Ratings based on 766 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible stay on New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Breakfast selection was very good.
Cons: Keep control of disruptive guests.
First off, we were not given any warning that the parking lot would be full on New Year's Eve and had to have a parking pass for all hotel patrons. It wasn't until we got back late that night and were lucky to find a spot to park, and saw vehicle dashboards had parking passes. When we asked about the pass, the hotel receptionist was very matter-of-fact, surprised that we didn't know we had to have a parking pass. When we first checked in, no one gave any mention of a parking pass. There were a lot of noise disturbances (other guests screaming) until 4:30am so I did not sleep well. The elevator closest to the front of the hotel was also inconveniently out of service. I talked to hotel receptionist the next day to ask about compensation and they were giving all patrons a discount. Since I had prepaid and the manager was not around, they would have to wait for him to arrange special circumstances for me. They promised to call me the next day. I got no call. I called Expedia and that experience of trying to get a refund was a whole separate set of frustrations, but after two weeks, I got a partial refund (thank you). The first Expedia agent I spoke to said the hotel manager can't do anything because I booked through Expedia but Expedia says it's the hotel's responsibility. It became a ridiculous game of whose fault is it but no one was willing to budge to help. Beware when you prepay for a hotel through Expedia. You never know what you'll get from the hotel or Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to downtown

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Nice hotel with great location. Rooms could use updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Great location for UGA football weekends

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: Bathrooms feel a little dated
Location: Downtown Athens; UGA
Highly recommend. Convenient, comfortable, friendly. Adequate parking that is fenced. Would definitely stay again when rooms are available on home game weekends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clarkesville, GA

No complimentary water?!

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: It was cheaper than the regular Holliday Inn up the block.
Cons: Complimentary water as Athens City Water tastes horrible and probably isn't of quality to drink.
This hotel was... okay. The vending machines were lame as a bottle of water is $1 and it is only half the size of a regular bottle of water and a soda can is also $1. The ice machine didn't work at all. Housekeeping was trying to get us out of the room about an hour before check out. I would recommend staying at the regular Holliday Inn a block up the street over this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ga

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Nice hotel. The staff was friendly. The location is close to campus and other local attractions. Decent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coastal SC

Mostly nice

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Very quiet, very convenient, lovely staff.
Cons: Maybe better ventilation/air exchange would help with the musty odor?
Location: Holiday Inn Express in Athens, GA. I went to Sandy Creek Nature Center and the state botanical gardens, and to a fringe festival downtown.
Staff was very kind to this old lady. Gave good directions, except for not telling me I'd have to climb Mt. Everest to get to my concert venue. (It was in walking distance, and I needed to walk after driving about six hours.) They promised I would be safe walking back by myself, and I was. Breakfast staff were spot on in recommending the botanical gardens the next day. Room was well appointed but smelled a little funky/musty. I think a good carpet steam cleaning would take care of that. If you don't mind starting out by walking up hill, it is located within the historic downtown.
3 out of 5
by Rodney

Not pleased.

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was amazing. They were attentive and extremely pleasant. The lobby was clean but the room and 1st floor wasn't very clean. The one thing that bothered me the most was the dog walk area was covered in broken glass. No matter where you went there was broken glass. My trip was planned for two nights but I decided to head back to Atlanta so I only stayed one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brunswick, Georgia

Close to everything!

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds and great location.
Cons: Bathroom are a little small.
Location: Shops and boutiques were close by.
Nice comfortable hotel. Close to the Classic Center and downtown area. Friendly knowledgeable staff. Great continental+ breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Kristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Scott

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Super helpful staff. Clean and comfortable.