Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

my stay at the grand view hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean and the rooms were good sized
Cons: If I owned this hotel I would provide the things I say I have ie in a handy capped room there should be (1) a walk in shower (2) a lower bed
Location: nothing to say I didn't get out to look at anything
I am sorry to have to say I did not have a comfortable stay with the the Grand View. I am a handy capped senior and was unable to get up and stay on the bed, I asked the desk clerk for a foot stool, I was told they don't have any. they moved me to the handy capped room I had the same problem. I had to sit up two nights and try to sleep. I must say I felt that I should not have had to pay for this room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska Interior

Weekend Karaoke—Goes Till Midnight

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: Lower wintertime rates, especially for residents of Alaska traveling for sports.
We were there for hockey for my middle schooler & his team. The karaoke on both Friday and Saturday nights made me glad I brought earplugs! I recommend asking for a room away from the lobby area on those nights, if you have a choice. Also, $90 seemed a bit steep for not offering a breakfast. But the ladies at the front were great—helpful and friendly. I'm not opposed to staying here again, but it likely won't be my first choice, especially for a team.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad but walls are thin

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Sound proofing??
Location: It's Wasilla so there's plenty to do and places to dine.
Overall not too bad. No heat in our room so we had to move since maintenance wasn't available. Walls are super thin, but the staff were pretty good so that helped make up for what it was lacking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Rooms are not heated during the winter, in Alaska, until a guest walks in the door and turns on the weak, wall heater. Our room was 40 degrees when we walked in. Front desk clerk was in a personal phone call when we arrived and took her time completing it. Once done she didn't greet us or apologize, but simply said 'name.' We rented know of the suites with a jetted tub and found that none of them are located on the side of the building with the grand view, instead we had a view of the Parks highway. Finally, we found that the jetted tub in our room was broken. After being told that the only other room available was on the first floor where a bunch of students were staying and it would be loud, they sent the maintanence person. He quickly determined that it couldn't be quickly fixed and then magically another room was available, that was 40 degrees... Never once did anyone from the hotel apologize for hassles we had.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Quite hotel. Wifi available in main lobby only. Rooms were large.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEVER AGAIN, WILL I STAY THERE!

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible, my room was $80 and incidental charge is $287.50 and they really don't care if you think that outrageous way over 300%. They are proud if them self's.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy and quiet

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Not fancy by any means but clean and quiet - and the view is great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ak

comfort

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
easy to stay here.