Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Winton, Southland NZ

Quiet and relaxed.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet, helpful and peaceful
Cons: Oka meal. Had 100% better in Suvaii
Location: Sliding rocks and R L Stevensons museum close by. 10 mins to Apia for the markets
The Orator was quiet set in the bush. They provide a shuttle to Apia at 9am and 11am returning at 1pm. Thought this might not be long enough but the heat got to us so it was perfect. Second day they dropped us at the markets and we simply got a taxi from there to R L Stevensons motel, the sliding rocks and then back to the Orator. Taxi's wait on you for 13 tala an hour. Excellent value as it is great to get back into the air conditioning. Air conditioning at Orator was excellent and the pool depths catered for everyone. Great loungers and lovely restaurant except for the Oka.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Our first time at The Orator.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: The pools needed to be cleaned or filtered constantly. Better kitchen facilities such as microwave and some plates knives and forks in the rooms.
Location: Sliding rocks were not operating due to lack of water from summer season.
We stayed at The Orator from 20th September - 27th September and found it via Expedia.co.nz. We loved the look of it from the website especially the beautiful lush plants and trees which seemed to be in abundance. We were looking for a quiet location not too far from Apia with good accommodation, swimming pools and food. The Orator didn't disappoint in most if not all areas. The grounds were lovely, the rooms were very good for twins aged 12 and us (total 4 pax). We hired a Toyota harrier from Julianna's Rentals which made it easy travelling to all the fun spots including Savaii. The Orator service staff were always helpful and happy which made the stay even more pleasant. I would definitely recommend to family and friends for future stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Nice hotel away from the town centre

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly atmosphere & location.
Cons: General maintenance as it is showing signs of wear & tear.
Location: 10 minutes from Apia town centre heading in land, golf course about one minutes drive.
Hotel has a great cabin complex though the pool side ones are more expensive for some reason, they are generally hotter as they get the sun all day. Our air con didn't work that well which made the nights sticky. They also had some issues with the pools being cloudy for most of the week but they were still ok to swim in, though some maintenance on the pump / filter & general repairs may be useful. Meals were ok, with all day menu for around the pool use ideal if staying in all day. Overall enjoyable accommodation & facilities,nice place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Terrible!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Not a lot - the gardens were beautiful and the rooms were comfortable. the rest - well, apparently the owners do not care about customer feedback
Cons: Well, maybe if the owners listened to their guest comments, and staff recommendations, they might actually have an awesome hotel that guest would love
Location: It is really far away from everything, so unless you have a car or taxi you cannot really get anywhere - basically you are prisoner in their facility
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

A slice of Paradise

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The staff were really friendly and very welcoming and helpful. The shower was much better than any other hotel we have stayed at in Samoa.
Cons: The pool could have been cleaner.
Location: Close to Papase'ea Sliding Rocks, Aquatic centre and the market at Vaitele
Our family really enjoyed this hotel due to the awesome setting, nice peaceful location and the pool. We only stayed a few nights but it was very relaxing and really felt like a holiday. We also liked the breakfasts as there was lots of choice. Our kids also really liked the hotel cats.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bacchus marsh victoria australia

Lovely and quite, nothing was too much trouble

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Had a wonderful time exploring Samoa will definitely be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great way to end the holiday

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Large rooms, food.
Cons: Pool needs fresh coat of paint. Waiting staff could come take orders quicker.
Great property, away from the hustle and bustle of Apia. Perfect for our last night, time to relax by the pool. Great food. Staff seemed a bit lost - but got there in the end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great people

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The staff & location
Cons: No food options after 10pm, which is not great when you arrive on a late flight.
Orator is a good hotel, only a 10 min taxi ride from Apia, but tucked enough out of the way. The place is clean, and the staff (generally) very friendly and attentive. The bar has a good selection, and cocktails are well made which can often be difficult to find when away from regular tourist destinations. Breakfast (included) is sufficient, and food in the restuarant is pretty good, if a little over-priced in comparison to other local restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rochelle from Auckland

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was great. They need a place to hang clothes and towels up though in the chalets. Perhaps a chair and table would be great in the rooms as well. All they have is a bed to sit on.Bed was comfy though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful People

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: We loved the relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Make sure all food on the menu including fish is available and there is coconut cream for the cocktails.
Location: Great rainforest.
We arrived late at night to a very warm Samoan welcome by the friendly staff, and were given complimentary fresh fruit and non-alcoholic cocktails. Our room was very comfortable and had its own ensuite. The gardens were well groomed. The food was great.