Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clare from Seattle.

Great location, good breakfast and clean hotel.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast were great.
Cons: Bathroom definitely as well as the wifi - I had some problems getting it to work most days.
Location: The Hallgrímskirkja Church is right across the street as well as great restaurants and bars nearby a It is just a short walk to the waterfront.
Great location right opposite the Hallgrímskirkja Church. There is no elevator in the hotel so if you are staying on the 4th floor like I was - pack light! It is a very simple room and for the price I thought was good value. The bathroom was my only area of real issue - I hate shower curtains and with their showers being so tiny there was no way to not escape being attacked by it. Again with the shower there is no lip on the edge so it is very hard to have a shower without flooding the entire bathroom. I know this is a problem at many hotels across Europe so I cannot hold it against this one too much. Breakfast had a great selection and with Iceland being quite expensive it was wonderful to be able to fill up in the morning on toast, cereal, fruit, waffles, meat, cheese and more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beverley from Lancashire

Cant beat this location!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: bathrooms
Location: Down town Reykjavik on the doorstop.
Rooms quite small and basic standard, with very small bathrooms, but clean and warm. The staff are friendly and helpful. The best part is the location - directly opposite the Hallsgrimkirkja (big church). Hallsgrimkirkja is a beautiful building, plus you cant really get lost in the city - just look up to find the steeple and the right direction back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kurt

Great location, nice staff

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location! Also, the staff were always very friendly.
Cons: Wifi was always slow here.
Location: The main shopping district and the main nightlife district are just a few blocks away, and several major points of interest are within a mile or so.
The building is old and basic, but the staff are friendly and helpful, and for location, this cannot be beat. Right across the street from the main church Hallgrimskirkja, I would eat breakfast in the dining room and wait for the site to open, which one could see from that vantage point. My rooms (I've stayed there a few times) were basic but comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The position of the hotel was great

Posted Mar 28, 2014
If you are looking for a plush hotel this hotel is not for you but if you want a small comfortable clean room then look no further
1 out of 5
by Peter from UK

One of the worst hotels in fabulous Iceland

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: The convenient position.
Cons: The shower did not drain away, and after each use the area had to be covered with towels!!
Location: Reykjavik and Iceland in general is a great place - just be sure to never stay at the Hotel Leifur Eiriksson - please!!
We stayed in the excellent Rey Appartments, via Expedia but due to our visit coinciding with an international food tasting weekend few hotels were available. The Hotel Leifur Eiriksson seemed to offer a reasonable standard but it turned out to be a simple case of mis-selling. Never stay there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from UK

Good location

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: The convenient location, and the friendly staff.
Cons: Some of the carpets & curtains need updating.
Location: Hallgrimmskirkja is opposite the hotel. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby, and there many tours and activities available.
The hotel is located at the top of the hill, opposite the Hallgrimskirkja, and is one of the hotels on the list for pick up/drop off for the local tour buses. Check in was quick, and our room was clean and warm, if a little 'worn' and dated. The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. Tours can be booked by the hotel, although we had pre-booked ours online. Hot and cold drinks are available 24 hours a day from the dining room, where breakfast is served. We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not much to commend except location, overpriced.

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Location, free nearby parking, internet access, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Hotel needs an overhaul
Location: Excellent location near to main shopping streets
Friendly, helpful staff Excellent location Great to have free tea and coffe on offer all day in the breakfast room/lounge Not given room we first requested, but this was changed when we complained about it. Room condition very tired, cheap fixtures and fittings. Sink in bathroom leaned away from the wall, shower cutrain mouldy. Sheets , pillowcases and towels, thin, old and tired Breakfast ok but cheap produce was used ( ie powdery orange juice), Overall not what we expected for the price we paid. Better hotels on offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thao from London

Great location

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff, willing to accommodate extra request by customers such as early check-in and consignment of refrigerated goods.
I love the location of this hotel. It's right in front of the main Cathedral and at the end of the main street. Big free parking lot just opposite the street. The quadruple room we booked have 1 queen-size and 1 bunk bed. The room size is small but it's okay for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SNC from Cardiff

Great location...

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Great location. Reasonable price. Decor is dated but staff were nice, room was clean and breakfast was adequate. Free wifi. Parking nearby. The only issue was the bathroom, shower was small, shower curtain was constantly in the way (I'm a small person and it was very compact) and shower drain blocked. Other than this issue, we were happy with our stay.