Ratings based on 2,135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide South Australia

Good hotel close to the park lands and the CBD

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Close to the horses who where in the 3 day equestrian event. Lovely base to come back to at the end of the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Cons: The lift is very old & needs to be updated! Soundproofing the rooms, make the room doors quieter when they close.
Close to city centre. Near to public transport. OK place to stay - but a bit tired & old fashioned - in need of updating!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

In desperate need of a total makeover

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all, we stayed one day and left in a hurry
Cons: It is in desperate need of a complete renovation. The pool is outdated, the paint is chipped and peeling all over, the lift is a nightmare and stops working at 11.30 pm, internet access is non existent. It is so far below the image projected on Expedia it would be very close to breaching advertising standards. It should be removed from the Expedia web site immeadiately.
Location: Located in the south part of town, noisy and not close to any of Adelaide's best amenities
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy and not for the tourist

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The bed was very comfortable. This is the best I can say
Cons: For the time we were staying, Unley road which was located about 50 meters from our room was dug out and resurfaced each night from 11:00 pm until about 4:00 am. We finally got a good night's sleep only to be awakened at 8:00 am by repairs being conducted in the adjacent room. I am sure our timing was not great for our stay at this hotel. We left two days early, we needed sleep.
Location: It is close to everything you need in Adelaide
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at Chifley organised for a Gathering held at

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: good location chosen for proximity to Pulterney Grammar School
The hotel is dated and needs an upgrade. Lift was a bit iffy and there was no Wi Fi. Staff were terrific.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

An old classic, but very tired

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Staff were lovely
Cons: Refurb needs to happen.
Location: Good location away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but on the fringe of the city
The room was ok, bed comfy, bed linen crisp and pillows good. But the whole hotel is old and getting very tired. Needs a big refurbishment. But the price was right! The parking makes it difficult if u have bags. There's stairs to get down or you have to wheel your bags down the ramp, which is not fun. The elevator is old and jerky! But I had a nice stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mount Gambier

Good location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
First day there no milk in room for coffee or tea. Went and asked for some that was ok but half hour later had to go and ask again. Next day room was not cleaned properly and coffee cups not cleaned,next day bed was made properly but cups still dirty just not good enough for the cost of the room. Elevator could do with some work it is better than a ride at the show.If you had a bad back it may cause a problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Slightly above average

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was comfortable and nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobart

Good for the price

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Wotif
The Chifey has heaps of character with some terrific architectural features of a lost age. The balconies that run the full length of the building looking over the adjacent parks are a real treat. The rooms are tidy. But in other areas it is not aging well and has the feel of a place on the decline. It's good value for the location and price however, and a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Nice price