Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Not sure why reception location was changed as it was a bit confusing. Couldn't hear the receptionist over the loud music in the bar so just nodded politely. The corridors are looking a bit shabby. The room itself was clean enough although there was a thick layer of dust on the base of the bedside lamp. Breakfast was really taste and nice and hot. For the price of the room it was ideal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shetland

Handy for public transport.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Convenience for public transport.
Cons: New mattresses.
Location: Opposite bus and train station.
Arrived after 10 in the evening and left before 6 am. Discovered I was on the third floor and there was no lift!!! Luckily I was able to leave my suitcase in a cupboard on the ground floor. Was hoping for a comfortable bed and was disappointed. Overslept so didn't have time to try out the shower but it looked fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Awful

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Excellent location with a great restaurant and bar. Wouldn't book a room there ever again however. Dirty, smelly, uncomfortable and I'm covered in bites!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a cheap deal, just

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Price
On the corner of busy Guild Street. Old rather cavernous building with a cosy restaurant downstairs. Upstairs are a mix of exotically named suites and ordinary rooms. Lots of stairs. No parking but in the back streets there are 2 hour meters that are free after 8pm. I had a corner room. Even with double glazing the noise from the Street is noticeable and builds from 5.30 onwards. So ask for a back or some room. The heating struggled on a cold but not freezing day and took hours to get rid of the chill. Bathroom had no heating and was pretty basic. Hot water took forever - run the shower to get the tap hot. Bed was fine. Desk had no chair. Overall clean but past due date. Pleasant check-in. I had a deal and it was for one short night so I overall I can complain but I would think twice about going again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sadly I would have to say don't stay here

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I stay in Aberdeen a lot and have tried various cheaper hotels. I would not stay here again although it's condition is better than others. From the very first impression when I arrived, I felt put out. Long lecture from man on arrival about how they are no frills and don't make any money and how he hoped I would stay and eat or drink with them in order to justify my cheap room. Made me feel bad. he said and that 'to be honest all the rooms were different' - no toiletries etc £10 for wifi!! He said that's because the rooms were cheap and they didn't make any money (no other budget hotel ive stayed in has charged.) When I said this he gave me a free code - which didn't work. No lift and many stairs No one explained that there was tea and coffee in the room (hidden away) the heating (froze!) or how the shower worked - took ages to find a switch tucked some distance away from bathroom No hot water when I got back late Towel rail didn't heat Light above the mirror didn't work Several sockets didn't work which I didn't realise until things weren't charging or switching on One socket coming away from the wall No room service after my first night so I didn't have a made bed etc Freezing room and no visible way to address this Very rude night porter my first night Fighting outside my room all night BOTH NIGHTS and at one point the night porter who was constantly trying to eject then, used his key to open my door at 4am as he thought it was their room! Clean room but - not happy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tired hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
No central heating in the room, was supplied with a plug in electric heater. No double glazing, the room was very cold and you could hear all the noise from the bar opposite and the main road. Toilet door had no lock, toilet seat was broken, shower door was broken. Did not enjoy my stay at all.
4 out of 5
by Leta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by David

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Decent enough room for my requirements, close to area I required.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great price

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Convienient hotel in perfect location, friendly staff and locals in a beautiful area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal for station and shops