Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking view from the chalet

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The hotel is more remote than others but it is so worth it. The view are spectacular. Special thanks to Jesy, the lady helping you with the tours. She helped us so much at the last minute getting to where we were heading and renting us a car. Super efficient and helpful. We will go back to that place for sure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from u.k.

Quiet and peaceful up in the mountains

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel was quiet and peaceful with wonderful views of Arenal volcano. The staff were always very helpful
Cons: The food and dining staff. Our room had an extremely noisy air conditioning machine.
Location: There are some good trails nearby but that is all.
The hotel was well appointed in beautiful gardens, quiet location perfect for bird watching but too far from La Fortunate, although there is free transport to/from La Fortunta at certain times. Sadly the food is very average so don't expect gourmet cuisine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Property was splendid with AMAZING view of the Arenal Volcano!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel far from everything

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Views of area
Cons: Need better beds, pillows and lights in rooms
Hotel motel is not close to anything. Beds and pillows hard and lumpy. Only plus is views
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc, Canada.

The view is magnificent but...

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The view.
Cons: The cleaning of the room and the food at the restaurant. Better doors to keep the insects out!
Location: canopy, horse back riding, hot springs, volcano visit, Tarzan rope, 4 wheels, kayaking...
Although the room was nice, the beds are stiff and the floor is not clean properly. Insects are able to crawl inside and when I say insects, I'm not talking of ants or small moving creatures NO; I'm talking about the kind that you don't want to squish! When one woke me up because of the noise it was making trying to fly and nocking the door, I just got up to kill the thing when I saw it crawl outside the paper thin space. Let just say I put a towel down the door!!! It was my last night...oufff! Also, once you get there, you don't want to take you car to visit because it takes a good ten and very long minutes to get to the reception because it is up hill and very hard to drive. They even have a board saying " You made it!!!" near the reception. Good thing the people are very nice but I was happy my stay was only for two nights.
3 out of 5
by Jorge from Heredia Costa Rica

aniversario de bodas entre pintura y cables

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Pudo ser mejor si no fuera por que la habitación está ala par de la bodega de mantenimiento y que comienzan a trabajar alas 6 am
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L A, CA

Way up the mountian

Posted Apr 18, 2016
This place is like going back in time to the 50,s. Classic old xtyle Lodge, Great views,, like the hikking and natural locatioñ. Worth staying there for food. And lafortuna is only 20minutes away but seems like a world away. No hussle or bussle here. Our second time was as great as the first
3 out of 5
by Michala from Roskilde

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Personalet var meget hjælpsomme da vi ønskede at flytte værelse fra familierummet, pga. Kryb. Vi fik en juniorsuite istedet, hvilket var fint. Dejlig have, lidt kold pool, smuk udsigt. Maden er elendig, brug ikke penge på at spise aftensmad der. Morgenmaden var mandelfuld og kedelig.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

The view is the only good thing about this place.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The view of the volcano (if you're lucky enough to have a clear day) is absolutely stunning, especially from the Chalet, pool and Jacuzzi.
Cons: The breakfast was unpleasant, lunch and dinner were okay if they managed to get your order correct. Lots of updates needed. Power issue fixed.
Location: It's a 10 minute drive on very bad, pothole-filled, curvy, uphill road from gate to reception. From the gate, many hot springs and Mistico are near.
I spent 3 days in a Chalet at this hotel. When we made it to the reception around 3:30pm (check-in is at 2:00pm), our room was not ready and were told to wait in the lobby and it would be no more than 10 minutes. After 20 minutes, I went back up to the desk and the lady said that the room was ready. We had been sitting right there, yet they did not notify us. When we got to the room, it was very hot, only to find out there was no air conditioning. After opening the windows, we found two of the main windows did not stay open. Then I went to sit in the recliner and noticed that the arm was missing to recline and the footrest was stuck up. I told the front desk attendant about the issue and they did send someone up right away. However, the guy pushed the recliner back in, but did not actually fix it, so we could not enjoy it. Also, the windows, I stuck something in to keep them open, but everyday housekeeping would come shut all the windows, so we came back to a very hot room. The beds were very firm, not great for a side sleeper. Also, the power went out on several occasions, sometimes for hourr, reception was rude when I informed them. One day house keepings just didn't come. Showers were hot for about 3 minutes. We were put on the bottom and the 6 people above us were extremely loud.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View, Nice surrounding. Not really good room

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: View
Cons: Need to improve the curtains, witch fall off 4 times in my stay of one night and didn't cover the hole window. The door lock. The room look old, TV
Location: Best volcano
We got to the place, which is great scenery and the service looked really good but when we got to the room it wasn't so nice.