Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good value.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The price was excellent, especially since it included a nice buffet breakfast.
Cons: The buildings are old - but it appears they are being reconstructed. The paint work in our bathroom was poorly done with splashes of paint all over.
Location: We stayed there to visit Duke. It is not the best choice hotel for that activity.
The motel was a little difficult for us to find, located behind a Motel 6 and a gas station. It is an older property, but there was renovation and reconstruction work going on while we were there. The lobby, pool, and dining area are all very nice. Our room was clean, comfortable but had a strange smell (maybe from cleaning chemicals to hide the smell of cigarette smoke?) The desk staff were very nice and seem to be working hard to make visitors' stay as comfortable as possible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and falling apart

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Renovations going on, but place is in shambles . Two shirtless contractors working on the roof edge isn't going to save this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Clean, Staff was very accommodating. Continental breakfast was very varied with a lot of choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were wonderful.
The first room we got was under construction. The second room had a sink and tub that wouldn't drain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Needs Renovation

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The self-serve breakfast bar had a good selection. One working ice machine was on the second floor but far across the property nearer the office.
Cons: Rm 130 bathroom needs renovation: BR door wouldn't shut; the shower curtain was moldy; the shower diverter was barely adjustable & loose in the wall.
Location: Near shopping, auto parts store, service station and restaurants; near I-85
One night stay in a ground floor room facing the pool. A recent rainfall left the sidewalks muddy with dirt from the flower beds and slippery. There was an exposed rebar tip near the sidewalk. This is a bleak property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Old and Tired

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Med Center and DT Durham
Cons: Property needs to be refurbished.
This property is old and tired! I really don't have anything against old and tired as I feel that way some days. The issue with this room was the damp feeling and the musky odor which was a result of a sleeper sofa placed right beside the ac. The sofa was secured to the floor and could not be moved. The air flow was blocked and the sofa was damp. Neither I nor my wife would put anything on it much less sit or sleep on it. Other than the poor condition. Of the room we found it to be ok. The property is close to Duke Medical and the VA. We would not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Motel Ever

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: It had a room available.
Cons: Just about everything required improvement.
Location: Not too far from Duke University and a Waffle House is nearby.
The staff was nice. The price was outrageous, the AC barely worked, the microwave didn't work, the shower was little more than a bucket with holes in it, three towels for four guests, one coffee packet for four guests. I requested a new microwave, but the replacement would spontaneously beep so I had to unplug it. The shower oscillated between scalding and frigid every few seconds - it did this every time we used it. The free breakfast was not worth considering. The bed was comfortable and the TV was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

very nice hotel for the price

Posted May 8, 2015
The hotel has good size room, clean, comfortable beds, sink outside bathroom for convenience, also has a microwave and a working refrigerator, which usually not available in other similar hotels, plus the free breakfast, I think a very good deal, pleasant stay. will come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very outdated/poor condition

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Good TV's in room. Convenient to the interstate.!!!!!! Thats it.!!
Cons: I could not even begin to list all the improvements that need to be made........Way to many.
Location: close to Duke University East Campus
these rooms are very outdated. Major water stains on the ceilings....i have stay 3 times and 2 of those times there were no microwave or refrigerator in the the rooms. The last time I stayed I mentioned it to the front desk person and was told ....ALL ROOMS HAVE this amenity. They need to double check this out!!! Don't advertise what you DON'T have.!!!! The toilet lid and seat did match and did not fit the commode size.