Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 15, 2016
This is a place that you can enjoy as a couple or the entire family. Staff was always helpful and polite. The view of the Arenal volcano is amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Amazing paradise in a beautiful town

Posted Jul 13, 2016
I stayed two nights in this wonderful resort with my wife and kid. We had an amazing experience. From the second you arrive the customer service is unlike anything you ever experienced before. They welcome you with a drink and your own concierge gives you a full tour of the property. The room was spectacular with top amenities and beautifully suited. The view of the Arenal volcano is breathtaking. Waking up to that view is more than enough of a reason to stay here. There is your own private jacuzzi in your porch to watch that wonderful view. Then there is the property itself. It is huge with so many things to enjoy and do. The hot springs, located on the property, was my favorite part of my Costa Rica trip, truly a once in a lifetime experience. All of the food was delicious and fresh. The spa was an incredible experience for my wife. Most importantly the customer service by every member there was friendly and professional, they really do make you feel welcome. It was an unreal, amazing experience the two nights we spent there and I will defenitly be back again. Best resort ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, CT

Great hotel with a Disney World feel

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Rooms and service
Cons: Food
Location: All the tours offered by the hotel are super fun - Tubing is not to be missed.
This is a wonderful hotel, but you feel like you are at a Disney Resort Hotel. The nicest one possible, but still feels a little kitschy. Service is great, rooms big and comfortable. Food is above average but not amazing. You are pretty much trapped there for meals because the access road to the hotel is so unpleasant to drive. This is probably why the hotel is not pressed harder to improve their food. See all the other reviews on the food. Exception is the breakfast buffet - terrific! The wait staff is lovely and better than most at other 5 star hotels. We would definitely visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I'm on the fence about this place

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The views, the hotel staff, and the hot springs. The rescue animal zoo is great and our tour guide was amazing.
Cons: The food needs to be improved. The meals I had at other much cheaper hotels was much better. Lunch options need to be greatly improved.
Location: If you stay here you can reach most places in 30 minutes. We enjoyed the canopy bridges near the dam.
The hotel, the views, and the landscaping are amazing and my wife and I picked this place for our anniversary. This is probably the best hotel in the area due to the hillside location and the amount of money spent on the facility design and build. BUT we were very disappointed in the quality of the food. The breakfast buffet is good but for two expect to spend $42 every day. We ate at the other restaurants for lunch and the food was average to below average and the prices were again on the high side. Dinner options are not any better. We ended up eating very average sushi all three nights due to the lack of options. The staff was exceptional in all areas. The hot spring pools are really great BUT again I don't think the room cost per day outweighs the benefits of the hot springs. If you have a bunch of extra money and you don't really care about the value then stay here and eat average food while enjoying the views. I recommend staying somewhere else close by and only visit this place for a day pass to the hot springs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port St Lucie, FL

Spectacular resort and views

Posted Jun 13, 2016
From the moment we arrived, the resort exceeded our expectations. The views of the volcano were phenomenal. The wait staff and bartenders had great personalities. Club Rio had a lot of wonderful experiences like the animal sanctuary and horseback riding.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Perfect Rain Forest Location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff, tours and activities, views, waterslide, pools.
Cons: If it were all inclusive, it would be the perfect place.
Location: The hotel offers for a charge, horseback riding, a small zoo, tubing, rock climbing & excursions. For free, several pools, waterslide, hiking, river.
WOW! It looked like an awesome place to visit from the photos online. It was actually an amazing place to visit, way better than expected. Which is actually the one bad thing that I have to say about it. Had I known the location would have been so perfect to what we wanted to experience, and that they had so many more activities to do at the hotel than I was able to find online, we would have stayed at the hotel longer. We were only there for a couple of nights. Then we were transferring to a different hotel on the beach in Guanacaste. I chose to transfer for three reasons, one the change of landscape, two what I thought was a lack of things to do in comparison, and three, the next hotel was all-inclusive. I hind sight, There is plenty to do (or not do) at the Spa Resort. The landscape is perfect and I did not need to go to the beach (I live by the beach). The food and drinks not being inclusive is costly. You are mainly limited to the resorts bars and restaurants. The Staff was great, food quality was a 4 out of 5, but it was a little pricey. Still well worth it, and I we will be returning as soon as we can!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lots to do

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Nice easy and fun. Lots to do with horses bridges monkeys climbing wall and beautiful swim up bar
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous resort

Posted May 27, 2016
This hotel is a hidden gem. Beautifully designed and maintained. We stayed in the newest building and the rooms were gorgeous...very large, well designed with a great view of the volcano. We went in May and had great weather...and the resort was at about 50% capacity...so service was extremely attentive, though I get the impression it is always very good here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful in every way. Nice and calm in May.

Posted May 18, 2016
The hotel is beautiful, and the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Top Shelf Property!

Posted May 18, 2016
From arrival to departure, this property is certainly one of the finest I've ever enjoyed. The rooms are impeccable and the service staff is exceptional.