Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Lack of paradise...More like glorified camping

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and nice. Tour guide was incredible knowledgeable and friendly. Property was beautiful, with many birds and animals.
Cons: Everything about the rooms, beds, bathrooms
We booked this as part of our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. We were supposed to stay for 4 nights. It looked great online, and the reviews seemed to state what we were looking for. While I understand that we were staying in the jungle, I did not expect the jungle to be staying in our room. When we got to our room, we immediately realized that it was not what we were looking for. The room looked dirty. The front door was not sealed properly, and had approximately a 1/2 inch gap around the perimeter, which allowed MANY bugs to find their way in. The "porch" double doors had a 1/2 inch gap on the bottom, as well as a 1/2 inch gap between both doors, again, allowing bugs (which we saw) to enter. I woke up the next morning with multiple bug bites. The bathroom was gross. We refused to walk around without shoes on. The bed was the most uncomfortable thing we ever laid on. The next morning we realized it was just a box spring. We spoke to the staff and they kindly moved us to another room. Unfortunately, the move left us with a queen size bed, when we paid for a king, as well as no view of the volcano, which we also paid for. We tried the room out for the second night stay there, but both doors still had gaps, the conditions were still dirty, and there were still multiple bugs in the room, and now there were ants in the bed. We had it and moved to another hotel. Hotel refused us a refund for the next 2 nights we were supposed to stay, and Expedia has been no help either.
5 out of 5
by Julie from Florida

Rockin Awesome

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
This was an amazing hotel and the service was 5 star !
4 out of 5
by Jose Rodrigo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with great view

Posted May 16, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was top notch, breakfast was delicious traditional Costa Rican food, and the room was adorable. Great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful area.
5 out of 5
by Ruben

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are better options in La Fortuna

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel seemed to have high promise but I had too many issues during my stay. First the door locking mechanism was flaky, second the rain shower had no water pressure. Third the waterfall shower felt like buckets of water being dumped on your head (hint install a diffuser). The pool was closed for renovation during my entire stay. I did get a credit voucher for a nearby hot springs but had to take a paid taxi to get there! The staff seemed indifferent to the guests and I felt many didn't want to be there serving their guests except for the lone receptionist at the front desk. Finally, this place was too far from La Fortuna, you have to take a $10 to $12 shuttle or taxi ride if you don't have a car every time you want to go do something.
4 out of 5
by Regan from Cypress, TX

Remote Tropical relaxation 10min away from town.

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were 3 adults on a photography and sightseeing tour. Upon arrival, you are greeted in the lobby with tropical refreshment, handed your profile tablet ready for quick check-in, and then you are golf-carted up the hill to your room and explained the room operational items. The room was clean upon arrival, just needing the A/C to be activated to cool things down. There is a coffee maker in the room with local coffee packets. There is a closet room safe to secure your items. The daily 6:30am – 9:30am breakfast buffet was included and offered made to order omelets, pancakes, fresh fruit, and a mixture of meats, rice/beans other items. It was changed up for the two days we were there. We chose this hotel due to the remote tropical environment vs. being near downtown La Fortuna with all the noise, traffic. It is a 10 minute cab ride each commute to downtown. At the hotel, your early morning will be very active with birds and loud chirping at the break of daylight ~4:50am, surely to wake you up. The first morning had a howler monkey in the nearby trees. Worth a great morning walk for photography. You will do a lot of walking at this hotel up/down the hill to your villas. Of course you can request the golf cart if needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
- The pool was currently closed, so the hotel was providing free access to a hot springs center located at 5min driving distance (which is fine as far as you have a car, otherwhise you have to wait for one of the shuttles) - Room is big, with a nice view on the Arenal volcano - However bubbles bath was not working - Free yoga courses
4 out of 5
by Rene from West Palm Beach

Peaceful Paradize

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Peacefull retreat away from the crowds,close to Nature and the Arenal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels