Ratings based on 3,751 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing from start to finish.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
What a stunning hotel. We stayed here as a birthday treat. To be upgraded and have beautiful flowers in my room was such a beautiful touch. Amazing pool and sauna area. With great massages. The amazing staff can not do enough for you during your stay. Will stay here Again and again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from osaka

ヨーロッパの趣きのあるホテル

Posted Sep 22, 2016
今までに泊まったことのない大変趣のあるホテルでした。 部屋は天井が高くとてもゆったりとした感じです。サービスは、部屋の冷蔵庫にある飲み物は無料で、毎日補充してくれます。また、エスプレッソマシンでは、美味しいコーヒーをいつでもいただけます。地下にあるスパは、朝7時から夜11時まで使い放題、ほぼ貸切状態でした。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Quirky and interesting just like the city

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The room was very spacious. The hotel itself is what others would consider a little dated but I found it very quirky and interesting, honoring the history of the building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the center

Posted Sep 20, 2016
It was beautiful experience with nice staff. We also would like to thank Peter for being very helpful during our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario

great central location in a lovely century site

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: clean, great location
Cons: airconditioning
Warm quick check in, friendly staff, beautiful old building, spacious renovated rooms, however we were there during a very hot day and no air conditioning, it was a warm nights sleep. We are told it does not happen often. It was easy to get around on foot or tram and explore.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from moscow. Rusia.

Hotel en pleno centro

Posted Sep 16, 2016
punto estratégico cercano todo. Restaurantes. El desayuno tipo buffet excelente. Me encanto todo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to central station

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location , very friendly staff
What a lovely hotel, located about 5 minutes walk to central station and 10 minutes to Dam Square. The hotel is huge, a myriad of corridors as this is a heritage building, rooms large and well furnished with mini bar, kettle and large bed, with beautiful linen. Bathroom is also large with lovely toiletries. We asked for a fan as there is no aircon and it was a hot Few days, but this is an o,d building, with high ceilings, so didnt really feel the heat too much. Don't let the lack of aircon stop you from staying there. Lovely pool and wellness centre, very relaxing after a big day walking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Little Getaway Trip

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Our stay was for that of a special occasion and our stay here did not falter to make it that indeed. From all the other excellent reviews on this quirky popular place, I decided to go ahead and book for just 2 nights. From the booking, with a few requests that were fully met and exceeded, to the checkout, the service and sense of being a valued guest were exemplary. Up on arrival, we discovered the location to be ideal - a 10 minute walk from central station but far enough to for any noise to be diminished - from our room anyway. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff who made us feel welcome and kindly give us plenty of advice and recommendations during our stay - nothing was too much trouble. The doorman Peter deserves a mention as his politeness and knowledge was excellent. Onto the room, absolutely breathtaking, I dont know what people would have to complain about - a Junior Suite Room with the nice added touch of a glass of champagne for our special occasion! Electric Curtains, Superior king bed, luxuries bathroom with 2 sinks shower and bath, minibar included in the cost replenished every day, wonderful scenic view of the canal, beautiful decor. The hotel is quirky and quaint, an old shipping yard from 1902 and the hotel has kept all its heritage and characteristics still to the modern day without feeling too ancient. The hotel is the star attraction especially during the river cruises that sail past their, as the tour guide said, it does resemb
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD, USA

Quirky in a nice way.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Built recently in an old shipping office, this hotel has an interesting mix of old world elegance and modern amenities such as accessible outlets for plugging stuff in. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. There is a very nice Concierge office off the lobby where one is offered a seat at a table to confer, spread out maps, etc. We dealt mostly with a gentleman named Aco who was incredibly helpful on everything from routine tickets and transportation to helping arrange a blood test. One unusual amenity here is that the well stocked minibar/refrigerator is free of charge. The location of the hotel is about a ten minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station, which is the city's main transportation hub for trains, busses, subways and trams. One nice thing about this is that it makes getting "home" from almost anywhere in the city a piece of cake. Just get on the next thing that comes by with "Central Station" on the front of it. The weather was fine during our visit. If it hadn't been, I imagine that 600m walk from Central Station would have gotten a bit old after a while; but not to worry, there is a bus stop right next to the hotel where every bus is going either to or from there!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic Stay!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Everything is pretty perfect.
Cons: The Spa was a bit busy on Saturday afternoon with people reserving the loungers whilst in the pool and sauna. Breakfast is quite dear at 25 Euros.
Location: Location is excellent and the added bonus is that one of the best bars in Amsterdam, Café Pollux, is only 50mtrs away.
The hotel is great! Second stay for me and it was very good again.