Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA

Very good facilities and value

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Comfort and value for money. The staff were so help I felt fussed over :-)
Cons: Replace the tennis court nets promptly, they are an eye sore. The renovations are bringing this well designed building back to where it belongs.
Location: 5 minutes drive out of town but there are two restaurants over the road and a well stocked shop a few minutes up the road opposite. Massage next door.
I stayed at INSEL FEHMARN 3 nights on arrival at SAMOA and 3 nights before departure. The staff were helpful and friendly to the point of being zealous. I notice some reviews were critical of the hotel being "tired" but there have been some recent and ongoing renovations taking place and I found the building to be well designed and responding well. The restaurant and the sizable pool and bar area better than most. Also there are two Hard Court tennis courts adjoining the pool area. The courts need a professional repaint and the nets repaired or preferably replaced. However the courts are quite playable but do look drab. The breakfasts were inclusive and very good and some mornings I would go as far to say excellent. The DIY instant coffee was my only criticism but it seems quality coffee is not a SAMOAN thing. And course most Melbournians are coffee snobs. The six dinners I had were good to very good with a reasonable variety. I believe the hotel is very good value for money and one reason for this would be it is a $2.50 taxi fare from the town and harbour. However they provide a free shuttle every two hours. What I usually did was take the shuttle to town and return by cab at my convenience telling myself $2.50 would not get me to the next corner back home. The Admin. lady Patricia saved me from great anxiety, expense and embarrassment because when I had altered my second booking online I accidentally changed the month. Patricia rectified the problem with aplomb...thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Tucked away from busy traffic,mins from city

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The Rooms, very spacious
stayed the weekend, the check in and stay were excellent, very helpful, i was on the third floor, very of the beach, aircon and fan working well. Absolutely loved the room and the cleaniness, the staff were friendly and cheerful, good size for a family, not cramped. Bathroom very clean. Would deffinately come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Pleasant and Clean, helpful staff.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Quiet and helpful staff.
Cons: We only had the included breakfast but thought the food could be improved.
Location: Didn't stay long enough to do anything, but staff organised a taxi service which was efficient and helpful
We stayed last minute because we arrived late. The hotel had organised a taxi service and the driver was most helpful. She also took us to our destination the next day, helping us to find specific people we were looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Insel Ferhman Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff Breakfast buffet included comfy beds clean rooms
Cons: Providing fresh towels more efficently
Insel has very friendly staff who make your stay a pleasing one. The rooms are simple yet comfy; a TV, a comfy bed, fridge, stove, pots/pans/cultery/plates and bowls, a bathroom with a shower and a beautiful verander which looks out over their garden and where you can see the beautiful sunrise and sunset. The staff are very friendly and very helpful in assisting you in anyway possible. The only negative was that we would often have to wait for fresh towels because they would take the used ones to wash and we would have to wait for them to be cleaned and dried. But apart from that it was a beautiful hotel and I would reccommend it to travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and tidy and close to shops within walking distance.
Cons: When taking towels to be washed should be replaced immediately as did ask twice for new towels for room when room had been cleaned.
Location: It was located well to a local supermarket,pizza diner which was fantastic and a great little cafe called Home cafe(if wanting a coffee fix).
Stayed on second floor. Found staff to be friendly especially those who helped us with bringing our bags in. It was a tidy hotel with your basic needs.Great just for a place to sleep and shower if your out all day.Buffet breakfast was great too and staff serving very friendly also.Reasonably priced if your wanting something affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotorua

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Tidy and rooms were well serviced
Cons: More variety with the buffet
Location: A couple of great restaurants across the road, close to town
The room was cleaned everyday and towels replaced. The tennis court was an added bonus and swimming pool were clean. The staff were very friendly. Its not far from town. As part of our package we received buffet breakfast every morning. It was nice but pretty basic. After the third morning we wanted some variety.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marg from New Zealand

Nice hotel - close to lovely restaurants.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Buffet breakfast was yummy, good variety every day. Quiet private rooms. Beds were lovely and comfortable, rooms well serviced.
Cons: Hotel badly in need of refurbishing, although everything is clean and spotless.
Location: A little out of town but beautiful restaurants within walking distance. We preferred being out of town- really nice outlook.
We had a lovely stay, staff were helpful and pleasant. Rooms were clean and comfortable, air conditioning in the rooms fantastic. Buffet breakfasts were great,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from New Zealand

Good experience

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: staff, hotel manager and head waiter, buffet breakfast, bbq buffet on Friday, lazy boy chair was good for my wife when breast feeding our baby.
Cons: better access for people on wheelchairs and elderly as the restaurant was on the 2nd floor. No lifts only stairs.
We arrived late at night yet there was still someone at the front desk and guys to take our bags to the room. Air con in the room was on so it was nice and cool when we walked in. The room was basic but comfortable which catered to our basic needs. The staff were awesome. The complimentary buffet breakfast was very filling and one of the main reasons I choose this hotel. It was also not to close to town so it was nice and quiet. The BBQ buffet on Friday was awesome. The hotel manager was very friendly and helpful especially with our 4 month baby. I will definitely come here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SciTraveller from Wellington

Good place to stay in Apia

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good facilities and breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff prepared to "go the extra mile" to assist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mandy from Manukau, NZ

7 nights from 18/05/14 to 25/05/14 in an executive

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: A lovely setting and a friendly atmosphere. The balcony off the room was good as there was a table and seats, lovely in the evening.
Cons: The hair dryer in our bathroom didn't work but I had my own so no problem for me and we reported the problem.
Location: We are quite familiar with Samoa as we visit regularly and have relatives. We hadn't stayed at Insel previously but would definitely stay there again.
My husband and I stayed in an executive room on the top floor of the Insel Fehmarn Hotel which is an older but very comfortable establishment with history. It is located a short taxi ride from the main road in Apia, lovely grounds and the view from our balcony was over Apia out to the ocean. The air conditioning worked perfectly, although for us a bit cold, it was easily reset on the remote. There was also a ceiling fan so that made for an even temperature all around the large . There was a small kitchenette which included a microwave and a stove, a nice area just off the main bedroom. We only used it to make tea/coffee which was supplied free every day but there were pots and pans etc should you want to cook something. We can recommend the fish and chips and salad meal in the restaurant @ $18 tala, very good value, the tuna in a beer batter was cooked perfectly, not dry as so often is the case in Samoa.The staff were very friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Overall it was good value.