Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel to use when being away from home.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The location in the town as one can walk anywhere.
Cons: Attention to detail as far as maintenance of the place.
Location: Plenty of things to do. The hotel provides you with a list. I am pretty sure you can also call them to ask.
Attendants were great! In need of at least a chair on the balcony. Beds were clean and fresh sheets. Tub did not run correctly. Shower curtain was not really clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

WARNING: Stay somewhere else in Ventura.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: I recently had knee surgery and seeing that they had an elevator so I didn't have to walk up stairs to my room was a plus.
Cons: Everything is in need of improvement. Spills in the breakfast area were not cleaned for days and customer services need to be addressed.
Location: Close to downtown Ventura, but the homeless presence there hindered any enjoyment with walking to Main St. Couldn't wait to leave the area.
My first night I was placed in a different room than I had reserved. It was next to the "utilities" room which was making my bed shake all night long. No towels were provided and the balcony was looking onto a wall and fence, no daylight to speak of. I was changed to my desired room the next morning from this dark hole. Over the course of my stay, 10 days, my room was not cleaned and no new towels were provided on three separate occasions. I mentioned this to the night manager each night I found an unmade bed and was given an excuse for the maid each time. Somehow they had a record of the room being made up but it wasn't true. Twice dirty wash rags used to clean the bathrooms were left on the bathroom counter by the maid. And no additional blanket was provided by the staff when the weather turned chilly and I asked for an extra layer of comfort. I had my son lend one from his home for me to use each night. When there weren't enough guest in the hotel they kept some of their breakfast items hidden away and on two separate occasions the morning manager had to chase some vagrant / homeless people away from the breakfast buffet. They wandered into the hotel when no one was visible at the front desk and were able to make use the atrium area. These sorry folk were sleeping in the park outside the hotel and bathing in the fountain about 30 yards from the entrance of the building. I really worried about my safety when parking at night in the adjoining lot. Stay away!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Studio City, CA

Not bad, close to everything

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Location: You're right next door to a pretty cool local bar called The Tavern, and then you're 2-3 blocks from everything else downtown Ventura has to offer.
I'm from Ventura, recently moved away but came back for New Years Eve and stayed here to be close to everything in Downtown. It's a decent little Inn, cozy rooms, some have fireplaces and balcony's and they're nice. Our room was missing the key for the gas fireplace and also the knobs for the AC/heating which was kind of annoying but the staff got it fixed up for us. Room was as expected, it was clean and the place definitely has a little charm to it. I'd stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

New Owner

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Everything. After the first night of a two night stay I talk to the desk clerk about many issues that needed attention. Nothing was done, not one.
Location: The downtown location is great except for the many homeless people in the area.
This hotel received good reviews in the past but it now has a new owner. According to his own staff he is more interested in collecting money than the comfort of his customers. I really wanted to be able to stay there on my next trip, the location is perfect for my needs, but after two days it was impossible to ignore the many problems. The location and price are NOT worth it! The following did not work; room key on outside doors, room clock, room phone, no ice bucket, drapes in bad condition, shower had long black hair in it, shower leaked, toilet ran. Had to ask for milk at breakfast. All items were reported to the desk clerk after the first night. She said I could fill out a Customer Survey that was in my room. When I returned to my room for the second night my key did not work. Not one item I had reported that morning had been fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sylmar, CA

clock tower hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Quiet and right down town
Cons: more rooms with fireplaces
Location: good food, farmers market on Saturdays lots of shopping, dancing, ocean
I stay here often nice place good price and quiet. Ocean, shopping and places to dance
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Decent place, rude staff.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
I stayed at the clock tower for 4 nights. The hotel is in decent shape with a close proximity to downtown. Plenty of restaurants and shopping. Unfortunately the cleaning service forgot to straighten my room one day and when I returned I called the desk to alert them to the fact and to not complain but to request clean towels be brought to the room since they had been taken and not replaced. The woman was so rude and literally acted as it was my fault. Completely rude and unapologetic. One of the older gentleman who worked at the desk and who was probably the owner was a complete jerk as well. But to be fair there were a couple employees, the groundskeeper in particular was very pleasant. All in all the staff needs an attitude adjustment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Good location. Horrible beds. No towels, I had to ask for them. Smells molding
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Very inexpensive, but don't expect anything fancy. I little on the dingy side, even if a good deal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rude owner who tried to add extra charges , rusted

Posted Nov 11, 2014
horrible, dirty jacuzzi, balcony, broken lamps, loud disco thumping at night, parking lot is public with homeless people hanging out. what a waste of money, worst hotel ever. dont go there. ruined my vacation. highly disappointed and ripped off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A little piece of paradise to Main St., Ventura

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Location is great for downtown Ventura.
Cons: TV wasn't working. Our first room didn't have any lock to the patio or knobs on the air conditioning unit. (Room 217)
Location: Location is great for thrift stores on Main Street. We had a lovely lunch very close to hotel. It is really close to pier and beach for walking.
We have stayed here before. Our first room didn't have a lock on door to patio or knobs for air conditioner. They transferred us to a downstairs room that was fine. However, when we arrived really late, the TV wasn't working. They offered to come and fix it at 11 pm but I said no..too late. We never did have any tv. The breakfast was fine and has a beautiful setting, especially with rain. Overall, this room was bigger than the last time we stayed here. It is a great location if you want to walk Main Street and shop.