Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by L from Dominican Republic

Nice hotel, clean but not for families

Posted Apr 10, 2014
We really did enjoy our stay at this resort, the rooms were beyond amazing for DR standards, and the food was very good as well. However, the night life at the resort is too loud for children and even trying to get them asleep in your room is difficult because of the resort music that doesn't get turned off until 11 p.m.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Maryland

Great Place.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Relaxation. The entertainment staff was off the hook!!! Games(adult), workouts, etc.
Cons: With the all inclusive..serving size could be improved..like maybe "Red Solo" size. Great bartenders pretty much make anything you want.
Location: We did the Safari. It was a great way to explore the country. Visited school, ate sugar cane, boogie boarded and more.
Great pool & swim up pool bar. Food was pleasing. Def make resv. at the three on site restaurants, food is better than buffet. All in all great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok Stay

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: How clean everything was.
Cons: The beds, my daughters said theirs weren't real comfortable either.
Location: The location was really nice because it was a short ride from the airport. It is located right on a beautiful beach.
The set up of the hotel was nice. The food in the buffet area was always good. The food at the restaurants were ok. The staff were very friendly. Everything was very clean. The bed we had was the WORST bed I have ever slept on. It was so hard I actually had two bruises one on each side of my hips just below the hip bone at the top of my leg. Both bruises were about 3 inches in diameter. We asked to change rooms but were told there were none available unless we wanted to upgrade for $58.00 a night. We asked if they would take $40.00 a night because we thought $58 was ridiculous, but was told $58 or no can do. We stayed in the room we had. It isn't like you are in the room a lot and $58 more a night was not worth it. My body might have thought it would of been though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from New Jersey

Recent Trip w/ Friends for 30th B-day Celebration

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Location: Location was in Playa Dorada complex - wasn't a whole lot to do outside the area, you can ask for taxi service to bring you to a few outside places
Hotel was overall good and would reccomend to people. Staff was friendly, courteous and entertaining every day we were there. The only thing we were upset with was all but one night was booked for the 3 specialty restaurants - we did not get to enjoy 2 out of 3 of them because of this - I feel that is mis-informing people that book the trip because it states these restaurants are available to eat at but then when you get there they are all booked! What are you paying for then? Pool was nice, swimup bar fun, beach was a 2 minute walk. Rooms were clean and comfy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, close to beach. Pool was really nice.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
The vendors on the beach were very annoying. They would come up to you so many times asking if you wanted to buy anything when clearly I was in a conversation with someone or just trying to relax. Other than that the pool and beach were really nice. The food was alright but that's just what you get at an all inclusive. The excursions are great too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lor from Wisconsin

Excellente'

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff! And the convenience of everything.
Cons: The smell of the towels.
Location: Location was nice & the beach was always well groomed and perfect for walks. One walk we found the little market for shopping had fun with the locals.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Some went above and beyond their duties! Clean hotel. Always some kind of activities going on. Entertainment was fun to watch. Beach was very nice!! Can't wait to go back next year!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from new york

Many things to do

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The beach, the openness of resort and the activities
Cons: The foods , the service ,and and the room should have mirror and a dresser.
Location: Golf course,flea market,and the beach
My family and I stay at vh hotel for 5 days. We had a fantastic time .many things to do during the days at the beach or out side of the resort. Party at night with live band every night dancing,mingling, and watching the stars. We can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by Mark from New York, NY

Standard All-Inclusive Hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Staff were very friendly
Cons: The food quality, better chair selection and/or management at the quiet pool.
Location: Playa Dorada resorts and shopping center
The Gran Ventana hotel is everything that you would expect of an all-inclusive in this price range. The main pool is nice, even if small and crowded, but is nicely supplemented by the "quiet" pool. The lounge chair situation at the pool is frustrating at times (you have to reserve one before 8 AM to get a good chair, especially at the quiet pool). That all being said, the resort offers nice amenities, even the shows in the evenings can be somewhat entertaining. However, the biggest gripe with this resort is the food. The buffet does not offer a consistent variety of quality food and is tough to eat at the end of the week. The a la carte restaurants offer better food, but you are limited to 3 visits a week and the atmosphere is lacking. Ensure that you have everything needed as all items (extra sunscreen, aloe, etc.) are all very expensive at both the resort shops and the shopping center (nearby).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DC from Boston, MA

Great 3.5/4 star resort on the beach, great staff!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Octopus and Italian a-la carte's, swim up bar and the friendliness of staff
Cons: Adding more variety to the buffet, adding a couple of more a-la carte options or allowing more than 1 reservation per week for them.
Location: Extreme Mega Adventure and City Tour excursions, Brugal factory (cheap bottles), Mount Isabel
My wife and I stayed at Gran Ventana 3/13-3/20 along with another couple. We were very impressed with the check in process to start off. We arrived around 2pm and we're immediately given cool towels and a welcome frozen drink. After a few minutes the resort representative came back with our all-inclusive wrist bands and room keys as well as a pre-made reservation on our behalf for one of the 3 ala carte restaurants. We were in a junior suite which was spacious, clean and had a large balcony with a partial ocean view. The stocked mini bar was a nice touch with a Pepsi,7-up,bottled water and 2 beers which they re-stocked each day. The buffets were pretty good, didn't change much but hit the spot. I would recommend the egg station where they will make you and omelet with whatever you want In it ( they have stuff there but you can bring pretty much anything from the buffet and they will add it in). They also have a fresh smoothie station that was a great morning treat. The a-la carte restaurants were above Average, with the Italian and Octopus being the better of the 3. The pool can get pretty crowded but for the most part if you want a chair you can find one, possibly with the exception of Saturdays which is a big day for check ins. The beach itself was great, there are some huts for use but you have to get there very early to claim them. The other thing that can become a bit annoying are the vendors, but a simple no thanks is all thats required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from RI

Lovely inclusive resort with great beach

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Everything: buildings, room, beach, food, etc.
Everything was wonderful. Food delicious everyday with variety of choices. Easy reservations for all three restaurants and manager's dinner. Very pleasant staff. Still can't believe all the beautiful open areas inside the buildings. Spent almost everyday at the beach (need to getup at 5am to put out beach towels to reserve chairs under shade). Vendors not a problem, easy to ignore. Drinks available from 10 am to 2am but did not see many over indulging. Entertainment was fun, almost to the level of Carnival cruises. Expeditions were easy to arrange with Expedia person who was always making sure we were comfortable. Highly recommend city tour and countryside tour. First time ever on a boogie board and on a horse in a long time.