Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sylmar, ca

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Will not come back. Moved to 3 different rooms because TV wasn't working and air con in 2rooms was weak.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Lovely old downtown Ventura

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Clocktower Inn sits next to plaza across the street from the old mission church. Walk down the Main Street to shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, small businesses, beautiful old city hall and about 5 charity thrift stores. The inn is mission style with red tile roofs, a real clocktower, and a lovely courtyard where breakfast buffet is set up. Basic continental breakfast cereals, pastries, bagels, waffles, toaster, milk, juice and coffee. Single room with queen bed is small but comfy and clean with mission style decor. Close to Freeway 101 for easy access but may be noisy depending on location of your room unless you keep the AC or fan going for white noise. I enjoyed my stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa, ca

Older but interesting hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location,quiet and value
Cons: Improve the meager TV programming availability.
Location: Beach, Ojai, Oxnard shopping.
We have stayed here several previous times. This time was for 3 nights. Yes the hotel is older and could use some TLC but if you expect the Hilton then you should stay at the Hilton. Our room was a nice corner upper room with large windows on two sides with view. The beds were comfortable, bathroom clean, and it was quiet. That's the main thing we wanted. The breakfast was what you typically get in most economy motels, juice, coffee, cereals, pastery, etc. The only real shortcoming with the room was that the TV had only a few channels. I understand that they are in the process of upgrading this situation. The location is great, only a block from Main Street where we like to go for the antique and thrift stores shopping. We went to Ojai one day, only 20 miles away, for a different feel. Certainly I would stay again as I think it is good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Not a bad place at all!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I'm not really sure why this place had such bad reviews. Our stay was great, our room was clean, breakfast and wifi were available, and the staff was friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The ambiance was darling and close to the beach and many restaurants
Cons: probably new owners who take pride in there Hotel
Location: Many restaurants and many cute shops. close to the beach. Very nice that they had many restrooms for the public.
out of three rooms many things needed fixing. Drug Paraphernalia was found in the second room and coffee in the receiver of the phone needless to say that didn't work either. Cabel was down so the TV's didn't work either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slow Maintenance

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The room was big and clean and the bed comfortable. However the the tub would not drain and the room phone did not work. I was told maintenance would be in to fix the problem. When we returned to our room in the evening nothing was done. Had these problems been fixed I would have given the hotel a PLEASING rating for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was overbooked !!!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We called twice around 3pm to tell the front desk we will have a late check in. The first time the hotel clerk said there was no reservation under that name. The second time I called a few minties later a different lady said that it was there and a late check in would be fine. We arrive around 530 to find out our room was given to another guests. They sent us to an awful hotel that was the only one avaliable in Ventura. The clerk promised us a comp room and reimbursement of the new hotel rate. So overall my experience was awful. I booked the room 4 weeks in advanced too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Very bad experience

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The inn is dirty and in disrepair. Needs a lot of attention.
Location: Did not explore anything nearyby.
We checked-in to the Clocktower Inn on a weekday for one night The photos depict a clean, modern, boutique inn, however, the inn was dirty, smelly, very unhygienic and a potential health hazard. The room we were given had dirty bedding, so we were offered a different room, however that was not a smoke free room and was also dirty. The room had palm sized spiders, the terrace had bird nests, and the parking had several homeless people. The whole inn smells very bad, and because I have asthma I could could not stay the night in the smelly room. I instead spent the night in my car. The following morning I was not well rested and had to cut short our planned trip.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Dont get room104

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dont get room 104 ,only 1nightstand,phone didnt work,dinosaur TV,no remote,weeds &spider webs on patio....for $169.00
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsatisfying stay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
First off, we had are room changed 10 times because they messed up our reservation. The bathroom was dirty and I didn't get what I paid for.