Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This was our fourth stay at Pinecliffs and it never disappoints - beautifully relaxing offering courses for kids and relaxation for adults. However, whilst we stayed in the Golf DeLuxe Suite and the houses close to the main part in the oast which were all nicely furnished and 5*, we this time booked a standard suite via Expedia which was close to the entrance with an old fashioned air-conditioning system, an outdoor space we could not use due to the noise of the air con system and the oldest washing machine in the world. Make sure you book the proper 5* accommodation, otherwise you may be disappointed. The rest of the resort remains beautiful we did not manage to have one family dinner below €200 - with the current exchange rate this made the resort more expensive for us than eating out in London. The Japanese and PiriPiri restaurants are top - the others good but not outstanding. Reasonably kids menus are available in all restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We've been to Pine Cliffs every year since 2013 and it's been really good but this year the villa was dirty in places (someone's hair on the dryer and hair bobbles in the corner of the bedroom). We also struggled to get a sun lounger when it was obvious with some people that they "reserved" the sun loungers with their towels having gone away for over an hour. We asked the towel man about this and all he said was "sorry no room". For a five star hotel we would've thought we would get better service. As mentioned we have been visiting every year and this year we have noticed the standards have dropped a little making it feel less five star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East UK

Great holiday lovely resort

Posted Jun 4, 2017
On our first visit to the Pine Cliffes resort we were all pleasantly surprised how spacious, relaxed and family friendly it was. Good facilities for our 11, 7 & 7 year old boys. Food was great and our townhouse accommodation was good. As we were thgood at the end of May the pools and seas were okay temperature wise and we had great weather generally. We will visit again!
5 out of 5
by Carrie

We love it!!

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Really love it here, first cane 11 years ago and although it's grown in size the location and staff are amazing. Restaurants and bars expensive but plenty of other options in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was the hotel actually open for paying guests!

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Not very much this time
Cons: Communication with guests!
Having visited pine cliffs many times it was quite a surprise to find so many venues closed!we know the resort very well and looked forward to the post construction results. Unfortunately the resort was pretty much taken over by a large convention of circa 700 who dominated everything!we were given no information at check in about the event and what the impact would be.restaurants open one night but not the next . Corda closed completely for event;pescador open and closing with no prior warning.the staff seemed to be as ill informed as us as to what what happening on a day to day basis. Even the driving range closed for the !Indeed we were made to feel we were getting in the way most of the time! Wonderful business for pine cliffs but terrible holiday for us.perhaps time to try one of the other 5 star locations.no point in being loyal to pine cliffs as clearly not reciprocated. Not good enough pine cliffs!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Avoid the Apartments - 3 star not 5.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Lovely location. Walkable to beach, 6 outdoor pools were really too cold to use this time of year even though temp is 25C but there was an indoor pool
Cons: Outdoor pools should be heated, Prices in restaurants could be reduced by 30% to make them reasonable.
Location: Beach, Vilamoura Harbour, Albufeira town.
Just back from a 10 day stay. We booked the apartments but were so disappointed that we upgraded at some cost to the townhouses. The apartments are really dated, bathroom tiles cracked and bath/shower base cracked. The apartments also face the access road and main road so suffered from some road noise at night. They are also quite dark and depressing more like 3 star which is made worse by the fact that its a 5 star resort. When we were there they were doing alot of maintenance to the apartment area; avoid these at all costs. Hotel restaurants very expensive for both food and drinks but I guess it may not be any different to other 5 star resorts. There is several supermarkets/restaurants within walking distance so suggest go there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from coventry Uk

Breathtaking sea view and cliffs .. private beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The pine cliffs residences are perfect for a family . They are cleaned daily and all staff are very friendly and helpful
Cons: Some of the restaurants could offer faster service .
Location: Everything is on the resort but there are supermarkets and restaurants just outside the resort .
A truly pleasurable experience with staff ready to accommodate your every need . The breakfast is super and sets you up for the day . I would not hesitate in recommending this resort as it offers stunning views of a high standard . A lovely family experience .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pine cliffs

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great hotel stunning views beach fantastic breakfast great some rooms fantastic some definitely not lots of walking Outdoor pools look so beautiful but you need wetsuit to enjoy them so so cold the sea was warmer and that was cold Overall very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice but...

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pine Cliffs is a very family / kids friendly place. Undoubtedly. And it is stunning. Really beautiful architecture and facilities. With pools to choose from everyday and a beach on its footsteps. Rooms are more like apartments which makes the stay comfortable for pre ta too. But... And there is a couple of big ones. The staff seemed untrained and unprepared to deal with the Easter period rush. Many mistakes were made. Taxis and tickets were not booked, some missed activities and disappointment to manage with the children. Room service would take 60-90 minutes sometimes. And still come with mistakes. Our internet services which all guests have to pay extra for was cut at 6am in the morning of our checkout (when we paid for it until checkout time at 10Am). It took them 2 hours to resolve this and put the Internet back up. And yes, be prepared to pay extra for absolutely everything. Nothing is included in the room you've booked. So for a 5 star hotel and for how much one pays to stay at Pine Cliffs, this is frankly not good enough.
5 out of 5
by Davinder

We loved it.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
We had a really great time at Pine Cliffs. We stayed in one of the Golf Suites, 2 bedrooms and living area. Room was very clean and modern furnishings. Kitchen had all major utensils, cooker, oven, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. The resort itself was beautifully kept. Multiple restaurants (though because of the time of year that we went - first week of April - quite a few of the restaurants were not open yet). Private beach with lift from the cliffs to the beach level was awesome. Beautiful cliff-top, and beach level bar. Resort really well thought out for kids - ramp access everywhere great for pram. Amazing playground with 2 life-size pirate ships, volleyball, basketball, bouncy castle, mini golf. Multiple swimming pools - majority of them outdoors (a bit cold in April as they weren't heated), but the indoor pool was heated and beautiful. Other facilities that we didn't use: gym, daycare facilities. Close to Zoomarine theme park, which is also worth a look. We had a great time, and would definitely consider going again.