Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alba from New York

Great Hotel, friendly helpful staff

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location. Friendly staff who spoke English, the free WiFi, and the amazing free breakfast.
Cons: The room service food was not so good.
Location: The beach is across the street, many restaurants and bars. If you like walking you can walk to Ipanema beach or take a cab there.
I stayed at the Arena hotel for six days. Was my first visit to Rio de Janeiro, the hotel is located right across the beach. I read some of the reviews and i was a little hesitant because a lot of people were not too happy with the staff. My stay at the Arena Hotel was made pleasant because the staff was friendly and very helpful. Rogelio and Wagner went out of their way to make sure that that I was satisfied, from finding an electricity converter to suggesting places to visit and explaining when it was appropriate to visit certain parts of Rio. I will definitely return to this hotel on my next visit to Rio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Vienna, Austria

Excellent location and view to Copacabana beach

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Mostly the location. Right in the middle of the Copacabana beach.
Cons: Facilities to make coffee / tea would be very welcome. Also an iron board
Location: Some of the best botecos of Copacabana within walking distance. Lots of restaurants at a wide range of prices.
Good experience, very helpful staff. Pleasantly surprised to get a very early check-in (06:00 am).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from Fort Lauderdale

Wow! Great Hotel! We'llegar be back.

Posted May 26, 2014
Fantastic location on the beach of Copacabana, great decoration, fantastic room decor, breakfast buffet super complete and great quality! neighborhood to walk x drinks, food, or shopping. Staff very attending and helpful with tours, taxis, local tourist tips. WE'LL BE BACK SOON!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Great food

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The furniture is what Brit's would call basic MFI (particle board) so in the room I was in the wardrobe door was sticking and heavy to move.
The hotel is right on the beach front with a 4 lane highway between it and the beach. If you have a ocean view room you can watch the beach soccer, volleyball and people in general as well as the ever active surf. The rooms are fairly small however theres a minibar and safe to store valuables.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Okay hotel and facilities but unfriendly staff

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Location, pool and gym facilities, top floor bar and scenic view.
Cons: Friendliness of staff.
Stayed at Arena twice on my recent trip and I was upgraded on the first occasion which I appreciated. The second stay was disappointing as a number of staff members were particularly unfriendly and could not even manage a smile or a greeting on arrival or return to the hotel (there were a couple of exceptions). Also house keeping cleaned the room late most days and did not arrive at all on one of the days. Our safe stopped working 3 times and wasn't reliable which isn't ideal in Rio. I also attempted to extend my stay for one night but Arena reservations wanted to charge a rate that doubled what was being advertised on expedia for the same night - as a result I stayed somewhere else. Not a bad hotel but friendly staff would make a difference.
2 out of 5
by Erik from Estonia

Right at the beach but not worth the money.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Elevators. Room interior. Pool. Sauna.
In my opinion not worth the money. The hotel is ok but even with its nice location, they should have put more effort into the hotel. The elevators are a joke - their speed (or lack of it), the stupid card system that takes about 5 swipes before registering your card, and the doors that slam shut before you get the card swiped and then you travel to a random floor. We stayed in the suite. Which was nothing more than a normal room with a big hallway. The furniture in the room is plain and cheap-looking. The pool on the roof is a joke. It is marginally larger than a large dinner table. And the water is cold. The sauna - a short walk away from the pool - has the temperature that matches the highest daytime temperatures in Rio. Only it has more steam in it (sometimes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay

Very good location.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Nice hotel and staff speaks English and Spanish. Even if they didn't have parking, they help us with the car. The swimming pool is smaller than it appears to be in the pictures.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathie from loveland,colorado

Safe, great location, walking distance to the beac

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location, free buffet, free wifi
Cons: Tourist information in the room. Concierge service with Good English speaking staff
Location: Walking distance to the beach, walking distance to restaurants.
I picked this hotel due to the location to the beach and English speaking staff according to reviews of this hotel. The hotel is directly across the street from copacobana beach. This is not a children's beach. The pool at the hotel is not a child's pool. The staff does speak English, but limited. They were not able to answer detailed questions. Customer service must mean something different there, because the staff was not the smiley go out of their way to help type. I felt the hotel itself was safe and the area near the hotel was safe. There were alot of people on the beach at night under lights playing soccer and volleyball. Lots of tourists walking in front of the hotel ( Avenida Atlantic) at night also. The morning breakfast had a lot to offer. The rooms were bare basic. No tourist information in the room. We had a corner suite on the 12 th floor, very nice. The room was clean, bed was hard. No carpets in the room. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling and it looked like it needed to have freshen up painting. We booked a tour to Corcodova with the front desk. It was convenient. The checkout time is 2:00 pm, but the hotel can keep your luggage till later in the day .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by r from UK

Very pleasant

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Good location & friendly staff. Excellent breakfast! Great shower / comfy bed; room generally quite sparse, but clean & modern. 5 mins walk to Metro station / 2 mins to bus stops. Fairly well insulated from external noise (on 3rd floor) but quite a lot of internal noise. Had a lovely stay overall though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Opal 37 from Cheshire

Great hotel - fantastic views

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: All areas of the hotel were very clean and also airy. Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of choice at breakfast in restaurant overlooking the front.
Cons: Free wifi in the room. Wifi only worked in the lobby & never on the rooftop terrace. Menus in English too as none of the waiters spoke it.
Location: Shops & restaurants nearby + Ipanema beach & Fort area. Christ the Redeemer behind the hotel and Sugar Loaf a short taxi ride away. Nice walk on pr
We found this hotel to be just as we expected. Good location and to a reasonably high standard. We splashed out on an ocean view room and it was well worth it and a great start to our holiday. The roof terrace and pool area had fantastic views of Copacabana Beach with a Bar available for a nice relaxing drink taking in the vista.