Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Not a bad place at all!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I'm not really sure why this place had such bad reviews. Our stay was great, our room was clean, breakfast and wifi were available, and the staff was friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The ambiance was darling and close to the beach and many restaurants
Cons: probably new owners who take pride in there Hotel
Location: Many restaurants and many cute shops. close to the beach. Very nice that they had many restrooms for the public.
out of three rooms many things needed fixing. Drug Paraphernalia was found in the second room and coffee in the receiver of the phone needless to say that didn't work either. Cabel was down so the TV's didn't work either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slow Maintenance

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The room was big and clean and the bed comfortable. However the the tub would not drain and the room phone did not work. I was told maintenance would be in to fix the problem. When we returned to our room in the evening nothing was done. Had these problems been fixed I would have given the hotel a PLEASING rating for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was overbooked !!!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We called twice around 3pm to tell the front desk we will have a late check in. The first time the hotel clerk said there was no reservation under that name. The second time I called a few minties later a different lady said that it was there and a late check in would be fine. We arrive around 530 to find out our room was given to another guests. They sent us to an awful hotel that was the only one avaliable in Ventura. The clerk promised us a comp room and reimbursement of the new hotel rate. So overall my experience was awful. I booked the room 4 weeks in advanced too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Very bad experience

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The inn is dirty and in disrepair. Needs a lot of attention.
Location: Did not explore anything nearyby.
We checked-in to the Clocktower Inn on a weekday for one night The photos depict a clean, modern, boutique inn, however, the inn was dirty, smelly, very unhygienic and a potential health hazard. The room we were given had dirty bedding, so we were offered a different room, however that was not a smoke free room and was also dirty. The room had palm sized spiders, the terrace had bird nests, and the parking had several homeless people. The whole inn smells very bad, and because I have asthma I could could not stay the night in the smelly room. I instead spent the night in my car. The following morning I was not well rested and had to cut short our planned trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsatisfying stay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
First off, we had are room changed 10 times because they messed up our reservation. The bathroom was dirty and I didn't get what I paid for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice inexpensive hotel near Main street

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Location and inexpensive. Fairly comfortable.
Cons: Fitted sheets or at least a larger size than the mattress. The sheet kept bunching up making a bit uncomfortable.
Location: Main street is wonderful. Lots of great shops and restaurants. It is close to Ojai which is a wonderful place to visit and close to teh beach.
This is the second visit to this hotel because we liked our first visit so much. The hotel clerk was new but I didn't appreciate that he gave me a hard time when I insisted that I ordered the room with the fireplace. He made me go to my car to fish for my Expedia receipt. He said the receipt just says Deluxe Room but it doesn't whether it had a fireplace or not. So I think if there are two rooms with the same name that it is imperative that Expedia find a way to indicate the differences. I was very upset. There was a room available with a fireplace. Actually the entire hotel seemed empty so I don't understand why he gave us a hard time to begin with. When we got to the room the key to turn the fireplace was missing. In addition, he didn't know how the channels on the TV worked. They didn't match what the guide stand in the room indicated. If this was my first experience I probably would not have gone back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by EM from Bakersfield

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was clean, front desk was courteous and helpful. Great value.
1 out of 5
by C

Worst not recommended at all to anybody

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Nothing is good there. Expedia need to move out of the list of hotel in Ventura California.
Cons: Need to rebuild the building. Now is 0 start
Location: Location is good just need to rebuild the entire building and get new owner and management
VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. All dirty inside and outside
2 out of 5
Recommended
by BILL from VENTURA

SO-SO HOTEL

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
IT WORKED, TO CLOSE TO A PARTY PLACE