Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel, great pool and location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We were really impressed. The pool area is fantastic and the guy who oversees the bar etc at the pool is really friendly. The decor in the rooms is outdated now however our room (floor4) was really big, had everything you need and the most amazing view from the balcony The breakfast was great - good selection of food that was constantly being replenished. Some days we were offered eggs, other days we weren't! There was a lot to choose from and the coffee was nice The staff are not overly friendly however they were obviously working hard and were helpful. I would definitely come here again, the location is amazing The restaurant was great for a lunch on our first day but pretty pricy- it scored high on trip advisor however we didn't eat there for dinner which was partly due to the lack of menu anywhere in the hotel - I would have expected one in the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bs. As.

Gute Lage, schlecht eingestelltes Personal

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Generell ist das Hotel von der Ausrichtung in den 70 Jahren stehen geblieben. Das Frühstück ist unterdurchschnittlich, das Personal lustlos. Die Zimmer sind von der Ausstattung her unausgewogen. Lange, dunkle Korridore. Kein Bewegungsfreiraum am Pool. Nur dank der Vermittlung der Eigentümerin konnten wir unser Aufenthalt verkürzen und in ein anderes Hotel ziehen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nr London

Very friendly hotel with wonderful views

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: We loved the views from every room and the friendliness of the staff. The food for breakfast, dining and at the poolside bar was very good.
Cons: A kettle in the bedroom to make teas or coffee would have been useful.
Location: The Ravello Festival was taking place with a couple of outdoor concerts each week through the summer. Just an hour away from Pompeii and Herculaneum
We were made very welcome. Every single room in the hotel had amazing views over the coast. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of fresh fruit, cereals, freshly baked pastries eggs, ham and cheese. We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was a wonderful start to our week long stay. We would definitely return to this lovely hotel in such a beautiful location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall OK experience

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We booked a standard room at the hotel and when we got there it was nothing like the pictures. Walls were cracking, the furniture was old and worn out, the bathroom had mold. We did not want to stay in that room for even a night so we asked if we can be switched to another room. The only nice option was the superior room which we had to pay extra for. The superior room was like a standard room in any other hotel. The morning breakfast was great and had many options. The view and the pool made up for the room disappointment but when booking be sure to book at least a superior room if not a suite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sorrento

nel complesso una buona esperienza

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: centralità e panorama
Cons: restyling arredamento che sembra un pò vecchiotto
Location: hotel fuori il tunnel che accede la piazza principale di ravello, a fianco "Auditorium Oscar Niemeyer", vicino alla villa rafulo
Albergo centralissimo, quasi nella piazza di Ravello e vicino l'auritorium. Personale molto gentile che ci ha accompagnato in camera per il check-in e ci ha gestito l'auto nel parcheggio e ci hanno recuperato una borsa dall'auto portandocela fino in camera. Stanza nella norma, molto pulita, ma un pò da ristrutturare nel senso che si vede che l'arredo è vecchiotto, vista mozzafiato... Il ristorante non l'ho provato, in compenso ho provato la colazione facendo un assaggio dei vari panettoni proposti. Panettone di carote era decisamente datato Panettone di mele era decisamente datato credo Panettone cacao e forse noci era buono I primi due entrambi del giorno prima... Cornetti ottimi, succo di frutta all'arancia io non l'ho gradito, ma sarà stato il mio gusto personale. La piscina era splendida, l'acqua fredda un panorama mozzafiato. Molte persone mettono le asciugamani che fornisce la piscina e poi vanno via e così a volte non si trova posto, ma chiedendo al ragazzo che la gestisce subito ha risolto togliendo le asciugamani incustodite e facendoci accomodare. Nel complesso una buona esperienza.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC Metro Area

Overpriced 3 star hotel at best

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: wonderful view but that's where it ends.
Cons: customer service; breakfast buffet needs an overhaul; water stained ceilings and walls; plumbing in the hotel in general; we could go on......
Location: Restaurant Vittoria in Ravello's main square offers a well priced, high quality meal w/ great customer service. Villa Maria also fab but expensive.
Just got back from an 8 day stay at Graal. As others have said, the views are fantastic & are the single selling point of this hotel. Only other benefit is it's location which is a 5 min walk from the main square of Ravello. We travelled to Ravello for a wedding & had family staying at other hotels e.g. Villa Maria Hotel; Giordano Hotel. Had we not already paid Expedia for our stay at Graal we would have checked out & stayed at the similarly priced Hotel Giordano. At it's very best hotel Graal is an overpriced 3 star hotel. Room was clean but run down with shabby decor & cheap, badly designed showers. 3 days into our stay the air conditioning unit was leaking over our bed & we had to move rooms. Enough said. Daniel, who worked at the front desk for the evening shift, was very helpful & polite. The pool bar owners wife was also lovely. However, overall we found the staff largely indifferent & frankly, at times, rude. Breakfast was awful. As another reviewer noted the 'fresh fruit' was just left uncut in a bowl covered in ice & appeared spoiled. You can have a plain omelette with the bfast buffet but to add cheese will be an additional 5 euros. We were advised by a friend not to eat dinner at hotel Graal & once we'd eaten bfast we could see why & thankfully dodged that bullet. Lunch at the pool was actually fine. The melon & prosciutto was good. Pity it was never offered during the bfast buffet. We will never return to Graal. Expedia got it very wrong on this one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

2 Days in Ravello

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Location to Ravello city center and the restaurant for dinner.
Cons: The electrical buzzing noise in our room (143) and the shower needs to be replaced.
Location: We were in town for a wedding but took a trip to the nightclub Africans in Amalfi which was fun.
The hotel was convenient to the city center and offered the amenities I wanted. The pool was nice and had a great view (but they all do up there). Parking was a plus but we did have to pay 15 euro/day for it. Restaurant was definitely a must for dinner and offered a real high end at very reasonable priced choices. The room was average and had some sort of buzzing noise from the ceiling by the door like a transformer power noise but it was not loud enough to not get to sleep. Breakfast was included but a far cry from the other included breakfasts we had while at other hotels while in italy. Staff was pleasant and the room was clean. The stand up shower needed to be replaced as it had a crack on the floor of the shower basin that was poorly patched and the paint was bubbled and flaking from age/rust underneath. We had a very small balcony which only fit one folding chair on it but a nice view. Overall a 4 star review seems appropriate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb views over the Amalfi Coast.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent inclusive breakfasts
Cons: Nothing of great significance
Location: Good cheap bus service to Amalfi and other resorts
Very enjoyable stay and friendly staff. Roads very difficult to drive on due to their narrowness and the antics of other drivers and scooter riders. Bus service is cheap and efficient to all parts of the coast. Doubtful whether a hire car is required.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salerno

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: la vista dalla camera e la posizione centrale
Hotel con posizione strategica (a due passi dal centro e dai servizi) e vista mozzafiato sul golfo. Personale (reception) cortese e disponibile. Struttura sicuramente da risistemare (un'imbiancata ne gioverebbe) camera "suite executiv" spaziosa, pulita con terrazzino carino ma comunicante bagni puliti. Un buon tre stelle. Di quattro stelle solo i prezzi.....
4 out of 5
by Helen from Leicester

A great welcome in a hotel with fabulous views

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Welcoming friendly staff, great central location, excellent restaurant, fabulous views