Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tawas City, MI

Nice quaint hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: It's closeness to shopping and restaurants.
Location: There is shopping close. Good restaurants are right around the block. Easy walking. The trolley is a block away.
Loved the location of this hotel. We were within easy walking distance to downtown shopping and restaurant. It is not so big as to be impersonal. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was a beautiful old bar. The bathroom was old but quaint and immaculate. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Location, historical aspects, breakfast included
Location: Downtown location convenient to train station
Did not have air conditioning but did have an electric fan which was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Nice hotel in downtown of Anchorage

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to food and attraction. Friendly hotel staff.
Cons: The room is a little bit small, and looks outdated, but I think it is a historic hotel, and it is very clean and has almost everything.
Location: visitor center, brewer house restaurant, museum
It was a nice and warm hotel in the center of everything. The visitor center is just across the street. 5 mins walking distance to a small waterfront park. The staffs are very nice and friendly. Even though, it's a small hotel, but it dose have a meeting room and fitness center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2016
I checked in late, around 11:00. It was a Friday night and impossible to find a parking spot. I had to park a couple of blocks away in a park and pay spot which cost $12. The front desk clerk was not friendly either. The room is old and I could feel the springs in the bed. You could hear the outside traffic so it was noisy. The next morning when I turned on the shower, pure rust came out. I had to let the water run for a while. for what I paid I could have gotten a much better room elsewhere. Wouldn't recommend staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice... Quite

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Would recommend it to anyone looking to stay downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jnu

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Warm personal place with accommodating staff really notice you and your needs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Marginally better than hostel

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Check out. And the pleasant staff.
Cons: Refurbishment
Location: Right in downtown, above a huge gift shop which played amphlifed loud music from 8am to 8pm, close to the railroad station (10minutes walk)
We booked 3night based on the good rating,and found it well below. The hotel is very old and not well maintained, room is tiny,not even have towl rail in the bathroom,no sound proof at all. Breakfast is cold and poor, used paper bowl to have cereal !!! Hotel is opposite Hard Rock cafe which palys loud musice till late. Unfortunately we stayed during USA's labor day long weekend,music stopped at midnight, then funny peopel cruising in noisy vehicles around the block till 3am, this happened all 3 nights, we only can have 4 hour good sleep everynight. In short the hotel is way over priced for what you get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Pricey stay at historic older hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Hotel is right downtown. Historic old hotel charm.
Cons: No parking, only options are park on the street or an open lot a couple blocks away. Most room views are of a concrete wall, so check first.
Location: Right downtown so easy walking access to everything.
Good place if you want historic hotel charm and downtown access. Very pricey for what you actually get at the end of the day. If you want more modern luxury, there are better options right next door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unable to sleep here due to street noise.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel was quaint, the staff friendly and the rooms comfortable (except for the noise issue).
Cons: Needs noise abatement improvements.
The most important thing to me when staying in a hotel is being able to get a good night's sleep. I stayed in this hotel in August on a Saturday night. My room faced the street and the noise was unlike anything I have ever experienced at any other hotel. From 11pm to 3:30 am there was constant loud noise from folks out partying- it sounded like New Year's Eve, but still going at 3 am! It also sounded like drag racing was going on outside my window. Obviously, Anchorage does not have any law enforcement when it comes to excessive noise at those hours. I know the hotel cannot control this, but they should not put guests in rooms where the noise level cannot be reasonably managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aspen, CO.

Favorite hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Beautiful large rooms, new furniture, great beds, great staff. We like this hotel better than all hotels in Alaska, it was charming. We stayed at what is rated the best hotel in Anchorage the week prior - The Captain Cook, but found the rooms cold & plain there. So happy we booked the Historic.