Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Alister

A great old charmer

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
I appreciated the bottle of sparkling red very much. I was only in the room for a short night and didn't get to enjoy it to the full. It was certainly comfortable for my stay. The old-fashioned building and fitout were attractive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Quaint cottage in heart of Melbourne street

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: In the heart of Melbourne street North Adelaide. Easy walking distance to variety for food/drink places
Wonderful communication from owners and information provided regarding nearby attractions and places to eat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, comfortable

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Wotif
Stayed for a week with the family. Pretty expensive but served us well - on the free bus route to take in all the sights (zoo, museum, Gaol, Rundle mall). Easy to catch other public transport further afield. Nice restaurants, cafes and bakeries. Beautiful heritage buildings line nearby streets
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis is the middle of North Adelaide

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
38 Melbourne Street North Adelaide is a busy, busy street. This tiny little cottage takes you away from the hustle and bustle! Gorgeous launch pad to see Adelaide from - stay a week. Love the heated floors, the comfortable furniture, and the perfect kitchen. Parking might be difficult - there is very little on street parking in Melbourne Street. I'd advise leaving the car behind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Good overall, with issues

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: - Friendly staff - Good location - Comfortable furnishings
Cons: - Noise - The smell - Price
Room was very clean and tidy, staff were friendly and welcoming even though the check-in process was a little convoluted. One major problem was the fact that this isn't a whole cottage - you're sharing with the front half of the same cottage. This is made worse by the fact that both halves are separated by one flimsy wooden door, through which you can hear EVERYTHING. Throughout the night we were woken by our "neighbors" frequently, along with the constant noise of passing cars. I'm no stranger to living in close proximity to people, having lived in apartments most of my life, however the amount of noise the complete lack of anything to dampen it made sleeping impossible. The room was (understandably) quite old, however it also had a musty, damp smell about it which was overwhelming when we first arrived. There was also a number of live spiders running around the place when we arrived. If this cottage was priced like a 3 star motel, I would have no issues with any of the above. However with the premium rates charged here, I cannot in good faith recommend this to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Good but make sure you get what you pay for

Posted May 8, 2016 on Lastminute
In general the place is nice enough and has the basics required. My experience was soured as we were booked in an executive suite and were placed in Stanley st. Nothing we could do as it's an unattended site and we were only there 2 nights. Besides this it's a good location but could do with a sweep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Different from the picture that was advertised.

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The close location to the eating and drinking places
Cons: Already detailed above
Location: Already detailed above
We were expecting a dedicated car park, and parked some distance away carrying our stuff. The location was good as it was close to eating places. The chairs were not comfortable and we had sore backs from the matrass. If It had been longer than 1 day we would not have been happy with the bed. The kitchen should have had curtains or blinds as I saw a person walking past which does not make it private. When we entered I liked having the music, however the radio was very distorted so I had to turn it off. Otherwise it was ok and we enjoyed the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morphett Vale

Covenient, comfortable and private

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Lastminute
Very surprised and happy about cottage for the night (Cafe Suite) just wish we could have stayed longer.... it was very inviting, comfortable, good amenities, comfy bed, big spa.....will highly recommend to others
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

35th Wedding Anniversay stay

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: We really liked the convinience to resturants, hotel/pubs and parklands.
Cons: Only thing I could pick on was a large spider web on the ceiling\corner of the den on the front wall Maybe trying to sound proof the windows
Location: Kentish Hotel and Old Lion Hotel - meals & beer garden Elephant Walk - Dessert and coffee The Store - meals Parklands - walk \ run
After arriving at the cottage on Melbourne St, North Adelaide we let ourselves in via the gaol door which was very quaint. Upon walking through the front door we were inside a small but private den with a fireplace, 2 chairs (we later learned were originally owned by Sir Donald Bradman) and desks, togheter with memrobillia of the Don and old pictures of the building fromthe turn of the century on the wall. Next we moved into the bedroom with its addorable old queen bed, (with comfortable mattress), leading off from the bedroom was the bathroom with Spa bath, which easily accomodates 2 people. There was also a small galley kitchen and outside we had access to a private courtyard at the rear of the building. We totally enjoyed staying in this quaint cottage with the ambiance of such an historic residence and will book further stays in other accommodation provided by the Heritage Group. The only downside of this accommodation was the traffic noise at night when we were in bed. As we are not used to this it takes sometime to become accosted to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: You're surrounded by cafes and restaurants and an easy walk into town. I'll be back.
I didn't know what to expect but when I arrived I was blown away. It was so unique and so perfect.