Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of maintenance

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Confusing on room. We expected full ocean view, but ocean was only visible when on balcony. Room and bathroom were small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Nice hotel with a location that can't be beat!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: the location and view from the balcony were fantastic!
Cons: nothing needed to be improved!
Location: *Stingray was great for sushi! *We took the trolley to Dewey to see live music @ bottle & cork. Drinks @ Green Turtle overlooking boardwalk
My girlfriend and I checked in and were upgraded to a room with an ocean view and king size bed. The folks behind the desk were very accommodating and helpful in giving suggestions of where to eat and fun places to check out. They always wanted our feedback on how our night and where we went...and we were happy to oblige! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I would come back for another stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location, why not go world-class!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Overall condition of the hotel. Better if the hotel were enhanced, recognizng the potential of the area. At the least, the Wi-Fi needs to work.
Location: See my earlier comments.
Rehoboth Beach is a wonderful location. The Henlopen Hotel sits at the north end of the boardwalk, too. In front of the hotel is a nice park and small lake/pond. The hotel is on the beach. The area is family-friendly. The nearby streets are home to numerous recently-built beach cottages (large). Also Henlopen Acres is a block away and it's home to some beach mansions. The bicycling paths in and around Rehoboth are such a positive aspect to the area. The outlet stores (away from the beach) are a nice diversion. Rehoboth Avenue is your usual beach/touristy location with surf shops, beach snacks, knick-knack shops etc. With all the area has going for it, it would be nice if the Henlopen Hotel were a four star or better hotel. In this era, the hotel needs amenities, such as working Wi-Fi, a pool, an exercise room, restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

nice hotel . close to the beach .

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location. Didn't have to move car . Beach was right there. Restaurants on the Boardwalk were nice .
Cons: Bathroom was small . But who spends a lot of time in the room . Breakfast could be expanded a little.
Location: Beach and Boardwalk were right outside the door. Plenty of stores and restaurants in walking distance.
Only there 3 days wish we had more time to spend there . Didn't want to leave. Very relaxing . Everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yeadon, Pa

Nice hotel great location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
This hotel is at the end of the boardwalk, therefore, it was not crowded. It is a nice hotel and the staff was nice as well. My only complaint was that the towels and washcloths were hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Stayed here before and came back!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Love the location of the hotel. It makes up for the hotel which needs a little TLC. Older hotel, but accomdations were fine. It is easy to see there are areas which need repair, but we will still return. Ocean front room with bacony. Great bathroom with tub and separate shower stall. All you need for the beach vacation. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Magnolia N J

Location location location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: We checked out at 11 but were able to leave our car parked for free and spent day on beach. Showers and changing areas available for use.
Location: Situated right on beach
Checked in for 1 night. The room was a good size. Two double beds. The staff was wonderful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, Md

Great location, worn rooms

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Update the rooms and get rid of peeling paint and rust stains
Location: Right on the boardwalk. Access to everything
Right on the beach but there is no pool. Rooms are worn down but clean. We had a "view" of a cement courtyard and the rooms across from us. Not worth the price they charge in the summer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Fabulous hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Loved having a changing room downstairs, as we got there way before our check-in time and thus were able to hit the beach immediately with our kids.
Cons: There was a very strong moldy smell in our bathroom - perhaps it was from the shower curtain.
Location: Loved being able to walk outside right onto boardwalk and then walking to the avenue where all the shops and restaurants were.
Loved the clean, spacious room and balcony. Great location at north end of boardwalk. Desk staff very friendly and professional. Plenty of room on beach which was not as packed as beach near center of boardwalk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel for on the beach, but needs updating...

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: We liked that this hotel is right on the beach.
Cons: The hotel needs serious updating all around! The air conditioners in the rooms need to be replaced with quieter ones.
Location: We were pleasantly surprised that there was lots of fun games and rides on the boardwalk for little ones to enjoy.
The hotel is ok if you are just staying for a night or two, but not more than that. The rooms really need serious updating and the air conditioners need to be replaced with quieter ones. We liked that this hotel is right on the beach, but if we had to do over again we would stay at a different hotel.