Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Beautiful private cottages with exceptional views

Posted Nov 26, 2016
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 days, 4 nights. What I liked most was the location, views, scenery. There are only on average 57 couples staying here so it was never over-crowded. The food was very good for an all-inclusive. The drinks were weak, but I expected that. What I didn't like about this report is that the beach is public, so all the local residents on the weekend took over the entire beach. Hundreds of loud obnoxious kids were screaming and causing chaos. The staff was very courteous and even alarmed the guests to hide their personal belongings if they go in the water. After an hour we decided to stay in the resort pool just to escape the noise. The staff was very wasn't and helpful. If you're looking for quiet, small, beautiful scenery and a nice getaway, then I recommend this resort. Just be mindful of the weekends when the beach becomes over-crowded with local residents.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Amazing!!!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: I loved everything about Cocobay! The view is breathtaking. I really enjoyed watching all the butterflies, birds, and lizards. I loved that it was adults only and there were so many other honeymooners, like us. We stayed in Green Fig and it was wonderful!
Cons: The a/c wasn't so great. As much as we wanted to keep our door open, we couldn't. It was just way too hot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Best vaca ever - will never go anywhere else!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Wadadli boat trip - all day trip, worth every penny and a must do! Staff is amazing, sights are fantastic and a great lunch!
This resort exceeded my expectations. The staff was all amazing, knew our names by day two and were so friendly - constantly asking if we needed anything. The food was amazing, 5 star gourmet and the menu changes daily. Our room was spotless, the bed extremely comfortable. I did not give an "excellent" score to the Hotel Staff and the facilities due to the following: The pools have quite a bit of mildew/algae under the edge. I am not being picky, it is very obvious and I think this could be cleaned very easily. "Robert" who runs the water sports and the towel area was very, very rude. And I am not the only one that felt that way. I was terrified to even inquire about taking a kayak out again or asking about towels. I am not quite sure why he works in the hospitality business if he is that miserable. He was the only one that was not friendly though. On a couple of occasions at both bars they were playing music that had EXTREMELY offensive language in it. I was completely shocked. We walked over to Fryes Beach next door to Dennis's bar to have lunch (you MUST go there and try the ribs) we walked a little ways down the beach and my bag was stolen by someone that was hiding behind a bush. I had put it down for a second and wondered away just a few feet - lost camera, ipads, iphone, credit card, phone - everything. Not the resorts fault and they felt terrible and helped us cancel cards, phones, etc, BE CAREFUL over there!!! Cops were great but never got my bag.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackwood, NJ

Private Sanctuary

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: plunge pool, food, location
Cons: more staff on the grounds to clean up trash left by others. There were empty plastic cups/plates near the beach and near the sun bed.
Location: It was so relaxing we didn't do any excursions. We chose to just embrace the view and relax.
We stayed here for our annual anniversary vacation and it was the best choice! We have the private cottage (TP) with our own personal plunge pool which we took advantage of daily! The food was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. We especially liked our access to the beach where we weren't disturbed by locals and had great views of the island. Definitely a must if you plan a romantic getaway!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Really poor service and arrogant staff

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Antigua is really beautiful l. The hotel is in a very nice place in the island. The staff is really arrogant and won't offer any service...also when you walk to the beach, there is a crowd of locals trying to sell you all sorts of stuff. We enjoyed our time there but I wouldn't book that hotel unless it's a really good price... Also there is no management at the hotel, so you are on your own...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Cocobay Management , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback Rus. As you mentioned, Cocobay is really nice and Antigua is truly beautiful. However, we are extremely disappointed to hear that the staff service was below expectation during your stay. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful to all guests and if there is any indication that we fell short of this mark we will be working tirelessly to address it. There are three beaches around Cocobay and local vendors may approach occasionally, but for the most part you should be able to enjoy an undisturbed trip to the beach. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here and the entire Cocobay team looks forward to hosting you again. Thanks again for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful resort for a honeymoon

Posted Oct 1, 2016
We loved spending the first leg of our honeymoon at Cocobay. We woke up in our premium waterfront suite (Ginger Lily) to a breathtaking view, the service was amazing, and the food at each meal was very tasty. We spent a great deal of our time at our private plunge pool/on our patio, and no time at the resort pool, which is great for a honeymoon. The only minor complaints we had about Cocobay are as follows: 1) they could use better lighting on the grounds at night, and should add lighting to the cottage patios, and 2) when the rooms were cleaned each day, the toiletries and mini fridge were not replenished. That said, we would totally recommend Cocobay for honeymooners or anyone looking for a romantic/quiet/relaxing vacation!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Sheer Paradise

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Beautiful location, wonderful staff and great food - what more could one wish for !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Best hotel i've been to yet!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Insect control.
Location: I rented a car and explored the country. Very good local food.
Awesome stay. Friendly staff. Attentive staff. Comfortable resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Terrific Resort

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Outstanding experience. My wife and I don't require a whole lot of attention, but the staff was very accommodating in making requests happen when we did ask for something. Beach was awesome. Didn't really like being solicited for activities from non-resort people. However, it is a public beach. The views are amazing. Drinks and food were better than expected. We were bummed that Sheer Rocks restaurant was closed for maintenance during our stay, but it isn't part of Cocobay. My recommendation would to take insect repellent (mosquitos) and extra sunscreen. Overall, I would recommend this resort and we will return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Posted Sep 3, 2016
We enjoyed a very restful holiday,the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and beautiful views and beaches everywhere you turned,we could not fault the holiday at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Team Cocobay, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Michelle. We're thrilled that you had a restful stay at Cocobay. Many thanks for your review. It is especially great to know that you found the staff welcoming and helpful - because we do try your best to show all our guests that Antiguan hospitality.