Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Ready to Leave

More like a 2 Star

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Orbitz
The Staff at the Hawthorn are friendly and professional but the hotel is at best a 2 star hotel. When I checked-in it was hard for the desk reception to get the bellman to quit socializing and show me to my room, finally she had to get another one to assist me. The breakfast was free and they did a good job but room service was another issue as on a number of nights I had to eat the same thing because the items listed on the menu were not available or the Chef didn't want to make them. When I got to my room there were no towels and then if a towel was dirty and on the floor the maid service would pick it up but not replace it. They have nice spa tubs but you couldn't use it because there are no tub stoppers. The power also consistently goes out so be prepared. They do have a nice pool area and workout room. I have stayed in worse and the saving grace was the staff, room cleanliness and comfort but calling it 3 Star is a stretch. I stayed here because my business meetings required it and that was it.
3 out of 5
by rt from Hong Kong

a reasonable place to stay

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
if one is looking for a reasonable place to stay at an affordable price in Abuja, this is not a bad choice. Rooms are old and cleanliness was average but AC and hot water for shower are sufficient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

everything to be renovated. restaurant really bad!

Posted Mar 20, 2014
too expensive for such quality hotel. everything should be renovated. restaurant and breakfast really bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Service

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Interesting and comfortable stay. Central location and the business centre was very useful.
5 out of 5
by Karina from Norge

Flott hotell i Abuja

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels
Fint hotell med alle fasiliteter man er vant med fra Europa. Beste hotellet jeg har bodd på i Nigeria. Kjempe fine rom, profesjonell stab, fint bassengområde. God sikkerhet. Super frokost buffet og kjempe god international mat i restauranten. Jeg bor gjerne på dette hotellet igjen!
4 out of 5
by Robert from London

Family Hotel, lovely environment

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Room quality
Location: I did not go to toooo many places but being a Nigerian had some good food near by. Went to Ibiza a good night hang out twice in two nights
I would go back again, the staff made me feel at home. Their rooms don't smell that fresh though. I expected more on that front
3 out of 5
by A.Spinnler from Lampenberg

Grosse Zimmer, strenge Sicherheit.

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels
Gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Freundliches Personal. Strenge Sicherheit. Grosse Zimmer. Maintenance Probleme wie in allen Hotels in Nigeria. Ueberall Spannteppiche aber keine starken Staubsauger, Kalt-Heiss Wasser Mischung funktioniert nicht. Trotz allem würde ich das Hotel wieder buchen. Ruhige und zentrale Lage. Es wird kein Alkohol serviert.
3 out of 5
by Bright I from New Jersey, USA

Centrally Located

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels
The management changed this time around..........I was not really impressed by the service. This is a place I used to stay a lot and they had kept me waiting for close to 2 hours trying to locate my booking. That was really killing considering just arriving from a 16 hours trip. Overall the stay was good but I think they need to focus on improving and good customer service. Nice staff though.........Ify, Jennifer, Michael, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anonymous

Family Rendevous

Posted Sep 3, 2010 on Orbitz
Since the pool was closed the rating would have been much lower except the staff service made up for the closed pool (they located a hotel pool close by and arranged for us to use the other facility).