Ratings based on 749 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Oh the noise, noise, noise, noise!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
The location was great, right on the Boardwalk. The air conditioning unit did not work well. It did not cool the room until the second day of our stay. It's speed would not vary no matter what button we pushed. The unit was exceedingly noisy. We could not sit on the deck because of the noise. We could not hear the tv because of the noise. It had a deleterious effect on our stay. Also, the refrigerator did not work well. Our beverages were barely cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Helpful staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014
We stayed two nights the week after labor day and enjoyed our stay. There is bike rental shop just down the boardwalk and we rented bikes one afternoon and rode north into Cape Henlopen park. The park has a beautiful new bike path that runs right through salt marshes with a number of wading birds. The path includes a long well-constructed bridge. The Henlopen Hotel is very convenient to this kind of bike excursion. On the last day of our stay we had to check out of the hotel at 11:00, but the staff allowed us to leave our car in their parking area the rest of the day so we could enjoy one more time at the beach. They have a restroom with showers and fresh towels behind the front desk that they allowed us to use before driving home, so that was a plus. They also let me use their computer to check emails.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Lovely Location. Loud, noisy air conditioner

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Great, helpful staff.
Cons: Put some $ into the upkeep of the place.
Location: close to beach and GREAT toy/kite store! Kids loved that.
Staff was really warm & helpful. Building is very shabby, with extremely poorly working facility. We will stay elsewhere in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of maintenance

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Confusing on room. We expected full ocean view, but ocean was only visible when on balcony. Room and bathroom were small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Nice hotel with a location that can't be beat!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: the location and view from the balcony were fantastic!
Cons: nothing needed to be improved!
Location: *Stingray was great for sushi! *We took the trolley to Dewey to see live music @ bottle & cork. Drinks @ Green Turtle overlooking boardwalk
My girlfriend and I checked in and were upgraded to a room with an ocean view and king size bed. The folks behind the desk were very accommodating and helpful in giving suggestions of where to eat and fun places to check out. They always wanted our feedback on how our night and where we went...and we were happy to oblige! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I would come back for another stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location, why not go world-class!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Overall condition of the hotel. Better if the hotel were enhanced, recognizng the potential of the area. At the least, the Wi-Fi needs to work.
Location: See my earlier comments.
Rehoboth Beach is a wonderful location. The Henlopen Hotel sits at the north end of the boardwalk, too. In front of the hotel is a nice park and small lake/pond. The hotel is on the beach. The area is family-friendly. The nearby streets are home to numerous recently-built beach cottages (large). Also Henlopen Acres is a block away and it's home to some beach mansions. The bicycling paths in and around Rehoboth are such a positive aspect to the area. The outlet stores (away from the beach) are a nice diversion. Rehoboth Avenue is your usual beach/touristy location with surf shops, beach snacks, knick-knack shops etc. With all the area has going for it, it would be nice if the Henlopen Hotel were a four star or better hotel. In this era, the hotel needs amenities, such as working Wi-Fi, a pool, an exercise room, restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

nice hotel . close to the beach .

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location. Didn't have to move car . Beach was right there. Restaurants on the Boardwalk were nice .
Cons: Bathroom was small . But who spends a lot of time in the room . Breakfast could be expanded a little.
Location: Beach and Boardwalk were right outside the door. Plenty of stores and restaurants in walking distance.
Only there 3 days wish we had more time to spend there . Didn't want to leave. Very relaxing . Everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yeadon, Pa

Nice hotel great location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
This hotel is at the end of the boardwalk, therefore, it was not crowded. It is a nice hotel and the staff was nice as well. My only complaint was that the towels and washcloths were hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Stayed here before and came back!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Love the location of the hotel. It makes up for the hotel which needs a little TLC. Older hotel, but accomdations were fine. It is easy to see there are areas which need repair, but we will still return. Ocean front room with bacony. Great bathroom with tub and separate shower stall. All you need for the beach vacation. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Magnolia N J

Location location location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: We checked out at 11 but were able to leave our car parked for free and spent day on beach. Showers and changing areas available for use.
Location: Situated right on beach
Checked in for 1 night. The room was a good size. Two double beds. The staff was wonderful