Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but more like a dorm room

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi
Location: Loki cafe has super rye bread ice cream. Don't knock until you try it! Sunhollin swimming pool is wonderful and a short walk behind Hallsgrimkikja.
Super area to stay and quiet at night. This is a basic hotel meaning small to very small dorm like rooms, many floors and no elevator. The quality of the room and working wifi varies tremendously. My room and bed was comfortable and adequate. Reception area is friendly and comfortable with free tea and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Spent the afternoon exploring Reykavik, ate out and then watched the moon pass over the spire of the cathedral (no northern lights unfortunately). A simple hotel with simple facilities but a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good value hotel and location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The hotel was in a great location facing the cathedral. It was minutes from the main shopping hub with plenty of choice of restaurants. The rooms are small which is typical for Iceland but ours was well equiped with 2 chairs and a desk in addition to the bed, side cabinets and a small wardrobe. As we were on the 4th floor,in the eaves, part of the room had a very low ceiling but did not cause any issues. The only draw back was carrying the cases up the stairs as no lift. There was also no hairdryer so bring your own. The bathroom was a wet room; again typically small. Unfortunately, the water did not drain away very quickly so lots of wet feet or shoes. Breakfast was a good quality simple buffet but there was a wait for a seat most mornings. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and knowledgeable. I would definately discuss plans with them. They only dropped to 4 because there was some confusion over our transfer back to the airport which they had reserved with the wrong carrier. However, this did not cause any problems or delay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle,WA

Great location..small rooms. No lift.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Room overlooking landmark church and statue. Good breakfast. Reception very welcoming..We had breakfast when we got there early in the morning and they said our room was ready before our 10 am walking tour! Great location! Good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice hotel a very short walk to downtown

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The proximity to the town, restaurants, shops and bars. The bed was comfortable for nights rest, and the breakfast was delicious each day.
Cons: The rooms could use darker curtains to make sleeping easier. It wasn't clear that our room would be in a separate building but it wasn't a problem.
Location: This hotel is directly across the street from the famous church. Easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
We arrived on an early flight and were able to stash our bags with the helpful hotel staff while we explored the town. Once our room was ready, we made our way from the main building to our room in a nearby building, and found our way to the room for a nap. The bed was comfortable enough - not quite like home but it did the job. The room was a little bright for sleeping, especially difficult in the summer time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

God value for money

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Only disadvantage is there is no escalator and therefore you must carry your suitcase up the stairs. The staff offered to do it. But I am not that old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Nailsworth

Value break in a good spot

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was basic but warm and comfortable.All the staff were very helpful, Wifi and free hot drinks 24/7 in the breakfast area was good.Hotel location was convenient for local eateries shops and the tours all picked up from there.We had a great short stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Olafur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Very spartan room in excellent location

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location, next to the landmark church and close to restaurants and shopping. Housekeeping was adequate. They did my bed and vacuumed every day.
Cons: Very difficult to enlarge rooms and bathrooms but perhaps add some toiletries
Location: Walk the adjacent streets. Nice small village ambience. Beware of prices, especially food; more expensive than Norway which is a lot to say.
I stayed for 5 nights at Leifur Eiriksson hotel. My single-bed room in the building across the street was cramped; there was not even enough space to open my suitcase so I was forced to unpack (not a bad idea). However, the closet was just a hollow space with a high shelf and a hanging rod with NO hangers. Fittingly, tiny TV reminiscent of the 1980's but probably not worth updating as there was only one working channel with Bible teaching around the clock. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The pillow was too soft for my taste but that's a problem I've found in most European hotels. The bathroom was apparently not meant to hold both a sink and a shower; the sink, also minuscule, is enclosed in the shower area so one actually has to stand in the shower to brush one's teeth. Also, there is no barrier for the water so the entire bathroom floods when you take a shower or simply wash your face in the sink. They provide liquid hand soap and shower gel but no shampoo. The water has a sulfurous smell, probably because of its underground origin (like all water in Iceland.) On the good side, staff was extremely polite and helpful. They assisted me with all tours I took. Breakfast was not fancy but plentiful and satisfying. There is a coffee machine available at all times that dispenses so-so cappuccino and cafe latte. Restaurants in Iceald are extremely expensive. I suggest to stock up snacks and beverages from the convenience store next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ronneby, Sverige

Bra läge vid Hallgrimskyrkan

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Läget, personalen, frukosten.
Cons: Vattenlukten, termostater på rummen
I stort sett bra. En fantastisk utsikt mot den otroligt vackra Hallgrimskyrkan, Bra personal, mycket serviceminded.. Bra frukost. Kaffe och annat drickbart dygnet runt. Negativa saker: 1. Mycket ljud från gatan intill. 2.Svårt hålla rätt rumstemperatur. För varmt eller för kallt. 3.Varmvattnet luktar svavel (avlopp), troligen på grund av den vulkaniska uppvärmningen.