Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Sousse Palace - Hotel is quite worn-down

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel location is 5 minute walk from the famous Sousse Medina and the Train Station. It also have a decent swiming pool adjacent to the private beach. Hotel rooms are quite worn-down actually, and some garbage smell in the corridor, don't expect to get any romance during your stay! However, the hotel room is still clean, and free internet is available in the grand and comfortable lobby. This hotel offers very good pricing considering its location convienience, and is recommended for those who are only looking for a hotel to stay overnight while making daytime visit to Kairouan, El Jem, or transist onward to southern Tunisia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Great location

Posted Dec 12, 2010 on Hotels.com
The Sousse Palace has a great location being on the beach and close to the Medina. It's an enjoyable place to stay but badly needs more tender loving care and routine maintenance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Zurich

Sousse Palace Hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel is nicely located in the city centre. The surrounding contains many places to cill, eat and entertain. People im Tunisia are very nice and welcoming, store keepers may overdo it when trying to talk different laguages, they may make bad remarques but it's mainly related to their ignorance of the language, so dont missjudge them. IN general the hotel is averga to good, rooms smells slightly due to the ventilation system which has to be completely re-done. The lift is a bit slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Midlothian, IL

Great location!

Posted Mar 25, 2010 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Sousse Palace for three nights in January, selecting it due to the close proximity to the Sousse medina and beachfront, and because I got a very good deal, it being the slow season. Something to remember when considering whether or not to book this hotel is that the star-rating system in this region is a bit different from Western countries. As far as Tunisian hotels go (of which I've stayed in a few), this one conceivably deserves between three and four stars. While the condition of some of the hallways and parts of my room looked a bit drab and run-down, the comfort of the room was considerably good, and, more importantly, it was clean. Moreover, I've read that some people felt the staff was rude or hassled them to purchase extras. I did not experience either of these, as the staff was generally polite, spoke good English and were helpful when asked about anything in the area. Remember, if you are from a Westernized nation, this is a different culture, so don't be so quick to dismiss any shortness or curtness as rudeness. Along with the proximity to the local attractions, I was very happy with how close this hotel was to the Sousse train station. I was coming from Tunis, and had a reasonably large amount of baggage to lug, so having to walk only a matter of blocks to the hotel (which was clearly marked) was nice. I imagine if I had had to hire a taxi, an honest driver would have only charged around one dinar. The hotel also has a long list of amenities, and while it was a bit too cold for any of the beach- or pool-related activities (so I can't speak to that), I did enjoy the lobby lounge (though if cigarette smoke bothers you, you might not agree), which was relaxing and offered a considerably good selection of drinks, evening entertainment and shisha, if that's your thing. The restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets that are not bad and worth checking out at least once (it was included in the cost of my room, so I took a gander). There's no nightclub anymore, apparently, contrary to the brochure in the room, but the alternate is a cabaret (if you don't know what that is in this part of the world, look it up before you go in) across from the restaurant, and it's a short walk to the beach, where there are a wide selection of nightclubs. I felt that the Sousse Palace was worth the money that I spent, though being there during the winter, I reckon it might be a bit different in the summer months when it's more crowded and the seasonal amenities are available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great location, great deal for the money

Posted Jan 26, 2010 on Hotels.com
The Sousse Palace is in a great location, not only a few minutes' walk to the medina, but also in very close proximity to the Sousse train station. I arrived from Tunis with two large bags and was still able to make it on foot to the hotel in about five minutes. While there are several good restaurants and bars around the hotel and on the nearby Boujaffar Beach, the Sousse Palace also offers their own complimentary breakfast and dinner buffet, and the bar in the lobby is a great place to kick back and have a relaxing beer or shisha. They do not have a nightclub but there is a cabaret on the ground floor that is open late; otherwise there are plenty of nightclubs on the aforementioned Boujaffar Beach. The tourist hot spot of Port el-Kantaoui is also a short train ride away. My room was not the most posh I've ever seen but was clean and comfortable, and since I spent most of my time out of the room, this was perfectly acceptable. I would definitely go back to the Sousse Palace, as the rates were very reasonable (though I did go during January) and the location and amenities were great in creating an enjoyable vacation experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, Hawaii

Dicso until 4:00 AM!

Posted Jun 24, 2009
The hotel is lovely with a pool and private beach. The food is excellent at the breakfast and dinner. Unfortunately, there is a disco that goes all night long and the later it gets the louder it is. I'm a good sleeper but this was too much!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Canada

Not 4 star Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2008
The room I got was in 10th floor, view to town & sea not bad. But the TV channels was limited to German, Italian and French, no English channel !!!! The Lobby and big bar are all free for smoking. I do not recommend it for my friends defiantly. The Food was accptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom london

But not the food

Posted Nov 26, 2008
I had no problems with the Hotel at all. I cannot say the same about the food
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good looking hotel which masks its age and bad service

Posted Nov 22, 2008
The Sousse Palace looks good: big rooms with great views from their balconies overlooking a pool. I can't fault it's fantastic breakfasts and dinners - very good value.BUT service of some of the hotel staff was very bad. E.g. we had a problem with water coming out of our toilet upon flushing. Despite complaints and assurances that it would be fixed it wasn't even after we had checked out after 3 days! Plus shower gel and shampoo which had been used were not replaced and we had to ask - every day. This should be done as a matter of course esp for a 4* hotel. Despite bad service hotel was very good value.