Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

At least there were palm trees and sun...

Posted May 6, 2017
Location: Devils Bridge is a short 5-10 minute walk
I thought my expectations were just too high.... but then I talked to the other guests! From the time we passed through the entrance gates, we were just disappointed. Check-in was easy but as the receptionist was running through some basic information about the resort, her colleague rudely interrupted to tell her to cut it short and just refer us to the "orientation" at 9am the next morning since the lobby was crowded with other guests. In our abbreviated welcome, we DID find out that free wifi was only available in the lobby and by the main pool bar. Use of the in-room wifi would cost $10/day! Also a voluntary donation of $2/day for a local charity would be added to the bill automatically, but could be removed by asking for this to happen upon checkout. At least our room was ready so we quickly took the shuttle directly there. The hilly grounds are well kept and the lush tropical vegetation was welcoming and beautiful. The balcony (room 123) had a beautiful 180 degree view of the bay with a table for four in place. We found the AC to work well and the bed was tolerable. However, NOTHING about the accommodations screams luxury. If you want to feel that you are splurging on yourself and your vacation, stay somewhere else!! The rooms are simply decorated with white walls and tired, old wicker furniture which is extremely uncomfortable. The kitchenette is worn & useless since no food is allowed into the rooms and no bottled beverages are provided at the resort. The water pres
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: We really liked this hotel. The grounds are very beautiful, very clean. The beaches were absolutely beautiful blue waters. The rooms are very nice.
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: The location was nice
When we arrived we were greeted with smiles, and most of all they made you feel very welcomed. Check in was very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

lovely rooms with beautiful climate

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: rooms, beds, staff, good facilities on beaches, free bars, buffet (some nights), mini golf :). breakfast good too, staff very friendly
Cons: the wine, not great, slightly random opening hours bars and restaurants
Location: you can walk to devil's bridge...that's about it.
This was our second time in Antigua. The change in climate by staying on the windy Atlantic coast was marked, much nicer and much less humid, and the evenings were particularly nice. The resort beaches are accessible and safe, though the water very shallow and not great for swimming. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. There is a good selection of inclusive food and drink though not enough quality to make this a highlight of the holiday. The hotel is very remote - we had a car - but without one you would be totally reliant on expensive hired cars or organized tours to get anywhere on the island. Finally, this was much more a resort setting than our previous destination, and although not crowded by any stretch,was at times a little noisy on the beach or restaurant. Overall we liked it through it was difficult to compare with a more expensive, more secluded,and quieter resort - we just concluded it was just that, different and good it it's own way. Would consider going again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely all-inclusive resort

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Two beaches, three pools, water sports and other activities. The facilities are unique. It's not a high rise hotel. It's a myriad of duplex cottages scattered throughout sprawling grounds, each with a private verandah. Most overlook the water. The accommodations are spacious and very comfortable, right down to the kitchenette and the two pedestal sinks in the bathroom. The staff is caring, helpful and knowledgeable. There's a selection of restaurants and bars and beautiful views and all food and drink is included. No reason to leave the resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Decent hotel w/ many activities for families/kids.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This place is not as refined as others we've been to. But, it is clean and relaxed. The equipment choices for water activities is fantastic and you can find good snorkeling off shore if you are willing to venture farther out. (Stay on the right & right sided 2nd cove). The food is fine, not high quality. But, the drinks are great - better than other places. Staff is very friendly. However, they are very set about their food hours & where it's available at any time. Overall, I would definitely recommend it if you want a wonderful family vacation. It has a bit of refining to do if you are looking for something more five-star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Spacious attractive resort hotel.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The size of the resort and rooms are a big plus and the vast majority of the staff made every effort to make the holiday an enjoyable experience.
Cons: Having left feedback on day one of a poor check in expierience, the feedback was the standard customer relations whitewash. In room WiFi $10 a day !!!
Location: Located on two good sandy beaches this is a hotel for a beach holiday as the resort is very remote and there nothing in walking distance of the hotel
After a disappointing check in by a disinterested receptionist which gave a poor impression I was won over by a nice room with good facilities in a resort that never felt crowded even when fully occupied. The resort is a little remote but the facilities on site are complete enough for a good holiday expieriece.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Remote location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Relaxing
Cons: free and improved internet
Location: quite remote
Hotel abit remote, only Long Bay and Devils brigde within walking distance, but enough facitlies on site to cater for most needs. Guests who shout so everyone can hear them, from another country, no respect for other guests Chargeable and poor quality internet
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York.

Nice resort.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Rooms are comfortable. Staff is frendly.
Cons: Food.
Location: Located on east island side. Not a lot of things to do nearby.
Resort located on Atlantic ocean side of the island. Quiet beach in the lagoon. Shallow waters. Therefore good for children. Food average. Not a lot of activities in the evening. Rented car. The roads in Antigua are terrible. A lot of pot holes. Left side driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Close to paradise!!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The big, cosy villa! Good food! Nice staff!
Cons: More variety on menus would be nice! Bike rent at site would be great! The island is so small, you don't need a car!
Location: That's a problem! Except all the water sport there isn't so much to do! Still, a romantic place for honeymoon!!
A wonderful stay at a wonderful place! We loved it! Everything is great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Not a good experience

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly but you could tell that they needed better training. The staff at the beach who would help with water sports was very helpful
Cons: See above, but for most food quality
Location: Devil's bridge which is one of the places to visit in antigua was very close and if you could walk there. Otherwise there was nothing else to do
Food average at the best. Three other restaurants beside the buffet were not open every day, it seems that they had a rotation which restaurant would be open every day. The hotel was all inclusive, but you had to pay $35/ person to dine at Nicole's which according to them was the fine dinning restaurant. Fridge in the room was empty. So much for all inclusive! We had to ask to at least bring a pitcher of tap water, which they never refilled it when they cleaned up the room. I don't know what was the purpose of microwave, plates and utensils when you were not allowed to get food out of restaurant. One day we ordered french fries at the beach bar and grill which was the closest food place to the beach. We were told we could not take the plate out, but there were no paper or plastic plates/containers available. When i asked one of the waiters reluctantly soffered a plastic bread basket which we had to bring it back ( and we did). Room big but not friendly at all. You wanted to get out of the room as soon as you got out of the bed. Last thing. There are no ocean view or front at this hotel. They are waterfront rooms. When I i showed the lady at the front desk that i paid for ocean front room, the lady clearly told me that there are not ocean front or view rooms!!!!!! One more thing: the lamp posts at the main pool were supposed to have 5 bulbs each. The most i could see on each of the lamp posts were 3 bulbs. For a week that i was there i did not see any attempt to replace them