Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Romantic Getaway

Posted May 29, 2014
Perfect if you are planning a low key romantic getaway. Staff is extremely helpful and professional. Resort is quiet, food is good, rooms are spacious. It was perfect for the kind of trip we had planned!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark

Very different all-inclusive experience.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The staff are great, the restaurant system is great (not a buffet) and the food was generally good to very good.
Cons: Fewer mosquitos?
Location: We did not leave the facility, it appears there is nothing nearby.
My wife and I have visited the Dominican Republic many times, this was our first time in this hotel and we loved it. Many reviewers noted that it is a good location for couples and I couldn't agree more, our kids would have been at a loss... I read many revues that were somewhat critical of the food, we did not have that experience at all. We were at the hotel for 4 days and enjoyed every meal. The breakfast is exceptionally good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mare from miami

Super ecologist , very nice Litter Mosquitos

Posted May 8, 2014
The services were great The waitress was the best thing. We celebrates our 20 anniversary and we couldn't choose any better The only issue was the music, it is not bad , it was not what we were expecting ( Dominican music).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fuzzcheeks from New Yrok City

A Cut Above the Usual All-Inclusive Experience

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms Quiet evenings Food preparation (appealing, if not gourmet quality)
Cons: Restaurant service Included wines were not "premium" as advertised An additional Asian-style restaurant would enhance the dining experience
Location: Trips to related resorts were available (at extra cost) Areas adjacent to the resort were underdeveloped
Zoetry is a boutique hotel, with emphasis on relaxation and quiet evenings. It is well-suited to those who want a more introspective getaway. There are no nightly shows, so you can concentrate of the wind, waves, and local wildlife. The food is generally well-prepared and is served in a restaurant format, a distinct improvement over crowded buffets offered at other resorts. Dining service is uneven, and varies from poor to adequate. However, you do not need an advance reservation. The resort capacity is low, so you can find a good measure of privacy. The beach area is relatively small and you may have to search for unoccupied lounge chairs. Furthermore, there were large rocks just offshore in some areas, which could result in cuts and bruises if you are not careful. Nevertheless, the daily BBQ at the beach was a highlight of the trip, serving delicious steaks and seafood. Rooms were large, well-appointed, and included huge balconies with comfortable seating. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and can recommend the resort for those seeking a more refined, less hectic environment. For those looking for a less expensive, but similar experience, you may want to investigate the neighboring Sivory complex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Boston

Nice Hotel, Close to beach, not crowded, poor food

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Quite
Cons: Food
Great location, great staff, but the food needs improving. Ordered a lobster pasta dish and the "lobster" was actually fish. I work in the shellfish industry so I know!
2 out of 5
by IGW from NYC

disappointing

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Location: staff must be better trained
terrible food service not quite there provide me twice the same dishes not 5 stars hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds and accommodating staff!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Our room was spacious and clean...the location, of our room, couldn't have been better. Beautiful grounds...nice beach. Quiet and relaxing
Cons: Better food and non smoking restaurants if you want to stress health and wellness.
Location: We didn't leave the grounds.
While the grounds are beautiful and well kept, the staff extremely accommodating, we were disappointed in the food. Four restaurants...only two open each night with the menus very similar. This resort stresses wellness but guests were smoking in the restaurants and nothing was said. It was very offensive. Also, on their website it said long pants, for men, were required in the restaurants which was not the case at all. Most men were wearing shorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Asheville, NC

Quiet and Relaxing

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Quite, relaxing, tasteful. No loud DJ's, no jet skis,etc. A fairly sophisticated International clientele visits here. Children are allowed however.
Cons: We didn't find anything we didn't like but by nature we're not compainers about minor things.
Location: Very little to do nearby. If you want a quiet Caribbean retreat in Paradise this is for you.
This was our first time at Zoetry Agua but it won't be our last. The resort has recently doubled in size but is still small by comparison to most other resorts in DR. The suites are large, quiet and private. The grounds are beautifly cared for. Room service is fast and efficient. We stayed in the older section but found it to be very nice with a lot of character. We travel extensively in the Caribbean, usually 3 trips per winter to both all inclusive and non inclusive resorts. We thought the food was exceptionally good provided you like fresh vegetables and fish entrees prepared in a healthy style. They had a low census when we were there so only 2 of the 4 restaurants were open on a particular night. Their alcoholic beverages were of higher quality than is served by most all inclusives. A word about the restaurant service, 1)realize you're not in the USA, things are slower here, savor the experience, 2)learn to speak some Spanish when ordering, if not, point to the item on the menu, otherwise sometimes you may not get what you ordered.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by eric from boston

Dramatically overpriced

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is lovely, the grounds beautiful, but the room, food and service were sorely lacking by any reasonable standard. Short list of issues: 1) Room. Decent size and nicely decorated, but there were large gaps in the door to the balcony, and all along the top edge of the roof. Hence, the air conditioner struggled to cool room and mosquitos were a problem. Two mornings, showers were just tepid. 2) Food: comically poor service, the sort that would get one fired from a Denny's, (when we were not attended by Danny M, who was competent). Multiple people taking orders, getting the orders wrong, not being given napkins, items ordered that never came, etc., almost every meal in all sorts for ways, and we saw the same happening to others. We got a very dirty glass, twice. It was hard to get a Perrier or San Pellegrino - one had to drink the national version of sparkling water (not good). Breakfasts: lame assortment of basic fruits. Pre-formed frozen hash-browns? Really? For lunch and dinner, there are decent dishes, but the menus are small and unchanging. 3) On the day of our checkout, we were expecting our laundry back, which we had sent out the morning the day before. The entire basket was then returned still unwashed with a note that one piece of clothes was stained, and they wanted further direction. Later, we realized that several pairs of my underwear, and one pair of pants each for my wife and son were missing.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by WorldTraveler from USA

Such a disappointment - a 3 star resort at best

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm not going to write a long and boring review. All I will say is my wife and I stayed at this resort for 8 nights. We expected a five star resort considering their rating, what we got was a 3 star AT BEST. The food is terrible, as in same bad food (never mind same menu EVERY DAY) in all 3 restaurants (of which only 2 are open for dinner). Look at recent negative trip advisor reviews, ALL TRUE. The service is spotty at best (good luck getting a drink on the beach, although there was one person walking around in the last couple of days of our stay offering drinks). Otherwise hotel grounds were nice, pretty good/clean beach (except high underwater currents so be careful with kids!!!). SPA was ok (although none of the jaccuzzi's worked). I will not stay here again, nor will I recommend it to anyone. Save your money, go somewhere else.