Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Not a lot!
Cons: Everything.
Location: Was close to some coffee shops and the zoo and botanical gardens.
The standard rooms at this hotel are awful, stained, knocked about and tired. Would NOT recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very basic though

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Location great. Basic room. No cutlery to eat a takeaway. Staff was a little abrupt on checkin. Not friendly just straight to the point!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient close to city central, good parking

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Close to City Central, free parking, there are a lot of restaurants nearby, easy catch public transport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mildura

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: they did upgrade us and that was very nice. The 2 children did enjoy the pool and the spa after a day of shopping and exploring Adelaide,
Cons: The only complaint I have is we couldn"t sit on the balcony as the table and chairs were filthy Obviosly from the air pollution.
Location: We were happy with the location, We did drive to most places so did not have time to be aware of the close activities.
I was very disappointed with the way in which I booked through Expedia, One of the children was too ill to make the trip and after ringing the hotel I was told that there were no changing the booking and no returns of money. I will be very careful about that in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The location is good - close to the city and parklands
Cons: Internet access - remove the 2Gb limit or upgrade it!
We stayed for over a week around New Year. The location is good - close to the city and parklands, and walking distance to the New Year celebrations in Elder Park which was great (we walked past lines of nearly stationary traffic on the way back). The rooms are comfortable, clean (if a little dated), well serviced and well equipped. But otherwise the outlook is nothing special - our "balcony room" overlooked Melbourne St traffic (and we could hear plenty of it in the early mornings too!). So not a quiet spot, yet not really in the heart of the city. The pool works, but its hardly luxurious (what their cover photo doesn't show is that it is the middle of the car park). As others note, the parking is first come-first served and there are not enough parks if the place is full (which it was when we were there). Considering what we paid per night for 2 adults and 2 kids in a shared room with no breakfast (and the 2 kids were a substantial extra charge), this was not exactly a cheap stay. One real quibble here is that while the internet WiFi is stated as free, it is rationed out by a voucher/password with very limited (2Gb) download: fine for an overnight but for us (family of 4, all with iPhones etc) we ran out several times and some of the desk staff make you feel unwelcome when asking for a replacement voucher... Considering the substantial extra charge we already paid to have 2 kids with us, this is really not good enough in this day and age. Please just remove this limit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The hotel is old and tired definately in need of a total overhaul, I have absolutely no idea how they get away with passing themselves of as 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barossa Valley

Stay at the Meridian

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: The Himilayan Kitchen is the best restaurant in Melbourne Street
I have stayed at this hotel for many years. I enjoy the security, locality and car parking that is available. This is still my preference in Adelaide.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Stay away

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Parkibg, clearer room inclusions.
Location: Location was very good
When I booked for 2 adults and two children aged 12 amd 10 I expected to have bedding for 4. Instead there was a king bed and pull out sofa. When I asked for someone to sort this out the manager told me this was what I had booked, she was very rude and told me i had presumed wrong. Then the following morning i was ubable to get out of carpark as a car was blocking the exit, cars were banked up and i had to wait for the dar owners to leave as they staff didmt take number plates on checking in. This was annoting but became ridicilous when the same thing happened the following morning. Not sure what safety regulations are in SA but inagibe of there was an emergency , I would never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Country S.A

Reception staff but terrible heating

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: It was OK
Cons: Clean toilets and fix heating, especially for the winter months.
Stayed one night, reception staff were pleasant. Room was OK but the heating was terrible we could not get the room warm enough, it was a reasonably cold night in Adelaide as well. Only one bathrobe in room and the front of the toilet bowl was dirty GROSS!! When booked stated there was plenty of parking which there wasn't when we arrived at checkin at 2pm, street parking was limited and was metered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Well placed for our needs on the night

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Well placed for our needs on the night
Well placed for our needs on the night. Well placed for our needs on the night. Well placed for our needs on the night.