Ratings based on 2,242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconsistent

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: close to museums great breakfast at a reasonable price staff was friendly quieter part of town
Cons: room service and amenities - there were no washcloths, had to ask for facial tissue, did not find the bed made very well - sheets were untucked
Location: great for museums
All the staff was friendly. There were a couple of inefficient workers and then a few really great. Line up at the reception desk at times, another competent assistant would have been appreciated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Typical Best Western

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and odor in the basement rooms
Location: I was there for work, and it was across the canal from the office I was visiting. There was a nearby boat tour I did, but otherwise I can't say.
This hotel was recommended by colleagues for its proximity to the office. I was surprised to receive a room in the basement. It was sub-level, so my window looked out at feet walking on the sidewalk. The room was decent enough: floor, walls and ceiling. It was nothing to write home about. Because it was in the basement, it was very cold and clammy, and I think there were hotel restrooms in the basement, too, because there was a distinct smell of bathroom/urine in the hallways. The room bathroom was oddly shaped with a semi-clear frosty door that would've been very awkward had I had a roommate. There were strangely placed mirrors including a big one in the shower (no bath) that I really did not like. There was no place to put your things (clothes or towel) during a shower, so I ended up dripping all over just to reach my towel I placed on the toilet. And the door to the shower stall was this big glass thing, so it didn't quite close, and the shower leaked onto the floor. I think it's just the weird modern theme they were going for, but I wasn't digging it. There was an OK breakfast that I guess was not included, though it was an open buffet so I mistakenly thought it was included. The location was prime though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

over-booking : pas d'hôtel ! merci!!!

Posted May 8, 2016
Cons: les réservations
décevant n'est-ce pas, d'arriver dans une ville inconnue à 18h du soir pour se faire dire qu'il n'y avait pas de chambre pour nous malgré notre belle réservation bien imprimée!! petit problème d'informatique.. en fait un vrai over-booking. On nous a offert une chambre à 3 km plus loin du centre ville où nous voulions évoluer y compris le soir mais plan devenu obsolète.Je souhaite avoir un remboursement de cette réservation non honorée. J'attends une réponse construite et efficace.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

amazing location and very comfy

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: location location location
Cons: there was no shampoo in the room... that's all
Location: Leidsplein, Museumplein, vondel park, shopping, many tram stations, Rookies
it was our 4th time in this hotel. very nice staff, helpful. the hotel is quiet and new, has 2 buildings, the second one doesn't have an elivator, so we asked to change rooms and there was no problem. the location is amazing! one building away from Reichsmuseum and 3 minute walk from the tram or leidsplein or the park... breakfast usually not included, but it looks very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super hotel voor een weekend musea bezoeken.

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Vriendelijk personeel. Mevrouw van het ontbijtbuffet was zeer vriendelijk en herkende ons de volgende ochtend wat zeer sympathiek overkomt.
Cons: De herrie van het afzuigsysteem op het dak heeft mij uit mijn slaap gehouden
Location: Zoals ik al vertelde perfecte locatie voor museumbezoek en uitstapjes in Amsterdam.
Een weekend Amsterdam met bezoeken aan het Rijksmuseum, Amsterdams museum, het Stedelijk museum en de Nieuwe Kerk. Het hotel ligt op 5 minuten lopen van het museumplein en van de tramhalte. Zo ongelooflijk makkelijk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Mar 23, 2016
My wife looked for a deal, we found ourselves in a closet sized room for two days. No warning from staff on check in what we are in store for. Stay away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bremen

Angenehmes Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Hotel super gelegen, Bushaltestelle für den Bus 197 vom/zum Flughafen quasi um die Ecke beim Rijksmuseum(5 € einfache Fahrt) Trotz meiner frühen Ankunft um 11 Uhr morgens, bekam ich sofort ein Zimmer! Auf meinen Wunsch, ruhig und zum Innenhof ging man sofort ein! Gute Ausstattung, als Einzelperson super, zu zweit sollte man die Größe des Zimmers bedenken( klein) und Intimsphäre durch offene Glastür zum Bad nicht gegeben:) Etwas hellhörig am Wochenende, aber fand ich nicht tragisch. Es war sauber und modern eingerichtet. Frühstück kleinere Auswahl, 10,25€ wenn man es an der Rezeption vorab bucht. Auch hier sehr nettes Personal, auf Extrawünsche ging man sofort ein. Am letzten Tag war auch ein deponieren des Koffers überhaupt kein Problem. Ich würde definitiv wieder kommen! Angenehm!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Close to the musuem

Posted Mar 14, 2016
I stayed here that last few days of my trip, besides a small hiccup during check in the hotel was great especially the housekeeping staff and the staff in the dining area! If you are seeking a warm Dutch welcome and service stay here.
3 out of 5
by Gisella

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Great location and helpful staff

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: the look the style and location
Location: Perfect in the heart of the city near lots of places very accessible to the museum restaurants everything
Really a great time with a really nice hotel in a great area for a good price . Would definitely consider returning.