Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Great!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Views and Location!
Cons: some cheaper options on the dinner menu!
Location: Mystic bridges, La Fortuna, Arenal!
We stayed here with my son and daughter. It is a fairy small campus but felt very intimate and welcoming. Staff were amazing, food was great and the 'jungle experience' was unforgettable. The volcano view from our room was literally picture perfect! We did have a car to support our daily outings and I felt the location was perfect,. It was 20 minutes from town but I wouldn't have wanted to be any closer to the La Fortuna 'hotel run'. I agree with some of the other comments, the la fortuna resorts felt too much like what you might find anywhere else, the lost Iguana is in the jungle! and may not be for everyone, but it truly made our vacation seems more 'Pura Vida' and memorable. Great value, highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Great surprise, very satistied!

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel is located nearthe lake 10 mins away from the other hotel/springs area. The view from the room was amazing! Great service, clean, comfortable and breakfast buffet. Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey.

Perfect oasis away...

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We had an awesome time and what views. The location was quiet and secluded from the surrounding touriste hotels but the closet to all the things that the Arenal volcano has to offer. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Great view

Posted Jul 27, 2016
You must visit the spa, it is superb, and the prices are good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view of the Arenal mountain !!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The location and the view
We prefer quiet places away from busy downtown , this hotel was perfect !! It is located further away from La Fortuna, with an additional 1.5km off the road in the forest. The rooms are spacey with beautiful wooden furniture and the balcony faces the Arenal mountain - simply amazing !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada, Toronto

Nice Hotel, friendly stuff, excellent location!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Great stuff, very helpful, beautiful view to the volcano and jungle. Great food. a bit expensive diner, nice breakfast.
Cons: everything is good. soundproof windows maybe))
Location: Tamarindo hot spa, waterfalls ziplane
Roads good to rent a car. Taxi expensive - 35-30 dollars US each way to fall. Hot spa Tabacon take for sure, it is excellent. Good to take with dinner branch - ten dollars more, total 70 dollars US. but food is very fresh and great. Sun down very early like at 5-30 - 6pm is already very dark, count on it. Everything is possible to pay in dollars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was great and very accommodating. The food was fresh. The view was beautiful. It was very peaceful.
Cons: I didn't find the area around the pool to be as relaxing due to the amount of shrubbery hanging into the area of the pool chairs.
Location: The area is close to everything great especially if you have a car. The bridge where there is free hot spring access is super close.
My family and I stayed at this facility for a week. The views were beautiful, the service was impeccable, the food was great!! It's as if they built this place without disturbing the wildlife, plants or any other part of the jungle. I felt like I was in the middle of and one with nature. This facility is off the beaten path so you have to drive about a mile back off the road to get to it. Those roads are very curvy and elevated so either know how to drive expertly your stick shift or hire a driver if you don't have an automatic vehicle. The rooms are a distance away from dining and all the hills are step on this property. So getting a bit of a workout before and after your meals isn't a problem. You are in the jungle, you will hear the sounds of the jungle all night and day. There is a lot of humidity in this area so the room has a dehumidifier in it to make sure the room stays dry as possible. Caution, you may have to empty this humidifier yourself later in the day and at night. I emptied it approximately 3-4 times because approximately a gallon of water could accumulate over 3-4 hours...no kidding. It is definitely best to have a car but the hotel has contracted out most activities to include transportation so if you don't , you will be alright. A car is best. There is a person available to take you around the property if walking steep hills doesn't sound fun. The service at this facility was great. The food was fresh form the land of No processed food available here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome peaceful refined

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Wow! Loved this hotel. Spa amazing. Pool lovely. Feels like being surrounded by jungle but in comfort. Decorating really outstanding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Very good

Posted Apr 19, 2016
I didn't get the room I bought from Expedia. I Paid for the European plan and they put me in the standard room. When I asked about why I didn't get the European room they said they only have the standard and luxury rooms and European is a Expedia term. After our AC went out they did move us to their luxury room. But this resort is very good and I would have been happy to stay in any of their rooms. The service and food is good and one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. We stayed there last October and it still hasn't lost it's appeal
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Lost Iguana , Hotel Management
Hello David. we apréciate your comment, for the Lost Iguana Resort is pleasure to become part of your trip around Costa Rica. Our standards room, the suit or the villas have been prepared to offer confort and relax , Our International restaurant prepares the best dishes and very different every day, hope to see you again in the Lost Iguana enjoying the Spa with a great massage
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Hidden treasure. Nice relaxed environment.