Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham , UK

Very nice hotel , very family friendly

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Very Nice hotel , staff are friendly and professional , the large rooms are kept very clean and have very good amenities including microwaves , kitchen sinks and fridge freezers , kettle , large siiting rooms etc , in summary , A very family friendly hotel ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Jibril A, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for your kind words you have shared here on Expedia. your comments are very much valued. We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try every day, to provide that quality customer service, which our guests expect. We appreciate your comments on our newly renovated rooms .
3 out of 5
by Michael

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are huge, but very badly kept and not clean. In other parts of the world it would be considered 2*. The staff tried their best to accommodate as good as they could. Well done. The internet is very slow and not really usable in the rooms. The food is not to international standard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were not informed that this was an alcohol free establishment until we checked in.
2 out of 5
by Ready to Leave

More like a 2 Star

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Orbitz
The Staff at the Hawthorn are friendly and professional but the hotel is at best a 2 star hotel. When I checked-in it was hard for the desk reception to get the bellman to quit socializing and show me to my room, finally she had to get another one to assist me. The breakfast was free and they did a good job but room service was another issue as on a number of nights I had to eat the same thing because the items listed on the menu were not available or the Chef didn't want to make them. When I got to my room there were no towels and then if a towel was dirty and on the floor the maid service would pick it up but not replace it. They have nice spa tubs but you couldn't use it because there are no tub stoppers. The power also consistently goes out so be prepared. They do have a nice pool area and workout room. I have stayed in worse and the saving grace was the staff, room cleanliness and comfort but calling it 3 Star is a stretch. I stayed here because my business meetings required it and that was it.
3 out of 5
by rt from Hong Kong

a reasonable place to stay

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
if one is looking for a reasonable place to stay at an affordable price in Abuja, this is not a bad choice. Rooms are old and cleanliness was average but AC and hot water for shower are sufficient
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Service

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Interesting and comfortable stay. Central location and the business centre was very useful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert from London

Family Hotel, lovely environment

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Room quality
Location: I did not go to toooo many places but being a Nigerian had some good food near by. Went to Ibiza a good night hang out twice in two nights
I would go back again, the staff made me feel at home. Their rooms don't smell that fresh though. I expected more on that front
3 out of 5
by Bright I from New Jersey, USA

Centrally Located

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels
The management changed this time around..........I was not really impressed by the service. This is a place I used to stay a lot and they had kept me waiting for close to 2 hours trying to locate my booking. That was really killing considering just arriving from a 16 hours trip. Overall the stay was good but I think they need to focus on improving and good customer service. Nice staff though.........Ify, Jennifer, Michael, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anonymous

Family Rendevous

Posted Sep 3, 2010 on Orbitz
Since the pool was closed the rating would have been much lower except the staff service made up for the closed pool (they located a hotel pool close by and arranged for us to use the other facility).