Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel , love the walk to the beach and back

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great hotel , clean and friendly staff, Great to have a clean room , I stay here often when in Brasil. Will be going back around Christmas . Love the scrambled eggs for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis, MO

Close to beach, clean, reasonable price, safe

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: view of christ from roof, roof access, clean rooms, secure room safe, good air conditioning, friendly staff, fresh fruit breakfast, GREAT value
Cons: Internet speed
Location: Close to ocean and restaurants
The internet is the only bad thing about the hotel. It is very slow. The hotel is clean and mordern, safe and secure. As with anywhere else in Rio, be careful walking around at night and definitely not long distances alone. Location is perfect!! It was a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good Hotel, Great Location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and very helpful staff.
Cons: Allow more than one device to use internet in the room.
Location: Copacabana Beach is the closest attraction but the tours will pick you up at the hotel. Farthest drive from hotel to an attraction is about 25 minutes
Stayed at the Mar Palace for 4 nights in March and overall I had a very positive experience there. Only downside was having to pay for internet although it was very cheap and the free breakfast in the mornings made up for that anyways. The breakfast I should mention was a real breakfast and not just a continental. Also the lobby has free wifi internet if you don't need it in your room. The hotel is in a very safe area with lots of restaurants, shops, grocery stores and banks within a 2 minute walk at most. Hotel staff was friendly, spoke excellent English and helped arrange tours and taxis. The tours will pick you up right at the hotel lobby. The pool on the roof was small but provided a great view of Christ the Redeemer, the rooftop is a great place to relax. And last but not least, Copacabana Beach is only a 5 minute walk at most from the hotel. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, single or with a family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Yorkshire, UK

Perfectly located hotel for Copacabana Beach

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The hotel was located a few minutes stroll from Copacabana beach, opposite a small park and was adjacent to good shopping and restaurants.
Cons: WIFI should be free (we paid £4 per day).
Location: It was easy to hail a taxi and each all of Rio's attractions. The Forte de Copacabana provided a good afternoon visit and lunch on our last day.
We had an enjoyable 3-night stay. There was a good continental buffet breakfast with plenty of choice, including hot dishes. The reception staff spoke fluent English and were very obliging. On our final day the hotel stored our luggage and allowed us to use the rooftop pool area to shower and change (including towels and toiletries) before our evening flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Québec, Qc, Canada

Nous recommandons fortement

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: L'emplacement pour la plage. Personnel aidant pour toute information. Beaucoup de restaurants de différents types sont autour.
Location: La plage est la principale attraction autour. Le tarif des taxis est très raisonnable pour se rendre à différents endroits. Métro à proximité.
Hôtel à 5 minutes à pied de la plage. Personnel très accueillant. Grande chambre très propre. Très tranquille même si la chambre donnait sur la rue. Déjeuner très bien.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom olivos buenos aires argentina

Comodamente en Copacabana

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Sus cuartos, y el desayuno
Cons: La zona de placer en la terraza .. Los apartos de gym, son viejos y les falta mantenimiento. La piscina es para niños. es muy pequeña, una pena, ya qu
Location: Muy buena la ubicacion..A una cuadra de la playa.. Frente a la parada de bus.. El cajero auatomatico al lado..Super y farmacia a solo pasos.
EStuve 5 dias.. Me senti muy comoda.. Sus desayunos estupendos.. como asi tambien los cuartos.. Su ubicacion, es buena. cerca de la playa , frente al hotel sobre la plaza pasan los colectivos para moveres al centro y otros lugares.... Hay negocios de todo tipo , El estar cerca de la orla, permite salir a caminar a la noche y cenar en los resto y , o ir a los botecos a beber algo-
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Mar Palace during Carnival 2015

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: The room is large with lots of storage space and was bright and clean.
Location: The hotel is located a block away from the main road which is across from Copacabana Beach. There are lots of small and larger restaurants close by .
Our visit to the Mar Palace after AA cancelled our flight then rebooked to a different stop with out notifying us and then loosing our luggage was a pleasant change. The hotel is a block away from the beach but also a little bit quieter as well. It is a smaller hotel which is what we prefer. The check-in was flawless and the staff were friendly and accomodating. They spoke and understood English and did not belittle you if you tried to speak some portuguese to them.The room was large bright and clean. The breakfast buffet was great with lots of varied food. Check out again was flawless with no surprises. We would gladly recommend the Mar Palace to anyone spending time in Rio.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brasilia

Off beach Copacabana location on busy street

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The gentlemen working as bell boys/captain were very nice and helpful. They also took care of the graveyard shift at the front desk.
Cons: Front desk friendliness+room location for a prepaid 10 night booking of over $ 3000 paid 3 months ahead of arrival.
Location: 2 blocks from Copacabana on a very busy street - price far exceeds quality for a non-beach location.
Even though, (or maybe because) I am fluent in Brazilian Portuguese (not a native speaker, though), I was treated with irony by the Front desk staff and manager, when I questioned having to change rooms during our 6 night stay (my daughter and boyfriend stayed for 4 nights in another room booked by us). The same attitude prevailed when I pleaded for at least our daughter's room NOT to be on the 2nd floor of a 13 floor premise with a view onto the air conditioning equipment. We finally got rooms on floors 4 and 5 at the end of a dark corridor, and with a nasty view onto a grimy interior court. However, it could have been worse, there are rooms with NO windows and Expedia's website did not mention this, as far as I could tell. Also, booking through Expedia, we had no choice as to what kind of beds we desired, 3 months prior to arrival. Their in-room safes still require one carry around a key. Internet access required multiple log-ins per day with acceptance of ever recurring daily rates for each device, until I overheard the front desk offering up to 4 devices per daily rate to an English speaking guest. From then on I negotiated all things in English, which helped, I got much better treatment. On a positive note, said Front desk staff speak a very decent and functional English, and in the end, we were NOT charged for the use of the internet, since many guests complained about its quality (the speed itself was quite good for Brazilian standards).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cecilia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SYLVIOfrom SÃO PAULO

HOTEL BEM LOCALIZADO

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
O hotel tem uma ótima localização e os funcionários são bastante atenciosos, mas a limpeza do quarto e do banheiro deixou muito a desejar.