, helpful if perfunctory service, quiet, and comfortable - I slept really well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pam from Perth

Perfect location

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gets high marks for being clean and comfortable but best of all it is located just off the food strip in Rue du Bretagne. Also a short walk from the Seine and sights of Paris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Matt from Charleston, SC

Very European, very convenient

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you do not know how the Europeans live and think about urban spaces, the title will mean little. The 'lift,' or 'elevator' as Americans would call it, is small enough that one person and their large suitcase can fit. The spiral staircase can be negotiated by stronger and well-coordinated individuals with suitcases, but is not recommended for elderly folks or young children. Secondly, we were 'upgraded' to our room, but sadly I do not remember what I originally booked and I did not ask to see it, either, so I cannot comment on the more 'pedestrian' rooms. I will say that I doubt there was much difference in any of the rooms. The room was no bigger than it had to be and there was enough room for two large suitcases, two adults, a closet, and a desk/bar area. Comfortable, but not luxurious, and not spacious like a typical American hotel room. The bath was typical European - small, efficient, and utilitarian. The hotel staff spoke working English and were pleasant and helpful if you wanted to attempt French. If you are willing to embrace European culture, take the stairs, walk a few city blocks (or more), utilize public transit, and are looking for a quiet, residential-type neighborhood that is near and convenient to much of the touristy areas of Paris, this is the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MutleySteve from Chandler's Ford

Small but Good

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is well situated with shops, restaurants and several metro stops close by. The rooms (and lift) are very small but adequate. My only complaint would be that I requested a non-smoking room, however, the room I was given smelt of stale smoke. I would happily stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the money...

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Nice location, lobby was beautiful, staff was helpful and polite, rooms were clean but very small, bed/pillows were so so, t.v only had one English channel, WiFi was fast, breakfast was a let down for the cost....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Soundproofing.
Location: Nice restaurants and bars close by.
Room was too small but it was reasonably comfortable. The only problem was being awoken by people talking next door first thing.