Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

no water in the shower, TV hanging off the wall

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: It was just OK and on our travel route. We only has to stay one night
Cons: Yes the shower, TV and levels of noise
Check in was OK and the room was OK for cleanliness but when we went to have a shower there was no water in the shower. Tried to watch TV the night before and it was literally held up by a cushion and there was only one station to watch. Evening meal 2 for £9 was just OK. Had read in a book for comments that the breakfast was lovely and again it was just OK. The lady serving could have smiled when she put the plate down!! This accommodation was really basic and I think overpriced for what we got.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy

Posted May 26, 2015
Cons: Music curtailed when there are guests in the accommodation upstairs.
I booked a coach driver into this accommodation but he was kept awake until 1.20am with the loud and pounding music from downstairs. Seeing that he had to drive his coach a long distance the next day this was not acceptable. I can understand a pub having music but not when there is accommodation. People do need to sleep.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Munich

Never again

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
Thumping music from bar immediately below room until gone midnight on both nights - on complaining was told that the floor is non-insulated. Nil sympathy. Main light in room broken - was told it would be fixed but it never was. One bedside lamp for 3 people - on asking for more was told that there is only one per room and all other rooms were occupied. Decrepit shower, impossible to get hot water on second morning. If I hadn´t paid in advance I would have withheld 50%.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from locksheath

looks nice in pub but lacks maintainance

Posted Sep 21, 2014
arrived after a 6 hour drive. blonde barmaid not exactly welcoming. ordered food at 2 mins past 8 to be told the chef had finished at 8, wouldnt stay again
1 out of 5
Recommended
by kh from London

Awful place

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
I have not been in such a place since staying at a guest house in a remote town in India. Toilet down the hall, a shower cubical in the room and despite claiming to have wifi all through it didn't reach my room or the restaurant. The room was smelly of "air freshener" giving the apperance that they didn't really clean the room but used perfume to camouflage the stench. Having dinner in the evening was ruined by the loud music playing in the bar. All in all not worthwhile the money even though it was cheap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from est yorkshire

Fox Inn Guisborough

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: En suites would benefit from updating
Location: Whitby and northern North York Moors
Functional hotel within town centre pub which is a reasonable base for Whitby and northern part of North York Moors. Slightly shabby but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Stockton

British Pub B and B

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Like stepping back in time to the seventies.
Cons: A general refurbishment needed.
Location: Guisborough is a good base for walking and cycling and visiting the North Yorks coast and moors.
Centrally located Public House with somewhat dated guest rooms. No WC in the room which is not great. Clean and tidy enough and ok for a one night stay. Breakfast was fine. Not bad value for money and would use again if needed to be in Guisborough for one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff. Good food.

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable room although not 'fully' on suite as I had booked. i.e the toilet was down the hall although I had a shower and basin in the room. The staff were very friendly and the food was good. Free WiFi through out was a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pandeli from London

Excellent B&B

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels
The Fox Inn is a Bed & Breakfast but for the price of a hotel room. Everything is B&B standard, however an excellent one. Fox Inn is very well looked after, neat, clean and comfortable. Evening meal is good and well priced, breakfast is limited but sufficient and you can choose what to eat. Every Wednesday local people gather and sing like X-factor and it can be a little noisy. There is free parking but parking space can be limited and is small and very difficult to park. Overall a pleasant stay and is recommended